We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3/5 based on the Travelodge scale - not the usual hotel scale!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Farringdon
Ranked #809 of 1,064 Hotels in London
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“3/5 based on the Travelodge scale - not the usual hotel scale!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Compared to every hotel I've ever stayed in, this is obviously not a three star, but on the Travelodge scale of things, it's not bad. It's a very tired builing and the rooms are extremely used but for £40 (please pay no more) it's not too bad. It's really a bit of a walk from the tube and train station, so if you want to be nearer the action, stay at the other travelodge further along the road. The bathroom was a bit gross and the carpets are not clean, the corridors a bit shining-esque and the noises outside constant throughout the night - but it's value for money if you can get a good deal on it. (Would highly recommend the premier inn in Belsize Park for a few pounds more)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    468
    653
    425
    535
See reviews for
315
853
195
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights while in London to watch the lion king , it's a good location within a mile or so walk from the river and there's a couple of train stations nearby , after booking the room I was a bit concerned after reading some of the other reviews but when I got there I was more than happy , payed £ 60 for 2 people for 2 night in centre London between Xmas and New Years ! Room was clean , tea coffee there bed made and clean , fresh towels both days !
However I was disserpointed that when checking out we could not leave our 2 bags in the luggage room until 5 pm when our train was due and we had to carry them round London for the rest of the day! But all in all good value for money and I can't afford the ritz next time il gladly stay there again :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have stayed at lots of Travelodge's before but this has got to be the worst. The room was incredibly dirty. Also they clearly did not clean the room because as i entered the room someone else's old rubbish was still in the bin and on the side table. The shower did not work, i reported it to reception and yet nothing was done. Only the cold tap worked as the hot tap did not even turn. The toilet handle was hanging off the wall. The bath top had mould around it. Need i say more. Travelodge have clearly taken over this hotel from another chain Thistle i think and just given it a lick of paint but it looks shabby. The curtains did not even fit the window so i was woken up by the light. The carpet was filthy. Basically i don't expect a lot from a Travelodge just a nice bed and a hot shower and on this occasion i did not get either. If you are looking to stay in Farringdon or kings cross then do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEANZ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here at the end of november/start of december for 3 nights, thursday to sunday. My boyfriend had booked this hotel and after reading reviews on here it was safe to say I was not looking forward to staying here. However, I was very pleasantly surprised upon arrival!
Arrived around 8 o'clock at night and didn't have trouble finding hotel, just got a taxi from Euston. Self check in services were not working but staff were with us very quickly and got us checked in and were very helpful. We were on the 4th floor with a room facing the main road. It was a very little bit noisy but not a problem really because that's what I would expect from staying in a hotel in the centre of London. We had a double room, which had a double bed and a single bed. The room was all clean, no dirt or marks on furniture etc. The furnishing is a bit dated but that's only the decor and the actual cleanliness of the room was fine. Had a TV, towels, drawers, everything you need really for a short break, or everything that is expected in a Travelodge. A few coathangers were also in the wardrobe which was handy. The bathroom was again very clean and had a fairly large bathtub with a shower which worked well. The heating in the room is very good as well as not one night did I wake up because I was too hot or cold, which I do in most other hotels! For the price you pay there really isn't anything I could fault with the rooms!
We didn't get room service for cleaning any of the days we were there since we were only there for a few days, but cleaners left fresh towels and tea/coffee etc in a bag outside our room each day which was handy! We didn't go to the bar either but had a look down there and looked really nice and would have been happy to eat there but we were out fairly early in the morning till later at night. We did also purchase wifi for a bit while at the hotel, which I think is pretty expensive (£5 for an hour, £10 for 24hours) but the staff at reception informed us that the bar also had free wifi if we wanted to use that while down there.
One of the best things about the hotel is the location. It was in a nice location and very good for the price of the hotel. It's about a 10 minute walk to King's Cross then 15 minutes or so to Euston. We just used google maps and followed the directions there with no problem. At night we just chose to get taxis back from either king's cross or euston (whichever we were at) and they were about £6 or so to the hotel.
Overall, I really urge people thinking of booking into this hotel to not be quite so put off by all the bad reviews on here because the only thing that could be improved really is the decor. This hotel is very good, especially for the price you pay and the great location!
(do have photos but can't uplaod right now so hopefully can soon!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was put in this hotel for a work commitment with five colleagues so this review represents our collective assessment.

I was greeted by a bouncer working at reception! That said so much. The room was filthy. Mould everywhere. See the pictures. There is no double glazing so the rooms are both cold and noisy. There was a police van which seemed to be permanently parked in the car park. I really can't stress how much you need to avoid booking this hotel unless you really have no other option.

Room Tip: Don't book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FortyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my fiance, mum, stepdad and brother as we were going to the darts.
The hotel is in a good location and is cheap if you pay no more than £30.00! The rooms were filthy, the lights in our room had been disconnected, the bathroom was disgusting and the laundry smelt like it had been burnt (very odd!).The reception staff we encountered were polite and helpful but managment need to speak to their housekeeping staff about the standard of their cleaning! I can honestly say i will never stay in a travelodge again after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

You get what you pay for.

In this case a clean room with a very comfortable bed and adequate facilities including a large flat-screen TV, kettle and hot drinks, towels and soap. The room was warm but not too hot (this on one of the coldest nights of the year). This Travelodge occupies a purpose-built hotel building and must have started life as something more upmarket. The furnishings in our room were more substantial than you'd expect in the chain, and the bathroom had a deep full-size bath. Of course the hotel has seen better days but I would not describe it as dirty, just used. The reception staff were excellent. There was good security on the entrance. Other guests seemed happy.
We did not eat in the hotel. As it was late when we arrived we just crossed the road to the Holiday Inn opposite and had a very good steak and chips in their quiet and comfortable dining room. In the morning we walked a few blocks south to the junction of Roseberry Avenue and Exmouth Market. The neighbourhood is full of acclaimed restaurants of every kind and cafes and we had just about the best breakfast ever for around £6 at Gail's Artisan Bakery.

Only negative: I would recommend avoiding the lifts in the hotel (which have a tendency to break down) and use the stairs instead. Farringdon Road is quiet at night but quite busy in the mornings.

Hard to think of many places you could stay in central London for this price. It is also worth exploring the neighbourhoods (west towards Bloomsbury) and SE (Clerkenwell) - one of the most interesting parts of London overlooked by tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimblejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#533 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Farringdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Farringdon

Property: Travelodge London Farringdon
Address: 10-42 King's Cross Road | between King's Cross and Farringdon stations, London WC1X 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #809 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Farringdon 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated close to King's Cross Station & a short drive from West End, British Museum & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Farringdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Farringdon Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Farringdon England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing