We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too inconsistent to be a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #592 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel over 50 times and get a completely different experience each time. I'm a diamond member and rarely get upgraded to very nice rooms despite my regular stays and sometimes don't get upgraded at all. The staff on the front desk do their best but checking in is a long experience.

The breakfast buffet is just manic even at 0630 in the morning although the selection is good. The exec lounge is pretty good for breakfast but gets quite busy. Note they don't let children in the exec lounge after 1700 which is inconsistent with other properties

Rooms are very variable. The rooms in the west wing are the new ones that have been refurbished. The east and tower wings are old and the air conditioning is pretty poor in these rooms.

Room service is pretty good.

The gym is very small but equipment is ok. Pool is small but ok.

The lifts in the east wing or tower blocks have a mind of their own

This is really a conference hotel.

Overall if you want a better hotel stay in london stay at the hilton canary wharf or the hilton tower bridge.

Room Tip: Go for the west wing. These rooms are refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is highly appreciated.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise if you feel that our hotel does not consistently provide you with the service that Hilton is known for. As a Hilton hotel we have to ensure that every guest feels valued, cared for and respected and as a diamond member it is important that you feel that this is the case.

The feedback you have provided will ensure that our services and hospitality continue to improve.

Once again we would like to thank you for your review and we hope that in the near future the Hilton London Metropole can provide you with excellent service that exceeds your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,553 - 3,559 of 5,107 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have chosen this hotel purely for the proximity to the venue I was attending but it looks like Hilton now lives of it's reputation... nothing else!! Queue to check in, queue to check out. Room.. really below the standard I would expect from Hilton, there was a cloud of dust on furniture which makes me think that the room wasn't used for a while, yet in the bathroom there were "remainings" of previous occupants - so might not even been cleaned just sheets changed!! Whole room actually... hmm... smelled, indicating draining problems? How do you get rid of the smell if you cannot open the window? Two teabags, no water..
Bed, big and comfortable, room big enough for two but could do with a good scrub. Another thing I could not get over was the fact that they are CHARGING for WiFi!!!!!??? Dear Hilton - we are living in 21st century and little corner cafes have FREE WiFi - especially in the middle of BIG metropole as London! It was my first and the last stay there. If you are looking for a quality stay, look somewhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marta7uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are disappointed to learn that overall you were dissatisfied with your stay. Our reception team works tirelessly to speed up the arrival and departure experience. We apologise that this is not up to your expectation. With regards to the bedroom, it is not acceptable that you found it on that state. We hope that this was reported whilst staying in house as our housekeeping team would have dealt with the situation to your satisfaction, swiftly. Windows can be opened subject to guest’s request. Our shift engineers will attend to ensure the safety lock is on. Complimentary amenities such as tea and coffee are available in the room. If guests require more, our team can deliver the additional requests. Wifi service is complimentary all throughout the hotel public area. This is also applicable in bedrooms for Gold and Diamond Hilton Hhonors members.

We appreciate your valuable feedback. We continuously listen to our guests in order to improve our products and services. We hope that this particular experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent two nights over the weekend, two twin rooms used. Rooms definitely very tired and in need of refurbishment , agree with previous comments regarding the computer system failure over that particular weekend. A/C in one if the rooms (1123) very noisy, complained x3 and maintenance never appeared! Other room too hot!
Staff were ok but service very slow, concierge very helpful when I lost my heathrow express ticket and suggested I emailed him it and he would print it out for me which was fantastic.
Pool small and not much room for swimmers and splashing children combined!
Standard hilton breakfast as you would expect, very long wait for coffee the first morning as waitress was too busy speaking in her native Spanish to a Spanish family, nice, but not great for everyone else who only got a quick "tea or coffee?!" And had to wait.
Over all, if you get a good deal, go for it, if paying full price I'd go elsewhere.

Room Tip: No idea, neither twin room was particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank k8escotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments regarding your recent stay with us at the hotel.

We are pleased to learn that our buffet breakfast met your expectations; however we are very sorry that our Fiamma staff was not attentive enough as, we can assure you, this is not the usual service we provide. Furthermore, it is very disappointing that you were not satisfied with the room you stayed in. If guests are not satisfied with their rooms, there is always an opportunity to move. Our Reception team would only be more than happy to do what they can to make guest’s stay enjoyable. Please as well accept our apology for noisy and not cooling A/C in room 1123. Please be assured that this has now been fixed.

On a different note, we are glad to hear that Concierge were helpful and provided necessary assistance. Your positive feedback will be passed on to them which will certainly push them to do more.

Once again my deepest apologies. We hope that you will not judge us solely on this particular experience and will reconsider, giving us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Next to two underground stations and Paddington (10 min walk). Not what expected taking into account other Hilton hotels regarding room condition, maintenance, lobby, breakfast. Very expensive for what it provides. I paid 400 euros per night for a family room and the internet was extra 15 euros per day which is not good service; it should have been in the price for such an expensive stay. Staff was friendly and if there was an issue it was resolved immediately. The person at the information desk wore a suit that needed sewing, the lapel was worn. I think for a Hilton these little details should be mentioned.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Zoi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is highly appreciated.

As a well known brand it is imperative that we uphold high standards and provide our guests with outstanding customer service, which is why your feedback is so valuable to us.

We strive to provide the best service possible and even little details such as presentable uniform should be taken into account.

We would like to thank you for the acknowledgment of our staff and that you were satisfied with the service provided from them.

Once again we would like to thank you for your review and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I often stay in London & use Hilton more than any other chain but had never before used this hotel. I had read some good reviews so I was looking forward to my stay for a Saturday & Sunday in June.

First off the hotel is in a great location - walking distance from Paddington & Marble Arch / Hyde Park / Oxford Street. If you don't fancy the walk there is an underground station opposite & bus stops right outside.

Upon entering the hotel I was very impressed - the lobby & reception areas are spacious, modern & clean. It really does give the impression of quality hotel.

I booked a family room & expected to get a fairly spacious room as I have had with family rooms at other Hilton's & other hotel chains.

Well I could not have been more disappointed, what I got was a long narrow room at the end of a corridor with 3 single beds. The room was so narrow one could hardly squeeze between the foot of the bed & the wall of the room. Additionally, the room was very tired & looked scruffy (it wasn't dirty just worn out). Finally, the air conditioning was loud & pointless as it didn't cool the room hardly at all.

Perhaps I was unlucky with the room provided to me, but on the evidence of my stay I won't rush back here anytime soon, which is a shame given the great location.

Room Tip: Don't book a family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheDrippingTap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you found the hotel location very convenient. We are equally pleased that you took notice of the hotel’s public area.

Our investment to improve our products and services is ongoing. We will shortly commence the refurbishment on our Tower Wing bedrooms to maximise the space and modernise its condition. The bedroom you referred to is situated in that building. We are sorry to learn that it was a letdown to your expectation.

For your next stay, why not sample our large and renovated family rooms in the west wing? These are suitable for a group of three guests or more (up to maximum of 4 occupants).

We appreciate your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back at the Hilton London Metropole.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I visted Hilton with my best friend and booked an executive twin room for two nights. We reached at 16:30 in the evening. After standing in the queue for more than half an hour we were told to sit in the lounge, buy our drinks and come back after 2 hours to get the keys.

When we came back at 21:30 it was queue for another half an hour to get the keys. Finally 5 hours after arrival we got the room keys. And its not an exaggeration !!

Twin beds in the room were no where close to the size shown in the pictures on the website for executive twin rooms.

Air conditioning didn't work. It was hot all night. You can't even open the windows.

Room cleaning services started to knock at the door at 9 in the morning.

At the time of check out another 30 minutes in the queue wasn't helpful. Car parking payment machine in the basement wasn't working and notice advised to go back to reception for the payment. It required standing in the queue again for half an hour. This time a pleasant Indian gentleman (Rudra) apologised for the first time and waived off parking fee. This was the only kind gesture by any member of staff in 2 days of stay. Most of the staff on reception was overworked, tired and rude.

Now good things-
Great location as close to tube station and 10 minutes to central London.

I had such a wonderful company of my friend that I didn't mind all hassles and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. As they say its not the place but the company which makes a visit memorable.
I would not recommend this Hilton unless you have a wonderful companion with you, like I had, who can make you forget everything else...

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank As_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we’d like to send our sincerest apologies due to all the issues that you faced with us during your stay here at the Hilton London Metropole. We can empathise and understand that waiting ever so long to check in was an extremely unpleasant experience. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances our system was down, thus reflecting on the long queues for guests checking in and checking out. You can be rest assured that this is not the normal standard of practice that we deliver.

It is disheartening to hear that you were not happy with your room and on top of that to learn that the air condition system was not operating as it should be expected. We would have liked to have rectified the matter as it is important to us that our guests are happy with the rooms we have provided.

Housekeeping start servicing the rooms from 8.00am, which would have explained why you received a knock on the door at 9.00am. We are sorry that you were disturbed at this time. There are provided “Do Not Disturb” signs and if this is displayed, team members will refrain from knocking. Please be rest assured that your complaints have not gone unnoticed. All of the above issues including problems with the car park ticket machine have been forwarded to the relevant departmental managers for action.

Once again, we would like to apologise for the upheaval that you experienced. In the hopes that you choose to return, we would like to assure you that we will do our utmost best to turn all those wrongs into rights.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We are glad that we choose this hotel. We saved a lot of money staying here. First from the airport you take the heathrow express train that take you to Paddington station in 15 minutes, you save time and money on taxi that with the traffic is going to cost you a fortune and a lot waste of time. As soon as you get at Paddington you make a left and walk for 4 minutes and there is the hotel and in the corner you also have another underground station Edware road in which you could take the yellow line and the green line or the brown. The best way to see London is take the map of the hop on hop off buses and look which station are near to the the attraction and take the underground and walk. If you buy the oyster card you will save time at money as well. Trust me we are a family of 4, 2 kids (9 and 11) and we save a lot of money doing this, but it is only if you like to walk. If not pay for the double decker buses but you have to be patient because London is a heavy traffic city. We also recommend the Wharf rest to have a great fish and chips because they have kids menu and the fish was so good. We eat in several places but we love these Cousy place. Just get in the south part of the river where the London eye is located. Also if you need a pharmacy and a supermarket it is just cross the street M&S supermarket.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONMECommsManager, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us; you found our location very convenient and accessible and everything you required was basically next door to the hotel. Your detailed review with valuable tips will surely be of great help to a lot of travellers.

We believe that you will not hesitate to recommend us to your friends and relatives.

Thank you for staying with us and come back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#409 of 1,076 in London
4,105 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#275 of 1,076 in London
2,560 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Hilton London Kensington
#506 of 1,076 in London
4,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#347 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $143 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing