We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back again and spend more time there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #113 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Want to go back again and spend more time there!”
Reviewed July 28, 2009

A hotel to me is just a convienent bed while you visit somewhere far from hom, but this hotel I want to stay in again just to enjoy it! We only stayed one night so didnl;t get to see the views of the River Thames, the restaurant or any of the facilities, but what we did see was a fantastic location, very polite and helpful staff, beautiful decor and convenient hotel layout ie lifts near restaurant, toilets near bar etc. Negatives - King Double surpisingly small. shower in King Double not very good, you can't avoid the jet to wash your hair! Sink too big making bathroom too small. Bed too hard for my liking (but that is just a personal preference). No complimentary water (but bizarrly a tv in the bathroom. Would have preferred the water to be honest). Parking about 10 mins walk away, not impossible but inconvenient when you have cases. Saying that, I would go back without hesitation, but I would get a different room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natbr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,097
    992
    327
    137
    54
See reviews for
699
2,312
137
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australians in Paris
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We went to London for work and extended the stay over the weekend for leisure. The Royal Horseguards was an excellent hotel - we have a new London favourite! Within 10 mins walk of Trafalgar Square, it is very easy to get to any main attraction in the city, and it is about 3 mins walk to Embankment Tube.
Lovely room, very clean, and an extremely comfortable bed - bliss! Excellent shower. We arrived late, so we had fantastic food from room service - hot, fresh and cooked perfectly, delivered quickly. It was so good we opted to have lunch in the lovely garden terrace restaurant - equally good food. We had some trouble with the airconditioner - it was a very hot week in London - and this was fixed straight away. Unfortunately, the following night, it broke down again. When we reported the problem, action was immediately taken, and we were transferred to an identical room, and everything was handled with utmost courtesy and professionalism. Can't speak highly enough of the staff - every single person we dealt with, from front desk to cleaners, was friendly, helpful and utterly professional. What could have been an irritating problem was promptly corrected and did not detract in any way from the enjoyment of our stay. The hotel was lovely - the staff quite brilliant. We will definitely be staying there again for future visits to London.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtterAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Having had glowing reports of the Royal Horseguards from my son and daughter-in-law, who had stayed there on two occasions, I decided that it would be the ideal place to celebrate my 80th birthday. My daughter-in-law had emailed ahead asking for various surprises for me, i.e. champagne in the bedroom on my birthday morning et. This was served persosnally by Dena the Guest Relations Manager, together with complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries. The hote staff also decorated my breafast table..

We were looked after superbly by all the staff.

The room was delightful with everything you could expect aand more.
The hotel also provided complimentary canapes and a beautiful chocolate torte birthday cake.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edscray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our family, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, had 2 room for 4 nights. The rooms were recently renovated and are incredible (they even have a TV screen over the bathtub). Roomy with comfortable furnishings, beds, sitting chairs, desk. Everything was new. The only drawback was that one of the rooms was an interior room with frosted window glass and no outside view. However upon request the hotel moved us to a beautiful exterior room the next night. This hotel is in the perfect location for walking London. Wireless works great in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamex25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 25, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our service standards.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the Tripadvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed in a basic double room, couldnt find any complaints, very tidy, clean and modern with I Pod dock in bedroom and flat screen in bathroom with speakers in ceiling. Really very very nice. The only thing to watch out for is at the bar. They only sell 50ml measures so look forward to at least £8 per drink. Not that this stopped us racking up £500 in one weekend! Lovely views, Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basingstoke5starman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 25, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We also take on board your constructive feedback regarding our Bar Service. Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our service standards.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the Tripadvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed here for new year.Best location directly opposite Millenium wheel.Number one place to stay for new year celebrations.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich , Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Took my mother here for her 80th birthday along with my father and wife.

We had previously arranged for champagne to be taken to her room on the morning of her birthday (provided by us and chilled by the hotel) and complimentary strawberries arrived as well. We were assigned a guest relations manager (Dena) on arrival and she looked after us perfectly escorting us to breakfast via the VIP entrance to a table decorated with items previously provided by us.

In the afternoon we had complimentary tea as we were staying in gourman king river view rooms on The 6th floor (641 & 645) along with a chocolate cake with candles and "Happy 80th Birthday" on it kindly provided by the hotel. Room 645 has a large walk in shower which is ideal for the more eldely guests. Both rooms were large and have TV in the bathroom along with an ipod socket.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all in all our stay was superb so we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRays101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, July 25, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback subsequent to your recent stay at the Royal Horseguards Hotel.

We were most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help you to make it a very special day for your mother. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Customer feedback is a valuable source for future improvements of our servive standards.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments on the Tripadvisor homepage.

Thank you,

Guest Relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,712 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,068 in London
2,494 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,964 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing