We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "boutique" Hotel”
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #573 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here one night in June this year. Room was incredibly small and not worth the price charged. Air Con wasn't working so was also hot and stuffy for good measure.

Restaurant staff in the morning didn't seem too keen to give me a cooked breakfast even though I was happy to pay extra for it. It was very nice once it came though.

I had to laugh at the description as a Boutique Hotel. It's not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nickyisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We have a variety of room categories to suit all requirements which is then also priced accordingly. I apologise for the fact that the air conditioning in your room was not working.

Our breakfast waiters have been with us for some time and I am sorry if they didn’t seem their enthusiastic self but, I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 809 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

At just a stones throw away from Tottenham Court Road, the location is fantastic. All you need from restaurants and shopping are all within easy walking distance.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a very helpful and polite receptionist, checked in within 2 mins and our luggage was taken to our room immediately.

The room was........gorgeous! Very clean and tidy, beautiful bed, sizeable sofa, good sized bathroom and real charm and character from the design and decoration.

If you get the chance, ask for room 11, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Glad you enjoyed the location, room and little extras our property has to offer! Room 11 is actually one of our suites so it’s good to read that you found the space and decoration to a suitable standard.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I spent two nights at The Academy while on a business trip, I was greatly displeased with everything but the neighborhood and overall atmosphere.

On the negative side the room was extremely small, placed in the understairs, with an incredibly small and uncomfortable bathroom. Moreover the room was dirty and lacked some of the amenities you would expect from a four stars hotels.

Breakfast was without comment. You could find the buffet choice of a 2 stars establishment and order "a la carte" preparations which were not as well prepared as they were expensive.

Finally, reception and overall service was almost non-existent, they weren't even able to call a cab for me, I had to call a Uber car for myself.

Never again, for this kind of money you can easily stay at more comfy hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frandrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

The Academy offers a variety of bedrooms to suit each individuals needs and they are also priced accordingly. Our bedrooms are all of a good size compared to other hotels in Bloomsbury but, I am sorry you did not experience this during your stay with us.

We normally receive very positive feedback from our breakfast so I was surprised to read that you felt this area was well below standard. I will however review the offerings and prices to ensure we offer a good product.

With regards to the reception team and your cab - when you requested a cab, the reception team informed you of the 15/20 minute wait if one was to be booked. They then offered to hail a cab instead which you declined so I am perplexed at your feedback.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at The Academy for one night for a last minute trip. I booked the room on a last minute hotel room website - having read the reviews here and thinking well it's where I need to be for one night - I don't mind if it's not perfect.

Turns out - it's surprisingly lovely! Yes, I'm on the top floor with no lift - so that would be a no no for many, but the room is way more comfortable than expected. Mini bar, iPod Dock, free wifi, *very* comfy bed. The staff friendly and courteous, and the location is great - it's a quiet street but a short walk to Oxford street and the hustle and bustle of the city.

I often need to stay places for work in London and usually end up in a travel lodge / ibis because you know what you're getting but I would definitely add this place to my list of "try here" next time I'm in London!

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs asked before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

As mentioned during your feedback, our location is fantastic but more importantly the property offers an alternative to some of the bigger chains.

I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a voucher for afternoon tea at this hotel when we arrived we had to wait in reception for about 5 mins and were then taken to there little courtyard garden at back of hotel which was very nice as the sun was out . We were served our glass of bubbly and then 5 minutes later our tea arrived we had two large pots of earl grey tea and lovely sandwiches and scones and cream along with little chocolate cakes and they were all very nice. The waiter was good and left us on our own to enjoy our tea and it was all good and the hotel looked very nice

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beechy2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I am glad you were able to enjoy your afternoon tea with us. We have now introduced a number of new teas which I hope you can sample during your next visit.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regard

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Regardless of a porter being available to take luggage, our trek up six flights of stairs to our room would be difficult for anyone who has mobility problems. Luckily we are fit 60-somethings but didn't really enjoy being stuck up in what would have been the servants quarters in the attic back in the day. Tiny window, pokey bathroom. Bit disappointing but the hotel certainly has character and location is good. Should indicate on website that there is no lift and not suitable for guests with mobility problems.

Room Tip: Check the level the room is on if you have any problems with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aclb3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Due to the fact that the property is dating back to the 1700's and now also a grade two listed building we are unfortunately not able to install a lift. I am sorry if this information was not made available or clear at the time of the booking. We have now asked for all our agents to update their information to ensure this is more visible during the booking stages.

The unique layout of the building offers a variety of bedroom shapes and sizes which contributes to the quirkiness of the overall style. Our rooms are also of a good size compared to many other hotels in Bloomsbury. I am however sorry that you did not enjoy your allocated room on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

four of us had booked afternoon tea here. I was a special occasion and we were all really excited to be meeting up at a lovely old hotel. We checked in at reception, and waited, and waited. It was about 20 minutes before we were collected by Billy - who did apologise. Unfortunately, it was raining so we were placed in the basement, where there was one other table occupied. We noticed other tables that must have previously occupied were not cleared away - and they stayed like that until we left.
Billy came to take our tea/coffee orders quickly, and I asked for a jug of iced tap water at the same time (it was stuffy in the basement). I had to ask three more times before we actually got it 40 minutes later. The tea and coffee came quickly - one pot between two (though to be fair, they did top it up, but it took SO long) with an apology for not bringing the prosecco first. And no spoons with the tea cups. I had to go hunting for extra cutlery at least three times during the afternoon. Once the staff bought anything, they disappeared into thin air, and you had to be really quick to stop them and ask for anything you needed.
When the afternoon tea finally appeared, it looked pretty - what a shame it didn't look as nice as it looked. When I had booked the tea, I had explained about the dietary restrictions and expressed NO cow/pig meat in the sandwiches. Sitting there, nestles amongst the cheese and tomato, salmon and egg finger sandwiches were ham. At the next appearance of the waiter, I explained the error and they did change them to more cheese and tomato ones, slowly.
The quality of the food (as a diabetic, I didn't have any of the chocolates on the top tier) was awful. The bread used in the sandwiches was cheap and tasteless, the scones were dry and there was one tiny tiny pot of cream and one tiny tiny pot of jam - barely enough for two scones, never mind eight. I went hunting in the room and found a stack of breakfast jams which I bought back to the table. Once one more pot of tea/coffee had been requested, we didn't see any more waiting staff for the next two hours, after which we left.
I don't expect afternoon tea here to be the same standard as The Ritz, but I did expect it to be better than it was. I certainly expected better service. Will not be returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikypLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Following on from a previous review I have just replied to, we have made a number of changes to our afternoon tea service as this area was clearly not to an acceptable standard and for this I apologise.

Can I ask that you contact me directly on andrew.vaneeden@theacademyhotel.co.uk and I will be happy to discuss this matter further in detail.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Andrew van Eeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#415 of 1,077 in London
1,056 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#135 of 1,077 in London
1,283 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#500 of 1,077 in London
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#548 of 1,077 in London
370 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#582 of 1,077 in London
670 reviews
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#279 of 1,077 in London
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#339 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $128 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. The Academy: Renovation Works Please be informed that due to exterior renovation works to the hotel, scaffolding will be erected on the outside of the building from 15th August until the end of September 2017. Our aim is to cause as little inconvenience as possible. Thank you for your understanding and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
The Academy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing