We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #574 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Returned to the Academy after 5 years to try one of the suites for 2 nights. Good sized room with huge bed and reasonable bathroom. Comfortable sofa and flat screen TV and minibar made for relaxing time between our commitments, and the Nespresso coffee machine and kettle/teas were nice touches. We were concerned about traffic noise as the suites are located at the front of the hotel and we live in the depths of the country, however we slept well although you can hear background traffic noise through the double glazed windows things are fairly quiet during the night. Staff were helpful, but breakfast was slightly disappointing for the price, so on second day we popped around the corner to have breakfast in one of the nearby coffee shops which worked well. This location in Bloomsbury is great for walking to theatres, restaurants and museums and if needed, buses are plentiful and easy to use in conjunction with iPhone app "Citymapper" . Overall, I would return for an overnight stay but might revert to the standard bedrooms as these are quiet and less expensive but do not have any seating.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to leave the above comments on your stay with us. We are pleased that you had a nice time and found the suite room to have everything that your required. As you have mentioned, all our suites are front facing and do incur some noise, although all windows do have secondary glazing to help reduce this problem.
We feel that both our continental breakfast has a varied selection as well as a full English breakfast option and are sorry to see that it did not meet your requirements,
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to London and should you wish to have a rear facing room then please inform us and we will endeavor to meet this requirement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 810 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went here for the afternoon tea which includes a glass of Prosecco, tea or coffee, freshly baked scones, sandwiches and pastries. If you can get a deal (which we did) give it a go, otherwise for the £21.95 given on the website it is overpriced. I have been to others e.g. in Kensington which have much much more selection of sandwiches and pastries and cost considerably less.
Anyway, it is a nice place, and the staff are really nice and give excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

We are pleased to read that you had enjoyed our Afternoon Tea deal and that you found our staff very friendly and helpful.
Whilst we may not have the may not offer the selection you may find elsewhere, we are on a par with other local venues offering the same.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Academy Hotel when we launch our next promotion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what can I say about this place. It was an absolutely beautiful room, excellent for one person (but two would have also been more than adequately accommodated). Super-comfortable bed, good TV and IPod stand. Bottled water and apples were provided daily on top of an original (but non-functioning) fireplace with mantelpiece. Room faced the back and was quiet. Only noise I could hear was the door from the room across the way. Padding or springs should be installed so that the doors don't close so loudly. Bathroom was small but there was plenty of space in the room to get ready, including a huge wall mirror. A hair dryer is provided but needs an extension cord, it was too short to use in front of a mirror. Got the room price on special - was an excellent deal. Location is SUPERB - quiet street but within walking distance to West End, SoHo (10-12 min). Parliament and King's Cross are also walkable if you have a little more time (25-30 min). Also, one of my key issues with older heritage properties is bugs - and I am happy to say there were NO PROBLEMS with any bugs in this place atall. Staff was super nice and accommodating. You have to ring the bell afterhours to get in, but no matter what time I arrived, the door was answered within seconds.

This place was overall a great find, I'm so glad I found it, and have already recommended it to my friends. Thanks for a great first-time stay in Europe.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank marktwothousand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Academy Hotel.

As you are aware we take pride in our excellent customer service and our USP of havig many original fixtures within the hotel.

Why not keep a look out on our website for Special Promotions and we look forward to welcoming you back here on your next trip to London.

Regards

Roy Ball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's very hard to find a room for four in London, especially one with air conditioning. The room we had was huge (also rare in London) and the sofa opened to a bed. The kids (11 and 14) were not comfortable on the sofa bed so we put the mattress on the floor; they still complained it wasn't comfortable but I wasn't really worried (kids should be able to sleep anywhere... I've seen them do it!). The king-sized bed for the adults was WONDERFUL! The room had cable TV and free wifi, plenty of closet space and a nice sized bathroom. The place has an old-house feel about it, but in a classy way. The hotel is charming, as are the staff. Impeccable service. The garden and lounge are a nice little quiet getaway from kids watching telly. We were utterly pleased with this hotel. Couldn't ask for a better location either! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MlleLarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recent experience about your recent stay here with us at The Academy Hotel.

I was really pleased that you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Please do check our website as we are always uploading packages and promotions throughout the year, as it pays to book direct.

Regards

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location is great, the staff is helpful and pleasant. Full stop. Our room was up in the nosebleed section of the hotel with no lifts. (Very kindly and efficiently they carried up our luggage to the top floor.) Each day when we returned from long walks we trudged up 6 flights of stairs. The room was small with very little place to put clothing except for small closet with about 6 hangers. Bathroom too was quite small, water pressure weak, and one morning we found ourselves without hot water. Each day we had to get a password for the internet, sometimes twice a day which was tedious. With 2 other doors on the same small landing as ours, we had noisy door closings until late. It seemed they went in and out frequently. The lighting was very poor in the room, not allowing for easy reading of the occasional book or even maps of the area. We did not eat in the hotel, but took at look at the restaurant which is on the lowest level, below ground and uninviting. It would be unlikely that we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room with 1 door on the landing (being yours) would help with the hallway noise. Be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience here with us.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy fully your stay and please rest assure that your feedback are important to us as we strive to achieve high standards here at The Academy Hotel.

Glad to read that you found our staff helpful and we do hope we will have another chance in the future to welcome you to show you the true character of our hotel.

Regards

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We'd stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in summer 2013: There were 3 of us (2 adults and an adolescent), and the room we've got was very connfortable, with a kingsize bed and a queensize sofa bed. During the day, if we were spending time at the hotel, we closed the sofa bed, and the room was really enjoyable and cozy like a suite.
Bathroom was fine, and the room service impeccable, with sweet apples and mineral water for free every day.
Our rate didn't included breakfast at the hotel, which we tried once: it was ok, but expensive (besides being served in the basement floor): for the same amount (or even less!) it is possible having a very nice breakfast in variuos nice cafes in the neighborhood.
There are nice common spaces at the ground floor to spent relaxing time, including a delicious little backyard/garden

Room Tip: The room does have A/C, which you will need in summer if you have a room on the street side and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, Assistant General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at The Academy Hotel.

Thank you for your feedback on our breakfast prices. Our pices are based on other 4* hotels within the area and with a good selection of items to choose from.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to london and would ask you to check out our website for any special offers.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at The Academy from 23/8- 26/8 having decided to do a short break and check out the London sights. We were allocated Room 3 which I have to say was very small. It was a very nicely furnished room and had everything required apart from space !! Possibly had I requested a change of room on arrival, this would have been granted however in fairness to the hotel I did not do this. Maybe for one night the room would be OK but for three nights it began to feel claustrophobic.
The staff without exception from front desk to porters were extremely professional, polite and welcoming. Not one member of staff ever passed us without a smile and a warm greeting. The service was excellent.
There are two gardens at the rear of the hotel which can be enjoyed by guests and the nearest tube is only a few minutes walk away making this a great location in central London.
I would return to this hotel but would make sure I was not allocated Room 3 !!

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel as it is on a busy road and also not Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanJeff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, Assistant General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found that the Hotel catered to your needs.

It is always nice to hear the positive comments on our staff as we pride ourselves on our Customer Service.

In regads to your bedroom, we may well have been able to move you and we understand that the room is one of our smaller double rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Academy Hotel and would ask you to check our website for speacil offers.

Kind regards,

Roy Ball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#462 of 1,081 in London
1,068 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#493 of 1,081 in London
381 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#138 of 1,081 in London
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,081 in London
1,846 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#556 of 1,081 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#624 of 1,081 in London
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#344 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $133 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. The Academy: Renovation Works Please be informed that due to exterior renovation works to the hotel, scaffolding will be erected on the outside of the building from 15th August until the end of September 2017. Our aim is to cause as little inconvenience as possible. Thank you for your understanding and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
The Academy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing