We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel. Great facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Metropole
Ranked #592 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights here as part of an organised weekend break. Initially blown away by the sheer size of the place but found the service very good and the breakfast excellent. Some delay checking in but otherwise a decent stay. Rooms clean and comfortable and a short walk to Hyde Park corner and Oxford St. Found the bar prices to be reasonable (unusual for London) All in all a very pleasant, if short, stay

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank dennisfrommaerdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear DennisfromMaerdy,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hilton London Metropole. We are delighted you had a great weekend getaway and were able to take advantage of all the area has to offer. We appreciate your understanding of a slight delay in check-in, as that can happen on occassion, but I'm glad were were able to make up for it all other levels.
Kindest regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,049 - 4,055 of 5,107 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here after a conference. Hotel looks great, rooms are very nice, I was in a twin, bit small but did the job.

One thing that I found ridiculous was the wait time on the elevators. 20mins wait would not be unusual. With 23 floors and only 4 elevators in the tower, don't need to be a genius. The stairs were emergency stairs.

Check out was noon. Saying this I had 3 housekeepers at my room before 10am.

Id stay here again although I would request a room that wasn't in the tower!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

London is always pot luck sometimes when you try and find a decent place to stay. We've tried cheapy ones and wished we hadn't. Hubby and I were going to the theatre and wanted to stay one night so we decided to stay at the Hilton which we are members of anyway by going to the Bracknell one many times. We managed to get fast tracked and up-graded to a beautiful room on the 23rd floor looking out of our windows at the whole of the area with the "eye" and the Post Office tower and Big Ben in the distant. Wonderful. The room and bed were delightful with complimentary robes and slippers. Breakfast was amazing, firstly a huge queue confronted us as we came down to the breakfast room, but it soon dispersed and we were seated in 15 mins which was excellent. You could eat what ever you wanted in what ever quantity and all tastes were accommodated for. We didn't have to be out of the room until midday either which was fantastic as it gave us time to relax.

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honours and you could get an up-grade sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Janice G.
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at Hilton London Metropole. It is wonderful to hear this praise of our breakfast and understanding of our breakfast que. We surely value our Hilton Honors guests and when upgrades are plausible, we do do our best to provide. You cannot go wrong with a room on the 23rd floor when it comes to the view. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last January, a very nice hotel the Hilton Metropole is situated in a very ethnically diverse area (Edgeware Rd) which my wife and I really liked as there is such a diverse range of restaurants nearby and the tube is only two minutes walk away so very convenient for seeing the sights, compared to other similar hotels in London the price was quite reasonable and the breakfast was all you could expect and want before a day of hitting the streets of London;) I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room on as high a floor as possible for awesome views over central london,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonWhiteIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights from 30th November and were extremely disappointed. We were given a room in the tower which was not fit for purpose. The carpet was filthy and badly stained, the air con did not work, the bathroom was very shabby and there was no hot water available in the morning. We requested a change of room and had to wait for someone to check out as the hotel was full. We were moved in the afternoon to the west wing which was much better and seems to be a newer part of the hotel. There was absolutely no comparison between the 2 rooms although they cost the same. If you have to stay here insist on a room in the west wing. There was a long queue for breakfast throughout the morning. When we were checking out everyone else at the reception area seemed to be complaining. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the West Wing not the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Tim,
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. It is unfortunate to hear you experienced a less than impressive stay and we will take your comments seriously as we strive to improve our services. Noting your comments about the difference in the rooms- with 1054 hotel rooms there are slight differences in size and they are represented online as so, however the hot water, cleanliness and air-conditioning issues should not have occured- whether in the Tower Wing or West. I am glad reception was able to accomodate your room change request in due time and wish you many safe travels and comfortable stays in the future.
Kind regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a tiring trans-Atlantic flight my husband and I arrived at the hotel to be told our room was not available, but would be given a king-size bed overlooking Hyde Park when it was ready. No big deal. We took the opportunity to start sight seeing. When we checked in again we were given a very small room. No king-size bed. No view of Hyde Park. No big deal. We understand Europe has different standards which we respect. BUT I draw the line with cleanliness. The bed offered a coverlet that was filthy. It appeared to have never been cleaned. It had visible food droppings, at least I presume it was food. The carpet looked the same with splotches of matter that had not been cleaned from it. After nothing short of a HUGE hassle, trying to be firm, but friendly and not a finicky American, we were given a "complementary" upgrade. (Which I learned later we were supposed to have anyway). The new room was spacious with clean bed linens and a clean floor. However, the non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Intense, strong, stale smoke. One of the bath towels smelled like an ashtray. I didn't have the energy to confront the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saudiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear SaudieSue,
We greatly appreciate hearing about your recent stay with us, as it brought to light an extreme issue that will be dealt with accordingly. This is unacceptable on a few levels and it will be reported to the appropriate supervisor. I am happy you eventually received the room you were promised and do hope you had a good experience in London on your holiday. Thank you for your feedback and again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Regards,
Margaret Heneghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Since 2 years, I'm staying in Hinton Metropole Hotel for my business trips to London. The hotel was renovated last year and this year I felt that I'm staying in an hotel with great service perfect location and clean rooms. Hotel is located very close to Paddington station with a view of London eye for upper floors' room on the tower. The breakfast is satisfactory and all the staff is very friendly. They're always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingteam, Manager at Hilton London Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Ozded,
We take much pride in our facilities and your comments are very much appreciated. As we do serve both the business and leisure traveller, it is great to see you representing our business traveller, and your review and experience is very representative as to why we are a favoured business hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#409 of 1,076 in London
4,105 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#275 of 1,076 in London
2,560 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Hilton London Kensington
#506 of 1,076 in London
4,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Metropole

Address: 225 Edgware Road, London W2 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in London
#347 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $143 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 1059
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes' walk from the West End and Oxford Street and a 10 minute tube ride from Westfield Shopping Centre, the Hilton London Metropole hotel is the ideal destination for the business and leisure guest. All Hilton London Metropole hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Choose an Executive Room or one of our Suites for complimentary Executive Lounge access. Wireless internet access is available free of charge in all public areas of the hotel. *Continuing refurbishment of the Tower Guest Rooms will take place in phases beginning on 18 January 2016. Works will take place between 9am - 5pm. Every effort will be made to minimize any disruption to Guests. Please be advised that on Sunday 28 August and Monday 29 August there will be planned power outages in the area. The power outages will affect the East Wing on Sunday and the West Wing on Monday from 1 pm - 7 pm at which time guests will not be able to access these rooms. The Tower Wing will not be affected. During this time every effort will be made to minimise any disruptions to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton London Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Metropole Hotel London
Hilton Metropole London
London Hilton
Hilton London Metropole England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing