We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hotels Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #119 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Ten years ago while staying at the Thistle Charing Cross London (now Guoman), I met a British couple at dinner that recommended the Horseguards. Well - ten years later and I just stayed there with my boyfriend after a complete refurbishment of the hotel. It is lovely! Our room was up in the eaves of the hotel: 8th floor, room 838, king bed, views of Big Ben in one direction, London Eye, and Charing Cross/Bankside out the others; 3 views in all. I believe the hotel was nearly full when I booked a month out because only the non-executive rooms were available. I understand that other rooms have more generous views with french doors etc, however - our room was charming, full of character and we loved it! The interior design was classy, inviting, and room well-appointed. French Press coffee in the room, Royal Doulton china and such a nice and responsive housekeeping staff. I will also mention that the hotel guests were also nice, polite and (while eavesdropping at breakfast) all very content with their choice. Breakfast was super and filling; powered us through all of our days till dinner. We did not want to leave and will definitely stay there again. As the hotel is very historic, we would have liked to had an all-access tour of the building and would have paid to do so. Located so close to Embankment Tube and Westminster also!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meenanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,211 - 4,217 of 4,876 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

What a beautiful building.

The location was great, just a couple of minutes walk from the train station and close enough to the attractions.

The hotel had a wonderful mix of traditional and modern features.

We paid a last minute rate and expected the worst room, but got one with a river view.

Had no problems at night with 'noisy neighbours', which was a big surprise as the hotel was full, maybe everyone was being courteous.

Lying in bed on the Sunday morning looking out to the London Eye, the sun shining through the window and hearing Big Ben chime was bliss.

The only niggle was breakfast, the seating area is quite small, so you may need to wait to be seated. We were told 20 minute wait, but it ended up being 5 minutes. There was a good selection of food though.

I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niccig123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We have just returned from a stay at the newly refurbished Royal Horseguards hotel,and had a really great time. We booked four river view rooms and got exactly that, all together, on the fourth floor. The hotel is immaculate and staff very attentive. We left our car at home and relied on the concierge to arange taxis and transport, which was efficeintly organised for our party of 6.The rooms are very luxurious, with heated bathroom floors, lcd tv in our bath, ipod docks and very good in-room and in-headboard speaker systems. One room had a bath and separate shower and the others all had double showers with tv in these! Our room tv had poor tuning and the hotel seemed unable to retune it when requested.
The housekeeping is excellent with fresh linen daily. Elemis bathroom products are used and you get a feeling of being very valued by the hotel. The location is excellent with a walk of only 2 - 3 minutes to Royal Horse guards. Also within 5 minutes in opposie directions are trafalgar square and teh National Gallery or Big Ben and Westmnster, the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Cathedral. The breakfasts are very good, but it is a serve yourself affair, which wasnt so easy with my father having to walk with a stick. The staff failed to spot this or offer him assistance, so could do better there. However the hot food was good, but often a wait for trays and dishes to be refilled, especially with pastries and fruit, so grab these when you see them. The a la carte options are about £5 each extra but cooked freshly to order and the egg florentine was superb and perfectly cooked. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return. Our party ages ranged from 19 to 75 and we all had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

this is an excellent hotel which has gone through major renovation and it is absolutely fantastic
Very high tech rooms, TV in bathroom, free wifi in the rooms,
Nicely decorated
excellent location
Brilliant staff
Fantastic breakfast


Only problems :
Parking (really difficult as the hotel is next to Ministry of Defence and major government Buildings)
The hotel is energy inefficient as it is not well insulated

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

A gorgeous hotel, brilliantly remade so that it's feeling modern and new without losing the history and classic feeling that the building demands. The room was smallish but neverthelss perfect - the only minus, if one is to be found, in the light control system which is too sophisticated for its own good. The location coulnd't be better, literally two minutes walk from Tralfalgar and five from Picadilly. Excellent service, the breakfast - which was, dont get me wrong, good - was perhaps the less rewarding experience, with personnel nice and courteous but slightly stressed, and a tad too long waiting times for the toasts. Minor details however - the Horseguards beats most hotels in style, history, service and comfort.

Most definitely recommendable, will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Wanted a good location with good service for a romantic weekend. Got it all at the Horseguards. Fantastic location, 5 mins walk from Leicester square and onto the nightlife but nice and quiet when you get back. Absolutely stunning view over the river, looking straight out onto the Eye. Room is not huge but very well appointed, got the king size bed and it was oh so comfortable. Staff very pleasant and attentive. Bit of building work going on at the entrance but nothing to worry about noise wise. You get what you pay for but having said that it wasnt too expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DublinDayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

What a fantastic place to stay. Everything was perfect. The room, facilities, frienly staff. Breakfast was not more than what you could expect, but everything you need was there. Best place in town, best quality I have ever seen in England. We had room 545 (King room with river view), I do think this might be the best in the hotel, but all rooms appear to have the highest standard around. I'll be there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank knelisknelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,076 in London
4,143 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,076 in London
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,395 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,076 in London
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $204 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing