We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for London West End”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Ranked #391 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This review relates to the London Marriott Marble Arch which is, in fact, just off Edgware Road, about 5 minutes walk from Marble Arch. The Marriott which is situated at Marble Arch is actually called the London Marriott Park Lane. We stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst in London for an art exhibition and a show.

Having cleared that up, the walk down Edgware Road takes just 5 minutes and was interesting. As other reviewers have commented, this is very much the Middle Eastern area of London but it was actually fascinating to walk past the various cafes where men were smoking Middle Eastern pipes and drinking their tea/coffees. The Marriott is also geared to the Middle Eastern market with the “Do Not Disturb” door signs also having a message on them in Arabic. Whilst there were a number of Middle Eastern guests staying at the hotel whilst we were there, many of them seemed to be air crew on a stop over.

The hotel is smart and well furnished and the standard room was pretty typical Marriott. The bathroom, as others have commented, was very small and only just big enough for one person at a time. All the plumbing worked well and heating in the bedroom was efficient as part of the air conditioning system. We heard very little noise in our room. On one occasion, there were guests talking by the lift for a short while and we could hear a rumble of traffic noise outside but nothing more apart from the occasional siren of an emergency vehicle.

We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was very good and staff excellent. After taking our room number on the first night, the waitress then used our name throughout the evening. On the second night, she did not ask the room number but then went on to use our name anyway. Breakfast was the usual Marriott buffet with a very good choice across cold, fruit, cereals, pastries and cooked food.

Reception was mixed. We had asked for an early check in and had no problem when we arrived at around 11.30am and were dealt with very efficiently. The day before we left, we asked whether a late checkout was possible. We were told that there was a £50 charge to extend from 12 noon to 3pm so declined. We were then offered an extension to 1pm on a complimentary basis. At checkout, the receptionist seemed to have problems with her computer and kept us waiting for some time and just kept repeating “just a minute”. Her name was Tonya Semkina and we were not impressed. She seemed to be having an off day and she was the only weak link amongst the rest of the staff in the hotel who were generally excellent. It then took her another 5 or 6 minutes to try and resolve a query about an over charge on the bill but in the end, we gave up and left and had to take up with the hotel by email after we arrived home and they were then quick to give the refund we were due.

There is a small leisure club in the basement of the hotel. The pool is very shallow at one end (I could sit on the bottom without difficulty) but there is a usable swimming area of about 12 meters by 7 metres and the pool was busy but not crowded when we swam before breakfast. The is a spa/Jacuzzi bath and separate small saunas in each of the male and female changing rooms which are very small and cramped. There is also a small gym with a range of equipment.

Would we stay at this hotel again? Yes, definitely, although I might check out room rates at the Park Lane Marriott (right by Marble Arch!) to see whether we can avoid the walk down the Edgware Road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have been to this hotel for 3 days last week... We enjoyed our time a lot and we will definitly come back... The staff are great and very helpfull, escpecially the concierge....
With such a location you won't be able to resist the shopping temptations...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaWillis1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

had a great stay here for 2 nights due to the very warm staff - all of them smiled and looked as though they really enjoyed their work and they were courteous and efficient as well.Our room was well equipped - lots of drawer space which is rare and everything worked well and was spotless.Doormen were efficicient and welcoming and no-one looked for a tip.All in all a perfect stay and the staff need congratulating on getting it spot on with customer service.A lot of hotels could learn from this team.Well Done!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twomiddleagers973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here before xmas for a little shopping. Great central location. Well appointed rooms. Pool a bonus as we enjoy a little dip after a hard day splurging. Went to the theatre during our stay again just up the road.
Did not eat in the hotel so can not comment.
Dont normally stay in chain hotels but we were not disapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdiddygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

When I made this reservation, a special price with no cancel fees, I wasn’t sure about the location. I thought it was close to the Marble Arch which is not the case at all. However, it is close to Oxford Street, within walking distance of some of the best shopping in London including stores on Bond St., to London Paddington st. (Heathrow express) and to many museums – 20 minutes walking for Madame Tussauds or a bit longer for The Natural History Museum, Science Museum and V&A via Hyde Park (or a very short bus ride with No 414). So I could say that the location is good, especially if you like walking.
It is clean, calm and with a very nice fresh smell in reception. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a king bed, a very-very comfortable bed. The room was not huge but good by London standards. The bathroom was also small, but very clean. I still can't understand why you have to pay extra for internet access.
The breakfast offered a large selection, but if the breakfast isn’t included in your package, a Costa Coffee is just around the corner from the hotel on Edgware Road. The area is full of Middle Eastern shops and restaurants, lots of Lebanese restaurants.
In conclusion, if you get a good price (not the standard rates), Marriott Marble Arch is a great choice, in an interesting area. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtk_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have stayed at this hotels by times, but this occasion was not impressed on 2 matters- 1. There was no information made available prior to check in that the hotel was undergoing some work resulting in noise from 10am. 2. The paid Internet service was pathetic. Despite calls to the provider and reception the assistance granted was minimal and without effect. At check out? They agreed not to charge for one days usage but for the previous 5 days it was incredibly frustrating. Very disappointed especially in you are there for business an these simple services re not operational. Worse still if you have to pay for it!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I am a Marriott patron that travels the world. This Marriott is just what I expected as far as being clean, comfortable, and accommodating. Over my five day business stay, the staff I dealt with included the front desk, the doormen, and the Concierge Suite personnel. All were gracious and helpful. My room was typically Marriott which means “spacious” by London standards.

The hotel is situated almost equidistant from the Marble Arch and Edgware Road Tube stations making the Central, Bakerloo, District and Circle Lines all accessible.

There’s a Tesco and Costa Coffee just around the corned from the hotel on Edgware Road along with a remarkable collection of Middle Eastern restaurants giving this immediate area a different look and feel from traditional London. However, steps to the East and it’s back to tradition.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbed90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#101 of 1,081 in London
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch

Address: 134 George Street, London W1H 5DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $232 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 4-star luxury at London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch. Our stylish and contemporary Marble Arch hotel offers newly redesigned bedrooms featuring Apple TV technology and deluxe bedding, within walking distance of many captivating Central London, England destinations, such as Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Mayfair and Oxford Street shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing