We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton London Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #585 of 1,086 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family stayed there for 6 days with a large group. Check in was easy and the rooms were clean. Dirty cups and glasses were not always picked up by the cleaning staff which was odd, but they always left clean ones. The concierge staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. There's a tube station right across the street. Internet access in rooms is expensive, but they do have free access in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear John L,

Thank you for reviewing your staying with your family at Hilton London Metropole. It is good to hear that our concierge was helpful and you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the dirty cups in the room, we will pass on your feedback to ensure housekeeping management is made aware of this issue.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    1,372
    1,057
    582
    391
See reviews for
1,294
861
193
1,261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location, close to several Tube stations and bus stops. Just a 10-15 minute walk to Oxford Street. Stayed over New Years with large group of students marching in parade. We arrived in 4 groups, hotel knew well in advance but first block of rooms were not ready until 3-4 hours after we had been told they would be ready. Beds were made up every day but dirty coffee/tea mugs were not removed from room if they were not at the coffee/tea station. Coffee/tea station was not restocked every day. Beds were comfortable. First night there a friend staying in adjacent room did not have a sheet on his bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear JudyT50,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and comfy bed. We strongly apologise if some of the rooms were not ready at your arrival. It is unfortunate to hear about the amount of time your group had to wait, especially after travelling so far this holiday. Concerning the mugs left in the room and the missing sheets in your friend’s room, we will pass on your feedback to our Operations team in order to ensure that the appropriate training will take place to prevent similar issues from happening in the future.
We appreciate you bringing such things to our attention.
We hope you and your group is travelled safety back home and enjoyed your time in London.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Warwick
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed for three nights on business. Good location and as my room was on the 9th floor at the rear of the hotel, quiet too.

So downside .... Dirty bathroom and dubious stains on the bed cover. I stayed in the West Wing, which I understand is the newer part of the hotel. Rooms are standard Hilton. But the standard of cleanliness was poor. The bathroom was just grubby. Stained sealant and dirty taps and shower head. Towels way past their best and worst of all nasty stains on the bed covers.

Poor form.

But, good food and facilities but there are better places to stay in London so on the basis on this I'll be staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Me1163,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Hilton London Metropole. We absolutely understand your frustration concerning the bathroom and room cleaning. We are passing your feedback onto our Operations team. In the meanwhile, we apologise for the inconvenience and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the view from the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's a good hotel. The advantage of this hotel is its location.
5 min walk from Paddnigton station, 10-15 minutes to Oxford street. Underground station is across the street.
The hotel is big. I was there during the New Year. Although there were a lot of people that everything was done very efficiently. Reception (greetings for a very pleasant Mrs Joanna), cleaning the rooms, breakfast, check-in, check-out - without any problems..
I recommend to anyone who arrives to London for a shopping and sightseeing.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Zenek K,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at Hilton London Metropole during the New Year holiday. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and we are very pleased that our team satisfied your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location and wound return based on that-

The hotel general areas on the ground floor are fantastic and look like a hilton hotel as soon as you exit the lifts things change the corridors are scruffy, the rooms left a lot to be desired, tired, old fashioned with chips missing out of things, bathroom desperately needs replacing.

Breakfast was great and set up well for a big hotel, watch what time you go down as it had a large que when we leaving.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea_W_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lea_W_28,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our prime location in central London. We are continuously improving our facilities and we hope that in your future stay you will notice the changes.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I travelled to London on 22nd December, 2013. I stayed in Hilton London Metropole for six days till 27th December before flew back on 28th December to Muscat.

I had booked room in advance after reading the details in tripadvisor and also got advice from my managing director, who recommended the hotel.

Hotel location is very good. 100 meter distance from Edgware station and less than 500 meters from Paddington. In 10 minutes walk we can reach Marble Arch, Oxford Street, Hyde Park etc.,

I wont say room size was big but it is compact for couple. definitely not if the couple have a baby r two. Service was good. When I checked in, there was a big queue and so it took some time before I could get the room key. Friendly staff. Room rent was high for the type of room, I had taken but may be due to Christmas and new year time and because of that rent was like that.

Overall, I found it is a good experience and definitely I would recommend the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Look for higher floors. I asked and got floor no - 21 and I had a nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear msananth,

Thank you for your review of your holiday stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its central location. During Christmast time, yes, the amount of guests we welcome is very high and we apologise if you experienced a delay in checking in, but we are happy reception was accommodating. Concerning the room size- the hotel offers a wide variety of room types including family rooms, which may cater better to families with children or teenagers. We thank you for visiting and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during Christmas while visiting London. The hotel is located conveniently near underground subway and walking to Marble Arch where the London tours start. The property is about 1000 rooms and large. The room was comfortable and nicely furnished. We took the package with breakfast and were we glad that we did. The breakfast buffet was certainly good with decent amount of choices.

We ordered room service few times during our stay and the food was great. One tip - the portions are large, And the service is really prompt. Three plates can easily be sufficient for a family of 4. We tried Fish and chips and pizza - both well prepared and delicious.

For the North American traveller - watch out the tub height in the washroom is higher than the floor, so more chances of slipping when you come out. And there are no handles and grab bars to assist.

Customer service is good, but the concierge needs more training. He kept on providing incorrect information.

Another thing to consider, it is quite far from the airport, takes about 85GBP and about an hour. We bought a prepaid service and it was good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th Floor West Wing - Room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lparsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lparsad,

Thank you for your feedback and staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in London and your stay at Hilton London Metropole.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#390 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#238 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#471 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London NW9 6LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in London
#349 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing