We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #556 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Small hotel and very pleasant. Room was excellent,clean and well furnished. Air-conditioning worked well after the maintenance engineer came up very quickly and sorted it out. I have complained about a number of,more expensive,British hotels where the air-conditioning is a bad joke. Breakfast very nice but price a bit steep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review with regards to your stay here at The Academy.

We are glad to read that you had the chance to fully enjoy our hotel whilst in London and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Please do not hesitate to check our website for the best offers and promotions as ”It pays to book direct”

Kindest Regards

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    274
    169
    87
    43
See reviews for
123
263
71
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fortunately we had only booked this hotel for one night! The web site of this "luxury four star boutique hotel" looked lovely and was in the location we required so we thought we had struck gold ... how deceptive pictures can be.
Our double room was at the top of the hotel and up a lot of fairly steep stairs (no lift). The double room was small with a very small window, it was really cramped with the tv stuck in a corner, two chairs crammed down the side of the bed, no drawers and a tiny wardrobe with 2 spare hangers. The awful thing was that the room SMELLED OF URINE!! - quite disgusting. We were appalled when we saw the bathroom - it was the smallest bathroom ever seen in a hotel. The washbasin was the size you find in a domestic cloakroom with no room to put even a toothbrush. There was no bath and a very small shower cubicle with nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc except the floor which had a big crack in it! There was no room for our toiletries or bath towels, the light over the sink didnt work and neither did the extractor fan. There is no way this room and bathroom can be classified as four star.
We later moved to the room next door which was better but the window wouldnt open and the view from the very small window was of a brick wall..
Another feature of the website is the lovely garden - we went to find it but it has to be acessed through the meeting room, as a meeting was in progress we couldnt see it!!!!
There is obviously a huge discrepancy in the standard of rooms in this hotel and ours (room 33) should be avoided at all costs!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Academy Hotel.

I understand that a member of the management team already discussed your feedback whilst you were staying with us and I am sorry to read that you did not find our hotel to be satisfactory.

Please rest assured that we take very seriously all of our guests’ feedbacks and I do hope we will have a chance again to welcome you in the future to show our true standards.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Waterloo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights while attending a conference at UCL. Single room (#6) was small but sufficient. It was also very quiet, which I appreciated very much. Breakfast downstairs was also very good and was included in my rate (150 pounds per night). Wifi worked fine, although need for a new login password every day was a little annoying. Location is fantastic - two minute walk to the British Museum and 5 minutes to Russell Square tube station. My only other minor complaint is I had to ask twice for two requests - one to turn off the radiator in the room (it was a sauna when I arrived) and one to replace the bulb in the over-bed light.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mikalwaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay here with us at The Academy Hotel.

I was glad to read that you did enjoy your stay and that the location was ideal for both your business and leisure purposes.

Please accept my apologies for asking twice about the two items in the room and please rest assure that our team is taking action to avoid similar circumstances in the future.

I do hope you will have a chance to visit us again soon, in the meantime once again for choosing The Academy Hotel.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the Academy Apr 5 and 6 2013. Good location near the BM, nearest tube station was on an ok line. When checking in, you sit in chairs in the front room, with the clerk sitting behind a desk, and you are made to feel rather like you are applying for a job. I would rather feel like they were serving me. No elevator. We were given a room on the top floor, and asked them to move us to the ground floor, which they nicely did immediately. Hotel is twice as much cost as the Ridgemount, which is just down the street, but then the room quality is also twice as nice. We had a regular size bedroom, with space for a chair and table, and a desk and table, and a nicely arranged closet that lights up when you open the door. Full en suite, with a niced sized tub. There was also a conservatory room, that was gorgeous, plus a regular lounge room that was sweetly comfortable, and cozy and welcoming. Breakfast was ONLY continental, and not a full breakfast. The breakfast was in a nicely designed and furnished restaurant, in the basement, which had narrow stairs, with no hand rail in some places. If you are handicapped, or older, or need to carry a baby, or twist your ankle any time in your trip, you will find the basement stairs very difficult. Food was delicious. The mushroom and cheese omelet looked like you should have it on the cover of a magazine. Scrambled eggs were ok. Service was only so-so. We knew that anything beyond toast and tea was not included and we would be charged this. We were reminded of this when we requested oatmeal and scrambled eggs. We gave our answer yes, we understood it was extra. Then the server, insisted again, that we realize that the oatmeal would cost us extra. We again said yes. Then the server insisted again, that the cost of the oatmeal was not included in our room. (We were becoming irritated). My husband then asked if she needed payment up front, or at the end of the meal.) The server then said "well, some people dont understand that it is extra". The rest of the breakfast and the next morning's breakfast, I felt like we were being punished, because other tables would get tea and toast before we did, even if we had been seated 10 minutes earlier. (Serve 3 other tables that seat later than us. and then make us ask twice, it becomes very noticeable.)
I would recommend this hotel, per the rooms were so nice, and the extra rooms were so nice, and the food was good tasting. In the breakfast room, you would need to be a person who can demand attention.

Room Tip: They do not have an elevator, so please consider asking for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Academy Hotel.

I was sorry to read about your experience with breakfast, as showed on all our menus we do offer both continental and full English breakfast for our guests. I can assure you that our breakfast staff had no intention of making you feel “punished “and she would like to convey her apologies to both you and your husband.

I was glad that you did enjoy your stay overall and do hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a fairly small, rather smart hotel in a convenient location near the British Museum. The breakfast is good, and the room comfortable. The only drawback for us; the room was in a semi basement, so a bit gloomy. We would definitely use it again, though.

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallyfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and indeed our location in Bloomsbury is excellent for both business and leisure travellers.

We have updated your profile in our system to ensure you will get a room on the top floor for your next stay.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bildeston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A relatively late booking, but we were so pleased with our stay at The Academy. Perfect location to walk to all of central London. A warm welcome, very comfy room / bed / bathroom etc. and exceeded expectation if I'm honest. We didn't use the bar or the restaurant during our stay, but the garden looked lovely and I'm sure wonderful in the summer with a cocktail or two.

We would definitely stay here again when in central London and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebbisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us.

Indeed our gardens are a lovely and unique feature for a hotel in central London. We are pleased that you had a nice experience and looking forward to welcome you back.

Don’t forget to check our website for the best rates and promotion.

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#414 of 1,068 in London
969 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#547 of 1,068 in London
348 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#125 of 1,068 in London
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#643 of 1,068 in London
216 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#505 of 1,068 in London
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Property: The Academy
Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
The Academy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing