We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #116 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We spent 5 nights at The Royal Horseguards. The stay got of to a rocky start. When we arrived the power was out due to some nearby construction. Even though we were guaranteed an exectutive room with a river view, we were given a small interior room with no view and frosted windows. The desk claimed it was one of the few rooms available with power. We went out to dinner and when we came back the power was back on and I requested a better room, but the desk clerk did not want to let us change rooms. Only when I asked for a manager did the clerk relent and give us a room with a river view. There were probems with the new room. The heat could not be regulated and there was no hot water available, forcing cold showers in the morning. We were then given an outstanding room on the 8th floor. Room 818. It is a large king room with a great view and a jacuzzi.
The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood that is central to many attractions. It is only 500 feet from the Embankment Tube Station. Travel around London is easy on "The Tube".
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was good but after 5 days of the same food, it was a little boring.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank you for your comments subsequent to your visit to The Royal Horseguards.

Indeed we did experience a major power failure on the dates of your visit which as you are probably aware was outside of our control and did impact on our services at the time.

We were pleased to note that you found other aspects of your stay enjoyable.

Thank you again for sending your feedback to TripAdvisor and we hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,948 - 3,954 of 4,746 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2010

The hotel was lovely and the staff really friendly. We were upgraded to room 612 on the 6th floor with a view of the London eye and River. This room has no bath but a walk in shower with built in TV. The room (and most of the hotel) was very modern with a personal doorbell, Ipod docking station, and mini bar. The only negative about the room was the small princess bed, if you are travelling alone this would be fine but as a couple it was too small to sleep comfortably. We ate in the restaurant which was gorgeous we ate from both the A la Carte and the TDH menu (as I don’t eat much) without a problem. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and so much choice even down to the condiments.
The Embankment tube station was less than a 5 min walk away so very convenient.
Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesspnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank you for submitting your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards.

Your comments regarding the bedroom allocated to you have been noted.

We were delighted to read your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to share your experience and we hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The positives are that this hotel is well situated for views of the Thames, Central London and the Millennium Eye. It is clean and the staff are very pleasant and polite. Top marks to the Concierge and the Doorman who were excellent. One request for room service was dealt with very quickly. The room was clean and the bedding fresh. Good air conditioning unit but a bit noisy although you could switch it off. The shower was good and a TV screen was fitted into the shower wall.
The negatives are that whilst we expect to pay London Prices we also expect Five Star service and accommodation. The Double Deluxe room was very small and the bed seemed to be incredibly small for a double. There was just about enough room to get around the end of the bed. The pillows were like concrete.
We did not eat in the restaurant but ate light meals in the bar and lounge. In the club sandwich my wife found a a large piece of cling film; in the chicken sandwich having requested no mustard it was served with mustard and we couldn't get the staff to understand what we wanted. The bread was awful, pappy and tasteless. Breakfast was terrible - for a five star hotel with two rosettes I expected fresh food. We didn't get any with perhaps the exception of the fried eggs which were a lovely deep yellow/orange colour. The scrambled eggs could not have been made with the same eggs as they were a pale washed out yellow. I had prunes and they still had stones in them and it was almost impossible to get the flesh off - I had to leave them.
Afternoon tea was just as bad. The finger sandwiches were made of the same pappy tasteless bread as before and had also been pre-made as they were dry. The cucumber was too thick and had not been peeled. The ham was thin and 'plastic'. The jam for the cream tea was eventually brought to the table, having previously been forgotten, in tiny sealed glass jam jars instead of in a dish was truly unforgivable for a five star hotel.
We understand the hotel has recently undergone a make over and the decor was very nice but the service, whilst delivered by polite staff, was very poor. This was not a five star experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueanddaveEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank you for submitting your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Please let me reassure you that your concerns have been noted and any necessary action taken to improve our services.

I was however, pleased to note your positive comments and once again thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Stayed at the Royal Horseguards for my wife's birthday last weekend. Totally enjoyed the experience. The room was exceptional with GREAT views across the river to the London Eye and beyond. Stayed on the eigth floor in an Exec Room with view. Well worth the money. The staff were fantastic very polite and attentive. Breakfast was also very good and all items were replenished regularly. Very close to theatre land and easy walking distance to some theatres. Cant really say much more other than we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank you for submitting your feedback via TripAdvisor following your visit to The Royal Horseguards.

We were delighted to read your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Booked the Royal Horseguards to spend Valentine's Night with my girlfriend.
A beautiful hotel - we had a view of the River Thames and were able to sleep at night looking at the lights of the London Eye... absolutely beautiful.
Rooms were absolutely beautiful - we had a television in the shower and an ipod dock in the room which played music through speakers at the back of the headboard on the bed.
Very classey and a fantastatic stay.
(Staff were very friendly. I also left my phone charger in the room and within 4 days they had sent it to me)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

We were delighted to read your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Horseguards.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed at Royal Horseguards Feb 2010, we got the tube from Kings X to the Embankment , you cannot miss the hotel from the tube station.
First impressions of the hotel is 'Wow'!! The grounds and the building look like a palace. Little confusing as the entrance is round the back of the hotel.
The check in was quick and pleasant, receptionist offerered to book us a taxi for the evening and said doorman would carry our bags.
Don't get me wrong our room was lovely and clean, the bathroom was all marble wih plasma in the huge shower (nice touch), heated flooring in the bathroom, the mini bar was fully stocked (very expensive) plasma tele on the wall, however...after paying nearly £200 a night for a premier double room i expected a better view.! The hotel is on the embankment and you can see the thames,london eye,etc. Our room was at the back of the hotel so all we could see was the next building and construction work.
The hotel location is perfect and we walked 15mins to the Lyceum theatre that evening.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jl_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank you for feedback via TripAdvisor following your visit to The Royal Horseguards.

We were delighted to that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to share your comments.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights ( March 3 - 10) and overall were pleased with our accomodations. Our first night we stayed in a very small room with view with two single beds. The next day switched to a room with view and king sized bed (originally requested) and were quite pleased. There are definately sound-proofing improvements that need to be made as we could hear activity/voices from the adjacent room. Also, beware there is major construction going on in front of the hotel. The location is excellent and our room was kept very clean. The lobby should be upgraded as it requires some updating. Business center was lacking, process to access internet was cumbersome. Overall we would not consider this a 5 star hotel but would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHSLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Royal Horseguards. We have noted your comments and will obviously endeavour to take any relevant action.
Please do not hesitate to contact Reception for assistance with internet access or any other queries you may have.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to add your feedback to TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,937 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,576 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,076 in London
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,076 in London
4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#101 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $260 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing