We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Astor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor Court Hotel
Ranked #596 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and was very pleased with it.It is in a great Location walking distance of oxford street and Picadilly Circus and few underground stations. hotel was a bit dated however it was very clean and staff were friendly.Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiv000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 697 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Upon arrival my wife and I were received by a very nice reception desk with polite and smart staff. We were upgraded to a penthouse apartment which was great. In the apartment, everything you needed was there and it was very clean. There was a kitchen with fridge, microwave and coffee and tea which was complimentary. The lounge had a TV, 2 cosy chairs and a 2 person sofa. There was a bedroom with a double bed and a twin room and obviously a bathroom. Whilst everything was clean and there were architectural features, if you were to be really picky, the wash basin was held together with cardboard loo roll centres mixed with silicone and after the big refurb of 2006, some things just seem to have been painted over 20 times too many. The bathroom fittings were very old and the tile grout was discouloured or missing in places, but still it was very clean and comfortable. The whole place seemed like a well maintained version of my Grandma's house. For breakfast, it was a typical continental selection with danish pastries, croissants, toast, juice, cereal, tea, coffee etc etc but no cooked breakfast. The hotel is well placed with a 5 minute brisk walk to Oxford street and a 10 minute brisk walk to Euston Station. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. It could just use a good handy man to finish things off a bit here and there. Great value for money £119 for a double room on laterooms.com but we were bumped up to a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment as mentioned above. There is also a luggage dump room if you want to leave your luggage and explore a little on your last day. Thanks Grandma's Palace, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monacomarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for two nights during our Weekend trip to London. We chose the place because of the price compared to the hotel's location.

Pros:
- the hotel is in a good location, in a walking distance from a few underground stations and, if you are not lazy, from Picadilly Circus/Trafalgar square and the surroundings
- the room and everything in it was really clean
- the desk staff was nice and helpful

Cons:
- looking back the price wasn't probably worth the value, but then again - the location...
- the breakfasts were probably the worst part of our experience; the breakfast rooms looked like a school canteen (easy to maintain, but not pretty) and the choice of food was really poor - usually I have more choice what to have for breakfast at home...
- there was some noise from the underground trains. It might have been stronger as we stayed on the ground floor, however it was really noticeable. Nevertheless, that wasn't an issue for me or my girlfriend, but for someone it might be a problem.

Pro/con (it depends):
- the bed was very soft; personally I don't prefer that (I don't sleep well on soft beds), but for someone it might be a pro

Overall, like the title says, the hotel was OK. I was probably expecting something more, but there was really nothing I could really complain to (except for the breakfasts).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petr_lohnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location in the Oxford Circus district. It is worn and I was told they are undergoing a big renovation next year. The room had a sitting area with a desk and 2 rockers and a flat screen tv. The beds are set back behind that. The linens are clean and comfortable but beds are uncomfortable. The staff that we dealt with was the assistant manager Marisa and receptionist Ieva. They were just so helpful and would drop everything to assist in any way needed. The breakfast is included and it is a continental breakfast of cold cereals, yogurt, toast, and flakey pastries. There is juice, tea, and different hot coffees. Enough to get the day started. For this area of London, the price was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

staff gave a warm welcome and helpful,rooms could do with a uplift.breakfast was poor nothing was cooked only the toast which you have to do yourself,when you could use the toaster,breakfast rooms to small would not stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 1456alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Astor Court might leave something to be desired to some travelers. It is old, the floors make noise when you walk on them, the furniture and the rooms are _old_ and the breakfast is sub par. But all that is forgiven based on the location and the excellent prices they offer. The rooms are enormous, and they are clean.

I have stayed four times over the past four years at Astor Court now, and the 5 minute walk from Oxford Circus is unbeatable. Especially when we pay under £50 pr person pr night. I will be going back there the next time I am in London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlendius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Thankfully I only had 2 nights here prior to flying out. It was the least comfortable of all the hotels I stayed in over the month in UK.

Very friendly helpful staff, and good location, just a short walk to Oxford street shopping, the British Museum, and any number of buses n tubes nearby.

The accomm is disappointing and definitely not value for money. My bed was appallingly bad, mattress was thin and lumpy, I felt every lumpy spring and got very little sleep. Unable to change rooms as hotel full so I have no idea about other rooms.

The included breakfast was poor standard, no hot food and cold noisy breakfast room more on a par with very basic backpacker accomm.

Would not recommend unless you can't get anywhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid the nightmare mattress in room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#549 of 1,077 in London
616 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#742 of 1,077 in London
678 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#637 of 1,077 in London
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#552 of 1,077 in London
970 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#529 of 1,077 in London
364 reviews
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#822 of 1,077 in London
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Court Hotel

Address: 20 Hallam Street, London W1W 6JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #596 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $114 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Court Hotel is a comfortable, secure living environment set in the heart of London's West End. The Hotel is housed in an historic former Gentlemen's Club which was converted in the early 1900's. The 45 well-appointed rooms (currently being reviewed for cyclical redecoration) and six apartments provide the perfect balance of modern comfort and Victorian Architecture. The unique features in this Grade 2 Listed Building give each room its own character. It is ideally located for Oxford Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly/Covent Garden shopping and close to Theaterland and its restaurants, clubs, pubs and cinemas. The Astor Court Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Oxford, Regent and Bond Streets, Hyde Park and London's West End. The Hotel and its Apartments offer comfortable, affordable accommodation and it is in one of the most prestigious areas of Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Court London
Hotel Astor Court
Astor Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing