We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down for the marathon - good weekend all round!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #111 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Down for the marathon - good weekend all round!”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I thought this hotel was excellent, I especially liked the TV in the bathroom..

The decor was lovely and the location ideal.

I was particularly impressed with the facilities given to me to shower etc after the Marathon when my girlfriend had checked out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Thank You very much for your reply.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,070
    986
    323
    136
    52
See reviews for
690
2,297
134
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishersville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Horseguards from 5/7/10 - 5/18/10. After a couple days there we noticed someone was coming into our room leaving messages from my husband's colleagues. They were also using our restroom while we were not there because they left their room key sitting on the desk. I found this to be very disturbing and I let the mananger on duty aware of the situation and was told he would get back to us once he contacted whoever was in our room. Well that answer never came. I found that if they are coming into your room and using the restroom no telling what else they were doing. Why could a note not just be slipped under the door. The room was great but I did find this to be very distrubing so I highly recommend if you are going to stay there to make sure your stuff is locked up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dym6nuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRManagerthistle, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
I am disappointed to hear of the situation you were faced with whilst staying at The Royal Horseguards. Please accept our sincere apologies for this, this is not acceptable and further action will be taken. Please be assured your comments have been passed onto the General Manager of the hotel who is investigating the issues raised with his team. Please accept pur apologies once again and we hope this experience will not discourage you from choosing our hotels again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Royal Horseguards Hotel - it has a great location for all the sights in London a lovely positon right near the Thames on the Embankment. The rooms are a good size and housekeeping is excellent. The staff are always helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. I stayed with two girl friends and they also would recommend and not hesitate in staying at this hotel again.
It is not cheap to stay here but i always say you do get what you pay for..........

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaudNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I was just going through some things from last summer and realized I never wrote a review. Believe me when I write that this hotel deserves one! I'd stayed at the Horseguards a decade ago, since then it's changed hands, renovated and is even better. The rooms are fabulous with lots of amenities (like I-Pod player that pipes music into your room and/or bathroom - fully controlled by you, wonderful marble bathroom with heated anything you want, etc.) The posh decor is chick British modern with a wonderful nod to the classics. From the bed to the robes to the linens, everything is comfortable. The service is impeccable - every staffer was friendly, able and ready to meet our needs. The location is great - just a couple blocks from the bustle of Trafalger, near key Tube lines, but tucked away on a quiet street. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves to travel in style and reap the best London has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Right across the Thames from the London Eye and only a few blocks from Parliament, you couldn't ask for a better location. Short walk to Trafalgar Square also. Lovely hotel with friendly service. Could have had a better view (faced an inner courtyard) but the room was comfortable and very clean. Updated bathrooms with towel warmers and reliable internet service. Would defnitely go back for another visit!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed for two nights. Nice, modern rooms. Helpful, service-minded staff. Good location, close to all the sights but relaxed and quiet. Ok breakfast, more fresh fruit and vegetables would be nice. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameronbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Great location, but you need to know that the entrance is at the 'rear' rather than riverside. Requested and received a quiet room which was small but opulent . The wardrobe space was the smallest I have ever encountered, but the bed was enormous and perhaps the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Problems with tv reception - very poor signal; likewise with mobile phone - no signal with either Orange or Vodafone. Excellent breakfast promptly served in room. Check-in/out speedy and professional.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFreddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,661 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,067 in London
2,464 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,067 in London
3,927 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing