We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, poor rooms, terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #99 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, poor rooms, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

While the lobby, bar and restaurant all have that chic London feel, the rooms most certainly don't - pokey, dark, and small beds.

However the bigger challenge is the service. All very nice and welcoming, just not very competent. Initially I was given a twin instead of the double I booked, then they rectified that by putting me into a room that barely had room for the double but literally no natural light, then they failed to honour the late checkout they promised, I couldn't raise anyone on the phone to help with the heavy bags (that have to be carried down a flight of stairs), and they completely forgot to book my car to the airport meaning it was all a last minute panic. Hardly what you expect from a 5 star hotel experience.

However you can't beat the location and it's pretty reasonable value, just a shame they can't get the basics right

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am very sorry to read of your experience with us, this is by no means the usual standard of service our team deliver. Please be assured I have taken your comments into great consideration and reviewed your feedback with the relevant Managers. We will be applying this experience to team training to ensure any further disappointment is avoided. I would hope that your experience with us will not dampen any decision to visit us in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any future enquires that you may have, we hope we are able to welcome you back very soon to showcase our true potential.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,021
    954
    308
    127
    50
See reviews for
672
2,242
131
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my husband's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had afternoon high tea on arrival which was splendid! All we could eat dainty finger sandwiches, cream scones and beautiful handcrafted bite size creations. The tea served in silver teapots was poured for us by the very attentive waiting staff.
The rooms were lovely, the receptionist was happy to move us to a room with a bath at my request. Lovely soft bathrobes, slippers and luxury toiletries.
They had even put a slate decorated with a happy birthday message and mini cakes in the room.
One of the many lovely touches we will remember was the receptionist who as it was raining on our departure gave us a lovely black Royal Horseguards umbrella to take away with us.
We would happily return any time to this superb 5* hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ambivolence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Horseguards Hotel late last year. Thank you for choosing to spend such a wonderful occasion with us, we enjoy nothing more than celebrating these special times with our guests! I am thrilled to read you both enjoyed your time with us, we have an exceptional team here at the hotel, I am very proud of them all. Our aim is to ensure all guests’ needs are met to the smallest detail and to go the extra mile. Please be assured I have passed your kind comments onto the team; we do hope we are able to welcome you both back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have stayed in a number of luxury hotels including those frequented by royalty and entertainment stars. All have had luxury physical accommodations, but none have had service as attentive, friendly, welcoming and relaxed. We were put at ease at once. This was true from the front desk all the way to housekeeping. We only had four nights but would have liked to have stayed longer.

Lee T

Room Tip: We had a deluxe double room overlooking the Thames with breakfast. The breakfast was excellent. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am so pleased to read of your experience with us and I am thrilled by your kind words. I am extremely proud of the team and would like to assure you I have passed on your praise to them. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in London!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have stayed at The Royal Horseguards at least 6 times,twice this year and every year for past possibly 4 years, staying in room 712 every time,a lovely spacious room in good condition. However , after making our reservation we were telephoned the following day to be told we couldn't have room 712 but would be given a better room still with a view of the river. On arrival we were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite room 839. Room 839 is certainly no upgrade, it was a much smaller room, the bathroom window sill flooded when you showered, paint was peeling off all around the window, you could hardly shower without getting water everywhere. Yes we did have a view if the river, which was nice. It felt like we had been put up in the attic. This was not a better room as we had been told we would have and definitely not an upgrade. This is what disappoints us, but what makes me cross is being told it's an upgrade, we are not stupid, it is a lovely hotel and in a good location, maybe it's time for a change.

Room Tip: 712 good view, nice size, light and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patcastleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you faced when with us. Unfortunately due to the architecture of the building some rooms are smaller than others, however they are still considered to be an Executive room category. Please be assured I have reviewed your feedback with our Front of House team to ensure any further disappointment is avoided. Our Maintenance team have launched an investigation into the issues you have raised regarding the room you were allocated to and will be amending items immediately. We hope that your recent visit does not dampen any further decision to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any queries you may have.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend three days at the end of May / beginning June for leisure.
The Hotel is very well located and the personnel gentle and friendly.
The bedroom was spacious & with a good view over the park in front the Thames and the London Eye.
Good service in problem solving.
I would definitely highly recommend your stay there.
I will do it for sure next time again.
A.G.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, location and team. We certainly are in a wonderful location with some honourable neighbours. I am pleased to read of your satisfaction with us, please be assured I have shared your feedback with the team. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Stayed here for the first time at the weekend and my husband and I were bowled over by the wonderful character of the building, the beautiful decor, the fantastic location and the excellent staff. Only a few minutes walk from the river and a short stroll from all the attractions of Trafalgar Square, National Gallery and Covent Garden, this hotel is perfectly placed for seeing some of London's most famous attractions on foot. After a day's exploring, we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink on the hotel's comfortable and private terrace before a wonderful meal in the One Twenty One Two restaurant - can thoroughly recommend the food. We stayed in the Tower Suite. What a treat! A spiral staircase leads up from the bedroom (with the biggest and most comfortable bed I have slept in) and bathroom to a spectacular circular sitting room with amazing 180 degree views of the river, London Eye and South Bank. Throughout our stay, the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. We ended our stay with afternoon tea in the lounge with a harp playing in the background which was a perfect end to a perfect stay. Oh, and the breakfast display and selection of food was second to none. Can't wait for an excuse to go and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is at the front of the hotel overlooking the river Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJG636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am very touched by your kind words and would like to thank you for sharing your experience. The Tower Suite is a very special place, with excellent views of London especially at night. I am extremely proud of the hotel and its fantastic location; we share some wonderful heritage with our neighbours. We do have a talented team at the hotel and especially in our One Twenty One Two Restaurant. All team members will go above and beyond to ensure all guests receive a 5 star service when staying with us. I would like to assure you I have passed your feedback onto the team; they would also like to thank you for your kind praise. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with any assistance you may need, we would be more than happy to help.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here in March as part of a theatre break and I must stay it was a wonderfully well appointed and luxurious hotel very close to the theatre district and the riverside and Waterloo station. The staff were courteous and helpful. All major London attractions are at your doorstep and we really enjoyed our short break. The English breakfast was sumptuous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000R2d2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Horseguards Hotel earlier this year. I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time in London. We are in a fantastic location, surrounded by wonderful neighbours. We are also very close to some of London’s top attractions and some very helpful transport links. Our breakfast is one not to be missed, thank you for your praise. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with the team, we all hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing