We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #92 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were fortunate to stay here for two nights in July in a superior room. An excellent experience from the moment we walked through the door. The staff were courteous and professional. Our room was a good size for London and included a walk in dressing area aswell as a beautifully appointed bathroom. the communal areas and bars were luxurious with attentive staff. The breakfasts were amazing! So much choice.....my only criticism is that we did have to wait 30 mins to be seated. The location of the hotel is great with easy access to the key highlights of London. If you are looking for a luxurious weekend in London this hotel would not disappoint.

Room Tip: The superior rooms offer larger floor space and better amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staffordshirepudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel last summer. We greatly appreciate all feedback as it is very important to understand the needs and opinions of each guest that visits. I am pleased to read you were happy with the room allocated to you and that you were able to enjoy our breakfast; however I am sorry to read you had to wait 30mins for a table. Please be assured I have passed on all of your comments to the team, we would like to thank you for your kind words. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,982
    939
    302
    126
    50
See reviews for
663
2,201
129
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Royal Horseguards hotel is impressive, both inside and out. The location is perfect (though the closest tube station, Embankment, is undergoing improvements and has reduced service at the moment. Charing Cross is only 5 minutes walk away, though), five minutes walk from Trafalgar Square and half an hour walk from many theaters. We stayed there for four nights, and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Especially nice was the heated bathroom floor! The staff are wonderful and happy to help with anything, without being overly obsequious. We didn't eat at the hotel (there are so many options nearby, plus a 24 hour mini Tesco) but the wireless was fast and dependable. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are very honoured to be in the location that we are with some of the neighbours that we do! We are tucked away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to reach amazing theatres, great shops and restaurants as well as the lovely view of the river. Unfortunately Embankment station is undergoing some maintenance work but thankfully is accessible from the District and Circle lines. Please be assured I have passed your feedback onto the team, it is hugely important to know how our guests are feeling and we would like to thank you for sharing your comments. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for my 40th Bithday Celebration with my partner and all i can say is that i was blown away with the Hotel. All the staff who worked there were very polite and made us feel very welcome. The only slightly negative i have to make is that when we arrived we decided to order coffee which we waited quite some time for. But on a positive note when my partner went to pay for the coffee was told they were 'on the house' as we had waited some time for them. All in all a great stay, and we'll definately be staying at the hotel in the near future.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Essexboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing to spend such a wonderful occasion with us! I am sorry to read that you had to wait for your coffees on arrival and have passed this feedback onto the team to ensure this incident does not occur in the future. However, we are extremely pleased the team were able to turn the situation around to ensure you had a pleasant Birthday celebration with us! We do hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and the team and I would like to thank you for your feedback!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The price was right for this classy hotel. Though it is highly rated , I thought of it as an average hotel to stay in. The breakfast was good but expensive, the same can be said about the bar in the evening. I had stayed there years ago and it has been upgraded but I still rate as an average hotel priced affordable . The location is great for walks along the river.

Room Tip: Hit the Sherlock Holmes Pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel last summer. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback and taken comments into great consideration. Our team are constantly reviewing room rates and menu rates to match the quality of service and food on offer to our guests. We are extremely honoured to be in the location that we are; to be neighbours to some of London’s top attractions! We do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful overnight at the Royal Horse-guards hotel.On entering the hotel I was immediately impressed by the warm ambience,the flowers ,the candles and the beautiful perfume.We were booked in by a most efficient and helpful young man called Sasank. Our room on the 5th floor overlooked the Thames and the London Eye.The room was well equipped even down to a TV in the bathroom.We enjoyed lunch in the restaurant and a snack in the bar after we returned from the theatre.We felt extremely comfortable in this hotel and this was due in part to the wonderful staff who went out of their way to make our short stay perfect. We shall return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are very proud of our team and it is great to read of your wonderful experience with us. I have passed your kind words onto the team and especially to Sasank, they are all very thankful to hear such praise. It is our highest priority to ensure guests receive 5 star service and comfort whilst visiting. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the amenities in your room and that you were able to enjoy the restaurant and bar here at the hotel. I am very glad to read you felt extremely comfortable whilst visiting and we do hope we are able to welcome you both back very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Thats my 5th check in in this hotel since 2011, nice hotel, well located, I got a room with a balcony, with a view to the river and the london eye. After dinner I received a letter from the night manager told me that they will charge me for " cigarrete smell on the room", Im surprised because there is a lot, by a lot I mean more than 30 cigarrete butts onthe ledge of balcony.
That means, they dont care about cleaning, and they want to take money from you. I will not stay at this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel and location. We are sorry to hear your feelings regarding our Housekeeping team. Please be assured we take all feedback into great consideration and please note we have contacted you personally regarding this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel to discuss this matter further or if you have any queries. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night thanks to my employer, having admired the architecture of the hotel for many years. Despite a miserable rainy night, my mood lifted as soon as I entered the lobby. Marvellous, attentive service from the front desk. Warm, welcoming lobby area softly lit with candles and surrounded by comfy chairs. Room was small (floor 8) but what a view... the London Eye directly across the Thames and a lovely view of the Oxo Tower and St Paul's in the distance. Lots of nice Elemis freebies in the bathroom (and a TV in the bathing area!). Nice turndown service with chocolate on pillow. Bed was lovely and firm with lots of pillows. Yummy breakfast with nice choice of fruit, yoghurts and usual cooked stuff.

Nearly perfect...if I was picky I'd say room was a bit noisy (traffic and air con/heating...but I brought foam ear plugs so it was fine) and there were a few signs of wear and tear in places (woodwork in lifts, few marks on walls).

Would I stay again? Hell yes! Especially as my double room was booked the day before and was half the usual price and only a third of the rack rate. Would love to come back with my family.

Worth mentioning that nearest tube (Embankment) is shut for about six months so you'll need to come via Charing Cross if you're on the Northern line. Although Embankment on District is still open.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuttingPenToPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We do truly value feedback and it is important for us to listen to the needs of each of our guests in order to provide the best service and experience. We are honoured to be in the location that we are due to the fabulous views of the Thames and some of London’s top attractions. I am happy to read you were able to enjoy the rooms amenities and enjoyed the breakfast served. Please be assured I have passed your comments onto the team who would like to thank you for your feedback and kind words.

Please note that on January 8 2014, work to replace escalators at Embankment station have meant that Bakerloo line and Northern line trains will not stop at the station for around 10 months. The District and Circle services will not be affected by the escalator work. Please note guests wanting to travel to and from the Northern and Bakerloo lines are advised to use either Waterloo or Charing Cross which is a couple of minutes walk from the station. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#21 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#11 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing