We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff here don't smile and need some manners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #590 of 1,069 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The staff here don't smile and need some manners”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before and raised some concerns and it would seem I'm not the only one having read recent reviews on here people are saying it's like a factory with no customer service and staff don't smile
I was assured on my next stay things would change but had it no the staff unhelpful and often rude and they just don't know how to be customer friendly
The rooms are in need of updates and they charge 15 quid a day for internet when even a basic hotels provides it free
I think this hotel is so big the management have forgotten one thing that is the customer

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevewales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Stevewales44:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in May and please accept our apologies for the delay in acknowledging it.

Needless to say we are extremely disappointed that you found the demeanour of the team and general ambience of the hotel less than satisfactory. Our team is trained to extend a very high level of service and we are very saddened when guests leave feeling like they have not experienced this. We've taken the time to share your feedback with the relevant heads of departments and any necessary training or briefing has taken place.

We do appreciate there is a wide variety of choice for accommodation in London, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would be very happy to have an opportunity to restore your faith in the service we give, and hope we can welcome you again in the future.

We wish you all the very best.


Best regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    1,500
    1,153
    625
    432
See reviews for
1,458
935
206
1,360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navan,Meath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Was here for world irish championships which were being held in hotel, check in was quick but couldn't believe they asked for an extra £50 in case of damage, felt like I was being treated like some kind of hooligan would have walked away at point had I not needed to be there for our event. Room was very very disappointing one of the smallest room I have ever stayed in but yet the dearest room I have stayed in £219.00 for one night , have to say very comfortable bed though , the area immediately around hotel was not very nice, would I stay here again no never definitely not worth the price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Patrick Kenny - Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at Hilton London Metropole during the World Irish Dancing Championship. We were pleased to hear that you found our bed to be comfortable, but disappointed that other areas let you down. We noted your comment regarding the £50 pre-authorization taken upon check-in. However this is a standard procedure followed by the majority of the hotels worldwide to enable the guests to use additional services such as mini-bar, room service, etc. Upon departure guests settle their bills and any unused sum is automatically released. We apologise if this was not clearly explained on arrival. Concerning our neighbourhood, we are located within walking distance from many major attractions including, Oxford Street and Hyde Park.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Excellent hotel, room was very spacious clean and tidy. Staff were extremely polite, helpful, professional and friendly, particularly reception for the west side. My daughter who is 9 loved the hotel, breakfast, pool, and lounges, wanted to move in.
Special THANK YOU to EDEM who was absolutely wonderful when we checked in on Sunday, he really made our stay special :>
Will definitely being staying here again, in the near future.
Well done Hilton London Metropole.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Shazia A:

We appreciate the review you posted on our hotel following your stay in May, and sincerely apologise for the lengthy delay in acknowledging it.

It is always lovely to hear our guests had a wonderful time with us and we thank you for taking the time to let us know. We note that you would consider visiting us again and we look forward to that becoming a reality. Be assured we will do all we can to extend the same or a higher quality of service on that occasion.

All the best to you.


Regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is ideally located as it is only a 10 minute taxi ride to Central London and is on the doorstep of the Edgeware Road tube station so getting about in the capital is a breeze.... However the room that I stayed in (The Tower) looked a bit tired and due for a coat of paint although it was clean and comfortable. The staff were happy to help but I struggled to find any of them with a smile on their face making me feel a bit loathed to ask for help, although when I did it was readily given. A good overall experience however not one to rave about.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, PA to Director of Operations at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Peter G:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel following your visit in May. We hope you will accept our apology for the lengthy delay in acknowledging it.

We are pleased that your stay here was satisfactory and you found team members to help whenever needed. It was also great that the location of the hotel and its links to public transport made it convenient for you to move around and do what you needed.

The usual experience for our guests is to find our team very happy and smiling and I am very sorry to note this was not yours. On behalf of the team, I do apologise and hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future. We would like to welcome you again so you can be benefit from our full hospitality.


Regards
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is clean, the rooms are large, beds comfy, and staff EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. This is the best Hilton property in London. The location is great with an easy walk to Hyde Park and other attractions and the Edgeware tube stop is right out the front door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review.
We are extremely happy that the staff provided the right impression as they work really hard on a daily basis to accommodate all of our guest’s needs.
Also, we are happy that you enjoyed the fantastic location and nearby attractions.
Looking forward to your next visit in the near future!
Yours sincerely,

PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Metropole for the Irish Dance World Championships. The hotel was just OK -- amenities are not what one would expect from a hotel of this size in terms of restaurants, shop, fitness facility, etc. Meeting rooms were nice and of good size. Our hotel room itself was very nice -- clean and modern, very comfortable. Room service was prompt and courteous, but other hotel services (restaurants other than the expensive one on top of the hotel, the concierge) were overwhelmed by the conference, and the common areas were very crowded. The hotel is an easy walk from Paddington Station. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel is not very nice (overlooking the A40 flyover), but we found very nice restaurants and neighborhoods nearby (try the Larrik pub). Great Starbucks half a block away.

Room Tip: There are insufficient elevators for a hotel of this size -- wait times were long. You may want a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-Anne T, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We were delighted to host this years Irish Dancing World Championship. We hope you enjoyed your time in London.

Our chef and room service team were pleased to hear your compliments regarding the service.

We wish you all the best for the next Championships and hope to welcome you back at Hilton London Metropole soon

Regards
PJ Kenny – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here in the beginning of May.
I arrived in the morning around 10 am and asked for a room. The staff didnt even ask my name or who I am straight away said" check in is at 3pm you can leave the luggage at the concierge"! I said not even one more and she laughed in my face saying "NO".
Then they send me to the lounge to have breakfast till i have my room ready. We asked for an omlette and they said go downstairs not even looking at me.
People on the sofa were sleeping and other people looking to find a seat available.
Next day i asked for late check out and they said its fine however at 12 am they checked me out without even checking if I am stil in the hotel or not. When i went to check out they said oooo but you are checked out already. When i questioned why u checked me out the receptionist answer very smile "Oooo sir we are checking out everyone at 12am" .
IF YOU LOOKING FOR A TRIP TO LONDON AND U HAVE IN PLAN SPENDING SOME TIME IN THE HOTEL FORGET ABOUT THIS HOTEL GO TO A B&B , much better.
This hotel is a FACTORY! No one cares about you, you feel like you are just a number , a natural figure for the hotel revenue!!
You destroyed hilton reputation!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cezar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistOpsMgrNataliaR, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

Firstly, I would like to apologize for all the inconveniencies caused upon check in, from the poor check in service and staff attitude to the fact that you asked for late check out and it was not actioned accordingly.

We are very sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory but we are eager to make changes to avoid future disappointments. Your valuable feedback will be shared with our team in the light of improve the overall service and treat all of our guests the way they deserve: to be respected and taken care of.

We really hope this experience does not refrain you from coming back to our property and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future to optimistically change your mind with regards to our service.

Yours sincerely,
PJ Kenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#400 of 1,069 in London
3,878 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#259 of 1,069 in London
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Hilton London Kensington
#503 of 1,069 in London
4,164 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#76 of 1,069 in London
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing