We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vastly Improved Since Last Visit in '07”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #111 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Vastly Improved Since Last Visit in '07”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at The Royal Horseguards on a number of occasions during the past 10 years. When we first encountered it in the late '90s, it was sorely in need of upgrading and repair. During our most recent visit, we noted that the hotel is under new management and perhaps the nicest place we've stayed in central London. The Royal Horseguards now boasts a full range of modern amenities to include air-conditioned rooms (all rooms are now non-smoking), flat screen TVs in both room and bathroom, WiFi and newly refurbished appointments throughout. Under the previous proprietorship the service and attitude of the hotel staff left a lot to be desired, but the change in management appears to have done wonders for the quality of the establishment and the level of service. Our room overlooked the Thames and the London Eye as requested by email (although this was not guaranteed). Breakjfast was included and consisted of standard English fare and, while not spectacular, was more than adequate for the business traveler. (The staff was gracious enough to allow us to conduct small business meetings during breakfast.) The location has always been excellent for travelers doing business with the UK government, as well as for tourists. Based upon this experience, we will be choosing The Horseguards again for our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,070
    986
    323
    136
    52
See reviews for
690
2,297
134
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Cannot fault this hotel at all, perfect location, clean, attentive and genuinely friendly staff. We stayed for the first night of our honeymoon and can safely say we made a great choice of hotel, on a quite street but right on the action, Trafalgar square two minutes walk away. Perfectly clean and spotless hotel and with a great buffet style breakfast....... you will not be disappointed with this hotel. 10/10

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrCeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I have traveled to london before but this hotel really made a difference on this trip. We took our 29yr old son and his friend. The accomodations were fantastic. The staff very nice and the location was great. We will definitely stay here again. My son had a junior executive suite with 2 twin beds.It was perfect!!! We travel quite a bit and I know a great hotel.....this is one! The view my husband and I had from our suite was beautiful!!!!We were directly looking over The River Thames with London eye across from us.We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

While the hotel was in a good position and offered excellent accommodation we felt it was more of a 4 star than a 5 star. The bedroom was well fitted but the breakfast was very disappointing and let the place down.
There were paper napkins instead of linen napkins usually found in 5 star hotels, the orange juice was the cheap concentrated variety rather than fresh juice. While the pats of butter looked pretty when tasted - it was clearly low quality butter or some horrible substitute - something not usually found in 5 star establishments.
We also had a cream tea which was well presented. The scones were tasty but the bread was very doughy and again the revolting cheap butter or subsitute. The service for the tea was excellent.
If the Royal Horseguards could sort out the catering and bring it in line with other 5 star establishments I would certainly recommend.
Another warning - Pimms is very expensive in this hotel. Four small glasses of Pimms and we were charged £46. It would have been much cheaper to have purchased a bottle of wine. While I appreciate prices in 5 star hotels are more expensive we could have had 4 cocktails for this price. A glass of Pimms (twice the size) was only £3.50 in the pub a few yards away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worriedowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The rooms are fabulous, very clean, up to date, decorated impeccably. Nice touches to the room such as very good baths and showers. TV in bath. We had good view of Thames too which was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Royal Horseguards - July 2009. We were extremely happy with our choice. The location was great - we could walk to all of the major tourist sites and the Tube Station was only a block away. Check-in was quick and easy. The room was very spacious and we loved the large windows. The bathroom was updated with a both a towel rack warmer and also a heated bathroom floor. There was a "rain shower" type showerhead and a TV screen in the shower as well (loved the bathroom!) We had a king size bed with a nice soft comforter and plenty of pillows - no problems sleeping whatsoever.

We had breakfast included in our "package" which was a buffet breakfast each morning that included eggs, toast, coffee, sausage, bacon, fruit, cereals, pastries, coffee, tea, juice...something for everyone.

We would definitely stay here again! Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that we had asked for 2 wake-up calls during our stay. The first one was automated and we were able to request it through the phone ourselves. The second wake-up call was for our last morning (crucial that you check out in time to catch your flight) and this time when we called to order one someone from the front desk took our request. Luckily, we were awake anyway before the wake-up call because....we never received one that morning. But "stuff" happens and I wouldn't let it keep me from staying there again!

Staff was also very nice! We hope to be back again soon - had a great time in London enjoying the sights!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArubaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Realtions Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
Thank you for your comments on the TripAdvisor website subsequent to your stay with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We have taken on board your constructive feedback and apologise for the not received wake-up calls. We are however, very delighted to note the positive aspects of your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our service standards. We would like to thank for taking the time to add your comments on the TripAdvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations
The Royal Horseguards Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

What a great find!
I am generally a fussy traveller and usually reside at the Four Seasons or County Hall however we were entertaining friends and I decided to book somewhere different.
The hotel rooms are spacious and light- usually in central london "airy" rooms don't come with the territory. Modern yet with such wonderful architectural features- the view over the london rooftops on the 9th floor was impressive.
They have completed the renovation here to an exceptional standard and I felt privalaged to be staying here.
Drinks were expensive- £40 for a round with 4 people, the bar, lobby and resturant atmosphere aren't anything to write home about but as we were mainly using the hotel to sleep in, it was perfect. The rooms are really quite something- a standard room had a TV over the bathtub- not something I would usually approve of but when in rome...
The toiletries provided were Elmis and plentiful.
Overall decor and staff service is excellent and they seem well trained.
Great location- I couldn't fault it.

I am definately staying here at my next opportunity; we almost want to keep it a secret so the rates stay low. An excellent find and will be recommending this to all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Thank yo for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward ro welcoming you back in the near future.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our service standards. We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the TripAdvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations Manager
The Royal Horseguards Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,667 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,067 in London
2,464 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,067 in London
3,927 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing