We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall comfortable, big room”
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #547 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Things didn't start too well for us when we first arrived. When we got to our room, the toilet had some issue re-filling. It would take around 10-15min to fully refill with water. Normally this might not be a make it or break it for some people, and we knew this was a very old building, and probably not unusual, however, there were 3 of us staying there sharing this 1 bathroom. The heat didn't work, as well... Though both issues were resolved the same day. The staff was pretty helpful in these matters, but when you're paying upwards of $400/night (A lot for us North Americans) and you're expecting a 4start hotel, you really don't want to encounter these type of issues. Another main issue was the Wifi. I can only describe it as "atrocious". It was a frustrating experience, to say the least. Also, there was no outlet in the bathroom - possibly an issue for some?

It wasn't all bad! Our room (which consisted of a king bed and a couch/bed) was extremely comfortable and quite big. There was no issue with room even though there were 3 of us. The king bed was more comfortable than my own at home. It's also a very convenient location (near the furniture district), just a 5 min. walk to the British Museum and short taxi to China Town and Covent Gardens. There are many many restaurants a couple of blocks away on Charlotte.

Do your homework when calling a taxi or car service to take you to the airport. The staff called us a car (flat fee) and we found out later there were other more reasonable services out there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Academy London last year.

We have passed your feedback to our Maintenance and Housekeeping team to ensure corrective action is taken to avoid similar circumstances in the future.

Since last year an extensive amount of work has been carried out in the Hotel and I do hope that you will have a chance to visit us again in 2012.

I was glad to read that you found our staff attentive and helpful and that overall you found our Hotel comfortable

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for The Academy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 789 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at The Academy for 2 nights in mid-May. As the hotel states, it is a boutique hotel with an interesting layout and room locations. The room I had some character since you needed to go down a couple of steps into the room. The hotel is within walking distance to many pubs and restaurants so has a good location. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the nearest tube stops (Goodge St. or Russell Sq.).

The front desk staff seemed quite friendly and helped getting luggage to the room. The breakfast staff was friendly and service was fast. The continental breakfast was included with my rate but you could upgrade to a full English breakfast ($$). While at breakfast it was clear that several clients did not like this policy, although it didn't bother me.

The room I had was quite small and ordinary. The desk was tucked in an alcove with barely enough space for a laptop. As others have commented, the WiFi is free but very slow. There is an upgrade option ($$) for faster service. The bathroom was very small although acceptable. The furniture in the room was rather old and dated.

Overall, this hotel has a good location. However, if you are looking for a luxury hotel this is probably not the one for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank To_Far_From_Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience here with us at The Academy London.

I was pleased to read your comments about our staff and the breakfast service. Our breakfast prices have been reviewed at the start of this year in order to be competitive with the other 4* Hotels in the area, and as you correctly mentioned there is an option for included breakfast to ensure our guests take advantage of the wide choices displayed on our buffet.

Indeed our hotel is a boutique full of history and character built in 1776 just in the heart of Bloomsbury. We do have available various room types from Single to Junior Suite/Family Rooms.

Please do not hesitate to check our website for the latest offers and packages as “It pays to book direct”

Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable hotel, slept very well. Staff are friendly, efficient and helpful.
Its a shame that for the want of a lick of paint and some new drapes this hotel could so easily be taken up to the next level.

Not mention in any reviews I've seen but this hotel is on the bus route for an array of very useful destinations eg Parliament, Marble Arch etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel pleasant and that our staff members have been helpful and efficient on helping you to have the best experience possible.

Please do not hesitate to check our website throughout the year as “It Pays to Book Direct”

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Well located hotel, easy walk to the West End and located across from the British Museum. Hotel is a "character" property, and the room layout was a bit interesting, but furnishings were nice and room was well appointed, if a little small. Staff were courteous and helpful. WiFi was free, but wasn't always good strength. (I had to go to reception to use sometimes)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caycay_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your feedback for your recent stay with us whilst in London.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel with “character”. Our boutique hotel has indeed plenty of history which we are pleased to have and share with our guests.

Please do not hesitate to check our website throughout 2012 as “It pays to book direct”

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights in room 1. Perfectly pleasant and clean. Free wifi was good. Easy walk to Tottenham Court Road etc. Close to cafes, restaurants, parks and tube. Just watch out if concerned with personal safety- room 1 window to the internal courtyard/space had no lock and space is accessible from multiple rooms. Hotel is not concerned about this, you might be.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank boy4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedbacks with regards to your recent stay here with us at The Academy London.

I was sorry to read that you did not feel secure in room 1 during your stay. Our Maintenance has checked the window to ensure that the lock was working correctly.

We are definitely concerned about our guests experience and security; we have just invested in a brand new CCTV system to ensure we do carry on keeping the correct security measures for our guests and staff.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very charming hotel, well located in London (5 min walk from Goodge street station and near the British Museum). The staff was helpful and welcoming.
The suite room was nice and clean. Perfect for a familly with 2 kids.
The breakfast was good with pastries, toasts and fresh fruits/juices.
I will certainly choose the Academy Hotel again for a next stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us at The Academy London.

I am glad to read that you found our hotel charming and with welcoming staff. We are exactly working hard to make sure that every guest can enjoy the chic of our boutique hotel, in the heart of Bloomsbury.

I am looking forward to welcome you and your family again in 2012, and if you will have the chance please check our website for the best deals available as “It pays to book direct”

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us,

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We picked this hotel for its location and it was perfect. Easy walk to the end of Shaftesbury avenue and from there anywhere in the west end is accessible. We were going to the haymarket theatre and walking was easy.
The welcome was lovely at the hotel, everyone did everything they could to make us feel at home. There is no car park here but we parked a couple of streets away at the imperial hotel - £18 per day - easy.
Everything about the academy is clean and smart, although we were in one of the top rooms and didn't see anyone else while we were there so the hotel felt a bit lacking in personality even though the decorative level is very high.
The only problem we had was the warmth in the room. Far too hot - even though the window was able to be opened it was small and didn't let in much air. There was air conditioning but we didn't seem to get this set properly and didn't have much time to fiddle with it for just one night.
Breakfast was £10 for continental style but we decided to go out and found more options in the streets around.
Overall though a pleasant stay and I would come back again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank JanieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share with the rest of the Tripadvisor community your stay here with us.

Indeed our location is great; our boutique Hotel is in the heart of Bloomsbury and the city centre is easy to reach both by walk and with transport.

I was sorry to read that you felt that the room was too hot; we did install new air conditioning system at the end of 2011 to ensure our guests get the best experience throughout the Hotel.

It is always nice to read that our guests find our staff to be welcoming and professional at all time.

Looking forward to welcome you back personally and please feel free to check our website as this year we are uploading special offers and packages as “It pays to book direct”

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#426 of 1,072 in London
996 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#554 of 1,072 in London
353 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,072 in London
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#78 of 1,072 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#530 of 1,072 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#633 of 1,072 in London
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $162 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. The Academy: Renovation Works Please be informed that due to exterior renovation works to the hotel, scaffolding will be erected on the outside of the building from 15th August until the end of September 2017. Our aim is to cause as little inconvenience as possible. Thank you for your understanding and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
The Academy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing