We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hilton Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #593 of 1,069 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Hilton Hotel”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while Christmas shopping in London, Has all the facilities you would expect of a Hilton hotel and we were given a spacious King room with a great view of Hyde park and London.

Room was clean and tidy and well stocked, the bed was comfy with plenty of space and the room was quiet with no noise from the road below.

The location is ideally situated near a tube station so easy access to the main sights in London.

We had breakfast during our stay and this was also of a good standard and the staff were more than happy to help with any problems and issues that we had.

Would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0wz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    1,525
    1,165
    638
    440
See reviews for
1,489
941
211
1,378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

In spite of its size the staff of this hotel succeed in making guests feel special. There was a queue at reception when we arrived but it moved very quickly, and the friendly, helpful receptionist who attended to us more than made up for the wait. Our Superior King room in the West Wing was quiet, spacious and well equipped, and the shower was excellent. The one problem was a creaky bed, as mentioned by earlier reviewers. We had breakfast early on Saturday and Sunday morning, so the queues were short, but we noticed that that they were much longer later. If one is happy with a coffee and croissant the lobby bar is probably a better bet, though the buffet breakfast is very good. There were no breakfast queues on Monday, so it appears to be a week-end problem. Staff at the Porters' desk were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Hilton London Metropole has undergone a renovation since I last stayed here, The lobby and rooms have been updated. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and small. Bathroom is also quite small. My main issue is that the room did not smell fresh; it was musty. One notices the outer windows are useable but these have been blocked by a second barrier of windows that are locked shut. Even with the a/c on, I just wanted so badly to air out the room. I was there on a Sunday and apparently that's the fire drill test day, so if you're sleeping late, be ready for something loud! Outside you're on Edgware Road, the middle east of London and the only place to eat past midnight, if shawerma and hummus is your thing. You're a quick walk down to Hyde Park / Marble Arch where you make a left on Oxford Street for the shopping and further down to SOHO. Location is good, I can't say much for value as I've never felt "value" generally applies to anything in the UK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Stefanonyc, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and let prospective guests know what you liked about the hotel and what can be improved upon. It is our obligation to ensure our guests feel comfortable and it is unfortunate you experienced a musty smell in your room. As opening windows is a health and safety issue we are required to have these barriers, and do apologize that it caused you to not be 100 percent satisfied with your stay. We hope you enjoyed our renovated space and we are glad you were able to experience all the location has to offer. Hopefully you can return to the UK soon.
Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Recently spent 2 nights here as part of an organised weekend break. Initially blown away by the sheer size of the place but found the service very good and the breakfast excellent. Some delay checking in but otherwise a decent stay. Rooms clean and comfortable and a short walk to Hyde Park corner and Oxford St. Found the bar prices to be reasonable (unusual for London) All in all a very pleasant, if short, stay

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dennisfrommaerdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear DennisfromMaerdy,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hilton London Metropole. We are delighted you had a great weekend getaway and were able to take advantage of all the area has to offer. We appreciate your understanding of a slight delay in check-in, as that can happen on occassion, but I'm glad were were able to make up for it all other levels.
Kindest regards,
Margaret Heneghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here after a conference. Hotel looks great, rooms are very nice, I was in a twin, bit small but did the job.

One thing that I found ridiculous was the wait time on the elevators. 20mins wait would not be unusual. With 23 floors and only 4 elevators in the tower, don't need to be a genius. The stairs were emergency stairs.

Check out was noon. Saying this I had 3 housekeepers at my room before 10am.

Id stay here again although I would request a room that wasn't in the tower!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

London is always pot luck sometimes when you try and find a decent place to stay. We've tried cheapy ones and wished we hadn't. Hubby and I were going to the theatre and wanted to stay one night so we decided to stay at the Hilton which we are members of anyway by going to the Bracknell one many times. We managed to get fast tracked and up-graded to a beautiful room on the 23rd floor looking out of our windows at the whole of the area with the "eye" and the Post Office tower and Big Ben in the distant. Wonderful. The room and bed were delightful with complimentary robes and slippers. Breakfast was amazing, firstly a huge queue confronted us as we came down to the breakfast room, but it soon dispersed and we were seated in 15 mins which was excellent. You could eat what ever you wanted in what ever quantity and all tastes were accommodated for. We didn't have to be out of the room until midday either which was fantastic as it gave us time to relax.

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honours and you could get an up-grade sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Janice G.
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at Hilton London Metropole. It is wonderful to hear this praise of our breakfast and understanding of our breakfast que. We surely value our Hilton Honors guests and when upgrades are plausible, we do do our best to provide. You cannot go wrong with a room on the 23rd floor when it comes to the view. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards,
Margaret Heneghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last January, a very nice hotel the Hilton Metropole is situated in a very ethnically diverse area (Edgeware Rd) which my wife and I really liked as there is such a diverse range of restaurants nearby and the tube is only two minutes walk away so very convenient for seeing the sights, compared to other similar hotels in London the price was quite reasonable and the breakfast was all you could expect and want before a day of hitting the streets of London;) I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room on as high a floor as possible for awesome views over central london,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonWhiteIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#410 of 1,069 in London
3,914 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#264 of 1,069 in London
2,444 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton London Kensington
#503 of 1,069 in London
4,212 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#367 of 1,069 in London
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Property: Hilton London Metropole
Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#346 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing