We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #121 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We got a great deal on this hotel and treated ourselves to a 2 night pre Christmas break. From the minute I rang the hotel asking for an early check in they were so accommodating. They guaranteed our room would be ready at 1pm and also blocked a room with a queen bed rather than a double. We actually arrived at 12.00 but our room was still ready. We didnt get a room with a view, which we expected with the rate we paid, but it really didn't matter. I usually find something that I am not happy with and there was nothing- to my husband's amazement. The room was large, the bathroom beautiful with underfloor heating and it was really quiet. The whole hotel was stunning ( particularly at Christmas ) and I was stunned to find out that it is due to be refurbished as in my opinion it is perfect just as it is. The mini mince pies on the concierge desk were the best I have ever tasted- seriously. The position of the hotel is perfect- 5 minutes walk to Trafalgar square 2 mins to Embankment tube ( direct line to Paddington) and just across the bridge from the London eye. Breakfast was delicious and we had a meal from room service which was also really nice and promptly delivered. I am already checking for deals to go back in December 2014 so if any management read this review,please contact me and give me a heads up if any deals are on the cards as I can't wait to return!! It beats most of the luxury hotels I stayed in in California b a mile. Loved it and have recommended it to all my friends!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is delightful to read such wonderful comments regarding out hotel and team. It is our highest priority to ensure all guests are well looked after and comfortable. We are very proud of our hotel, but you are correct, we are planning a design refurbishment, we hope you will be able to come back to see us once fully refurbished! The location of the hotel is very helpful to all of our guests, especially with the great transport links and being surrounded by some of London’s top attractions. I have passed your comments onto the team; they would like to thank you for such kind feedback. May we kindly ask you to please contact the hotel further for information regarding December 2014 where we will be able to accommodate your request. We do hope to welcome you both back very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,810 - 2,816 of 4,920 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at The Royal Horseguards in Dec 2013. Can't praise this hotel enough. From the staff down to how the hotel had been decorated for Christmas - everything was excellent. Can't wait to book again for Dec 2014. We usually stay at The Athenaeum, but fancied a change. We now have a new favourite London Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is delightful to read your kind words; we are thrilled that your stay with us was excellent. Please be assured I have passed your comments onto our team, they are very thankful to receive such great feedback. We are honoured to read we are your new favourite London Hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you both back later this year.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was good since it was located within walking distance of many attractions and a tube station. The hotel room we were in smelled a bit funky but other than that the room was excellent with a great view. The hotel bar is fantastic as well as the breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyride0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are very lucky to be in the location we are, to be so close to some of London’s main attractions and great transport links is very helpful to most of our guests. We are sorry to read that there was a smell in your room; I have passed your comment onto our Housekeeping team to investigate. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel bar and the breakfast. Our team are very grateful for your feedback and thank you. We do hope to welcome you all back in the near future and show you what The Royal Horseguards Hotel is really capable of.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel rooms are quite spacious for a European city, though the bathroom wass a touch small. (The towel warmer and heated floors of the bathroom were especially appreciated!) The bed was a king, and very comfortable. Free & fast wifi. The service was helpful with directions, luggage. The hotel is quite close to the Embankment tube stop, which made getting around London quite easy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent experience at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are delighted to read you were happy with the room allocated to you, we are sorry to read you felt the bathroom was a touch small, due to the nature of the hotels architecture we have tried to utilise the space as best we can. We are extremely glad you were pleased with the amenities of the room and hotel. It is a great location to be in as we are very close to useful transport links and some of London’s top attractions! We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked this hotel on the advanced rate and thought it was very good value for money considering the standard of hotel and location. The hotel is in easy reach of many major attractions, in a very nice area and is next to a tube station so perfect for sightseeing and shopping.

We had a river view room, on the small side but very adequate for a 2 night stay, and all the extras of a 5 star hotel which made the hotel a very enjoyable experience.

We didn't have breakfast but I had afternoon tea which was lovely whilst my husband ate off the bar menu, the staff dealt with our requests with easy and nothing was a problem. The food was fresh and tasty, the afternoon tea a real treat!

Will stay again when we return to london.

Room Tip: A river facing room - for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easily_pleased022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is great to read our hotel and staff delivered the high standard of service we strive to achieve. We are very proud of our team and please be assured I have passed on your kind comments, in which they are very grateful to hear. We are glad to read you were able to experience our Afternoon Tea at the hotel and I have passed your comments onto our Executive Head Chef. We are very lucky to be in the location that we were; with great transport links and neighbours to some of London’s top attractions! We do hope we are able to welcome you both back to the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

So close to embankment tube station extremely easy to find in a great location.

Service was very poor the staff appeared to be irritatingly poorly trained and not what is expected of a 5 star hotel.

Service staff in the bar whilst friendly didn't really know how to treat customers or very much about the products they were selling.

Overall they stay was disappointing and encourage us to spend as much time as possible out of the hotel.

The breakfast room with its leaking roof was also extremely poor given it appeared to be a cronic problem due to the level of water staining on both the roof and carpet.

The lady hosting the breakfast room also looked irritated at the fact the 6 of us would like to sit together for breakfast which was obviously very inconvenient for her.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms had good size beds etc. people in our group did complain about their rooms on the 8t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is upsetting to hear of your dissatisfying experience regarding our team and would like to sincerely apologise. This is most certainly not the standard of service we wish to aspire in a 5 star hotel and have taken your comments into great consideration. We will use your feedback for training purposes to ensure these incidents do not occur for any of our other guests in the future.

Unfortunately due to the age of the building we do suffer from leaks when there is bad weather conditions, but we would like to again sincerely apologise for this effecting your experience with us, please be assured we have immediately stated an investigation on the leak mentioned.

We do also hope that the disappointment caused from this experience will not dampen any decisions to visit us in the future. We do truly value feedback and it is important for us to listen to the needs of each of our guests in order to provide the best service and experience.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I booked the royal horseguards as a romantic break for my girlfriend and I. Having passed the building hundreds of times on days out and walking to work, I was enchanted by its architecture and stature on the Thames.

Upon my arrival the staff were very efficient and friendly and were helpful with addressing my requirements...champagne and chocolates in the room.

The room was superb; a view of the Thames, the City of London and the Eye. The bed was luxurious and the features and furniture were tasteful and functional. My only concern was the window frames had taken a battering over the years; meaning the windows had small gaps around the edge.

The TV in the bathroom was just the icing on the cake.

It was definitely the best place to propose...and she said Yes!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lurch2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review regarding your visit The Royal Horseguards Hotel.

May we take this opportunity to congratulate you both! Thank you for choosing to spend such a wonderful occasion with us.

We are thrilled to read our team delivered a high standard of service and met your requests efficiently. We are very proud of the building and the history to go along with it. Please be assured I have passed your comments along to the team, they would like to thank you for your kind words.

We are currently undergoing a design refurbishment and our teams will be looking into every detail of the hotel, including the window frames. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope we are able to welcome you both back in the near future!

Kindest Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,208 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#55 of 1,081 in London
3,412 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $273 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing