We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms...good location...excellent pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #594 of 1,073 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Visited for 4 nights with our kids...comfy rooms and quite spacious for Europe. Right across the street from 2 different Tube stations, so very convenient for transportation. Close to Paddington station to take the express train from Heathrow. Short 2-min cab ride from Paddington. Very good service by all employees of the hotel.

Wireless internet too expensive! Free internet in lobby was very spotty and almost worthless to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated part of the hotel! It's a longer walk from the front desk but w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makale3815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,808)
There are newer reviews for Hilton London Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,575 - 3,581 of 4,808 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this great hotel.The rooms were spacious and lovely. Customer service was excellent. We had to wait a while to check in, so they upgraded us to a suite! Well worth the wait! One of the best hotels I've stayed in in London. We were staying on floor 12 of the West Wing and the view was excellent. I'd definitely recommend.
I'm really shocked at the other TripAdvisor reviews to be honest! Clearly some people just love to complain!

Room Tip: Room 1274 has excellent views!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmc_10704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear mmc_10704,


Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the level of service that we strive to achieve every day. Hilton London Metropole hopes to welcome you back in the future.



Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Location, age and general guest amenities all questioned. Maybe convention or conference facilities acceptable but for a elderly couple the hotel was not user friendly. Did not feel safe in neighborhood, and no hotel help other than explaining "how far to walk to underground". Transportation not available from site?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent visit to Hilton London Metropole, where we welcome guests of all ages. We have a taxi rank just adjacent to the hotel so are very saddened to hear there were no services for you. We apologise if our staff was not more helpful when you asked for transportation possibilities. We will make sure that your feedback will be passed on to our team.
Thank you for your feedback, we hope you return to London again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We decided to book a lastminite secret hotel and ended up with the awful Hilton Metropole! On arrival the lobby and reception area are clearly the only areas recently refurbished and lead you to believe this is a nice hotel. After check in we were informed our standard double room wasn't ready and that we would be in a delux room on the 18th floor with a view. We excitedly arrived to our room only to find it dirty with tea stains on the carpet, ripped wallpaper, chipped tables, held together with duck tape!....YES DUCK TAPE, rotten radiator covers and the view was of a block of flats! Not the sort of people to normally complain we decided to mention that we were not happy to reception, who was polite and promised something better. We were moved to another non smoking delux room on the 21st floor. Although the room was better in decor it stank to high heaven of cigarettes! We opened all the windows we could and asked housekeeping to come in and freshen it up only to discover he stank worse than the cigarettes with the worst body odour problem ever! In the morning during a shower the smell of cigerettes was over whelming coming through the vents. I can safely say i will never stay in a hilton hotel neither will I recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Maria M,

Thank you for your feedback from your last stay at London Hilton Metropole hotel.

We apologize for any shortfalls during your stay and would like to have to have the opportunity to investigate this matter further, therefore we will require some more details.

Can you kindly contact Natalia Rivilli, Assistant Operations Manager via e-mail: natalia.rivilli@hilton.com

Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I was checked into a room which had a window facing a wall when I rand down and spoke to customer service manager I was told I booked a standard room when I told her yes I did but not a standard with a view of a wall she gave me a lecture on how the hotel was good enough to check me sin at 2 3o on instead of 3 pm and that if u wasn't happy to come down to reception with no help with my luggage no nothing what a good customer service that is from Hilton
When u got to reception she approached me with an attitude saying you want to change your room do you is said I wasn't happy with the way she dealt with this and could I speak to her manager she then stated to me that she had be patient with me and that I should have booked a different room
This was customer service at its worst I stay in hotels reg and fair play this one gets the prize for havering the worst customer service manager ever
The duty manager then arrived and took over with a diff attitude and said she was sorry something the other manager could find the word to say
I then went to a desk later where there is a poster with a pic of a guy from Hilton saying tell me your thoughts we want to know but guess what the holder for the comments cards was empty what a suprise
I have made comments about poor service at this hotel in the past and I have no doubt the reply to this would be a standard Hilton one
Maybe for a change the gm at this hotel will reply to all the issues raised

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevewales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for sharing you feedback with us. I believe you spoke with our Assistant Operations Manager Leigh-Anne yesterday who was very happy to assist you.
Our Front of House Manager will be in further contact with you, we can assure you this is not our usual level of service provided.
We take your comments very seriously and most certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Due to a busy Sunday of departures our comment cards appear to have been popular, we have replaced these today and will always welcome our guests feedback. Please accept our most sincere apologies, we look forward to seeing you again. Should you need anything in the meantime please do not hesitate to ask Leighanne.thacker@hilton.com

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The title says it all really.

We booked an executive room and arrived at the hotel at 14:00. We then had to wait until 16:30 for the room to become available. The room was small, with old decor and a bathroom that had peeling paint on the wood and walls.We were so tired that we just accepted we would have to spend a week here.

The staff were friendly but many did not seem to know where various conference rooms were located. They obviously have significant staff turnover.

The restaurant was ok, but you will find much better Lebanese eateries close by.

The gym was very busy and after the first day I never bothered to return.

Overall I would suggest you find alternative locations when visiting London.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed at the Metropole this past February. The location is top notch, for the price it really cannot be beat. Only a short distance to the main tourist traps (Westminster, Oxford St.) and only a tube station away from Baker St. (More tourist traps). For a business traveler, this hotel appears to be the best place to stay with large conference halls. Two tube stations are 2 mins away from the hotel, connecting to the Central, Hammerswitch and the other to the Bakerloo
The staff was wonderful, quick and easy check in. The restaurant (Zonzo)that was recommended to us, was fantastic. Highly recommended.
The only negative aspect to this hotel was the size of our rooms. I understand that the hotel is older but two twin beds in a hotel just seems really out of place in a Hilton. The beds were not only small but not the most comfortable things in the world, very cheap feeling. Had to order extra pillows as well.
Overall, I would recommend the hotel based on location and ease of public transport...as long as you are not fussy over beds.

Thank Canadianhunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#405 of 1,073 in London
3,973 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#261 of 1,073 in London
2,472 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,073 in London
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#351 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $178 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing