We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A refined, elegant hotel in a great location with a responsive, accommodating staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #94 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A refined, elegant hotel in a great location with a responsive, accommodating staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

My partner and I spent 4 nights at the Royal Horsguards Hotel, having booked one of their 'Royal' rooms, and found the décor to be refined and quite pleasing, the beds supremely comfortable and the room spacious. Our request for feather pillows was addressed quickly by the Housekeeping staff.
The first night the air-conditioning broke down and the maintenance staff person could not repair it, although he did clean the filter which was obviously in great need of such. Our room was changed that next day and, again, we found the air-conditioning to be problematic in this room as well. The maintenance person was again summoned and he also enlisted the assistance of the maintenance manager. The filter in this room was also in dire need of cleaning and, once this was done, the A/C worked perfectly in this room.
Breakfast was buffet-style, being quite extensive and plentiful, although the breakfast staff seemed somewhat frazzled each morning because of the fast pace required of them.
Again, to touch upon the décor of the hotel, we found it to be of exceptionally high quality throughout.
We had occasion to interact with the Guest Relations Manager, Mr. Matthias Kussner, regarding an 'incident', of which he not only resolved expeditiously and professionally to our satisfaction, but he also graciously invited us to partake of afternoon tea in the hotel lounge which we accepted and thoroughly enjoyed. A gesture of a truly higher quality establishment.
Our only critique would be that the Maintenance Department should perform routinely scheduled cleaning of the rooms' A/C filters, which was obviously not being done.
We found the overall experience in this hotel to be very positive and, once the A/C problem had been resolved and we were able to regulate the A/C to a comforting cooler temperature, which I require, we would have been quite content to have our abbreviated stay extended indefinitely.
We LOVE the Royal Horseguards Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackRussellChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,981
    939
    301
    126
    50
See reviews for
663
2,199
129
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

A hotel to me is just a convienent bed while you visit somewhere far from hom, but this hotel I want to stay in again just to enjoy it! We only stayed one night so didnl;t get to see the views of the River Thames, the restaurant or any of the facilities, but what we did see was a fantastic location, very polite and helpful staff, beautiful decor and convenient hotel layout ie lifts near restaurant, toilets near bar etc. Negatives - King Double surpisingly small. shower in King Double not very good, you can't avoid the jet to wash your hair! Sink too big making bathroom too small. Bed too hard for my liking (but that is just a personal preference). No complimentary water (but bizarrly a tv in the bathroom. Would have preferred the water to be honest). Parking about 10 mins walk away, not impossible but inconvenient when you have cases. Saying that, I would go back without hesitation, but I would get a different room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natbr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australians in Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

We went to London for work and extended the stay over the weekend for leisure. The Royal Horseguards was an excellent hotel - we have a new London favourite! Within 10 mins walk of Trafalgar Square, it is very easy to get to any main attraction in the city, and it is about 3 mins walk to Embankment Tube.
Lovely room, very clean, and an extremely comfortable bed - bliss! Excellent shower. We arrived late, so we had fantastic food from room service - hot, fresh and cooked perfectly, delivered quickly. It was so good we opted to have lunch in the lovely garden terrace restaurant - equally good food. We had some trouble with the airconditioner - it was a very hot week in London - and this was fixed straight away. Unfortunately, the following night, it broke down again. When we reported the problem, action was immediately taken, and we were transferred to an identical room, and everything was handled with utmost courtesy and professionalism. Can't speak highly enough of the staff - every single person we dealt with, from front desk to cleaners, was friendly, helpful and utterly professional. What could have been an irritating problem was promptly corrected and did not detract in any way from the enjoyment of our stay. The hotel was lovely - the staff quite brilliant. We will definitely be staying there again for future visits to London.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtterAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Having had glowing reports of the Royal Horseguards from my son and daughter-in-law, who had stayed there on two occasions, I decided that it would be the ideal place to celebrate my 80th birthday. My daughter-in-law had emailed ahead asking for various surprises for me, i.e. champagne in the bedroom on my birthday morning et. This was served persosnally by Dena the Guest Relations Manager, together with complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries. The hote staff also decorated my breafast table..

We were looked after superbly by all the staff.

The room was delightful with everything you could expect aand more.
The hotel also provided complimentary canapes and a beautiful chocolate torte birthday cake.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edscray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our family, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, had 2 room for 4 nights. The rooms were recently renovated and are incredible (they even have a TV screen over the bathtub). Roomy with comfortable furnishings, beds, sitting chairs, desk. Everything was new. The only drawback was that one of the rooms was an interior room with frosted window glass and no outside view. However upon request the hotel moved us to a beautiful exterior room the next night. This hotel is in the perfect location for walking London. Wireless works great in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamex25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 25, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our service standards.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the Tripadvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed in a basic double room, couldnt find any complaints, very tidy, clean and modern with I Pod dock in bedroom and flat screen in bathroom with speakers in ceiling. Really very very nice. The only thing to watch out for is at the bar. They only sell 50ml measures so look forward to at least £8 per drink. Not that this stopped us racking up £500 in one weekend! Lovely views, Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basingstoke5starman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 25, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We also take on board your constructive feedback regarding our Bar Service. Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our service standards.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the Tripadvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed here for new year.Best location directly opposite Millenium wheel.Number one place to stay for new year celebrations.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#21 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#42 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing