We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #115 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel which appear to have recently been refurbished on the ground floor.. It is in a great location within walking distance of Charing Cross Embankment and Trafalgar square. Bathrooms are very spacious with shower and bath facilities.When we arrived we received avery warm welcome and staff could not do enough to make our stay pleasant. The only issue we had was the restaurant was fully booked all weekend so we were unable to dine in the hotel which was disappointing given we had paid full board so pre book a table if staying the weekend. Breakfast was excellent with great choice and continually replaced with fresh hot buffet. A great stay with very traditional and comfortable rooms

Room Tip: Ask for high floor over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are extremely happy to read that your stay was pleasant and that the team were at hand to help with anything you required. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to dine for dinner in the hotel, unfortunately this time of year is one of our most popular times for restaurant reservations and we do try our utmost best to accommodate all guests. However, we are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the Breakfast!
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future, thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,117
    1,001
    330
    137
    55
See reviews for
709
2,324
139
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We used the Royal Horseguards having previously stayed at the Westbury when in town; took a river view and this gave a much better feel of being in the real London; great position for galleries and river trips

Room Tip: Choose a river view executive but ensure you check the wardrobe space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are extremely happy to hear of your relaxing stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are lucky to have one of the best views in London and are in an amazing position for river trips, galleries and lots of other top London attractions. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is absolutely superb, from the staff when you first arrive to the food.

Didn't stay overnight, but went there for our works Christmas lunch, and it was lovely. Staff very attentive, food delicious and the surroundings very elegant.

Good area of London as well, near Charing Cross etc., and surprisingly quiet!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review about your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel for you works Christmas Lunch. It is delightful to read how much you enjoyed yourself. We are very proud of the hotel, our team and the food served as guests are our highest priority and we are happy to hear we fulfilled our duties. Please be assured I have passed on your kind comments to the team and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked The Royal Horseguards to stay following a celebration meal and were not disappointed.

On arrival we were informed we had been allocated a room with a river view but this was a smaller room. If we wished to change for a larger room with an internal view that was possible. The room was a bit small (and a 'double bed' seems very small when used to Kingsize and bigger) but it was worth it for the view! We looked across the river to the London Eye. The whole of the river bank was lit up with Christmas Market - made you feel very festive.

Staff couldn't do enough for us. The Concierge stood in the rain hailing a cab for us whilst we waited in the dry.

Breakfast was buffet style but beautifully presented and delicious - just what was needed after one or two drinks the night before!

The late checkout (12 noon) enabled my partner to undertake the necessary work prior to his meeting. Complimentary WFi of course! I was off shopping!

At reception there were always lovely tasty morsels! Stollen Tuesday and 'the best mince pies ever!' On Wednesday!

We will definitely return next time we are in staying in Town.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is wonderful to know our team made your stay lovely, it is our highest priority to ensure your stay is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. The view from the rooms across the Thames is one to shout about, especially at night with all the lights! We are very proud of the food served in the hotel, our Chefs work extremely hard to master the delights served to the guests. It is an honour to read you will be visiting us again next time you’re in town; we look forward to welcoming you!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very pleasant hotel - they gave us a room upgrade but sadly no view. But no matter for the price we paid (£150 - no breakfast) it was vastly superior to the Premier Inn that I COULD have booked for £20 more a night!!!!

Everything from check-in (at dead on 12 noon - a room was ready) was good - from the moment we approached the door - to the minute we left the hotel - warm - friendly - good facilities - including a TV in the bathroom (fun to watch the news while soaking in bath!).

This is clearly a hotel for the "local" workers - I am sure there are plenty of civil servants and business people among the "well-heeled" who use this hotel but as "sight-seeers" we were not made to feel out of place.

We didnt have the breakfast - didnt book because i wanted to see how I felt in the morning - as it was this was the one thing for me that let the hotel down - advertised at £29 per head!!!! That's a lot of breakfast - in fact a small African nations national debt for two people... so I think they need to do something about this for guests - maybe they fill it up with peeps from outside... don't know... but very expensive for us all the same... we found a great local cafe/restaurant nearby for breakfast at £10 for two!!!! :-)

This hotel had all the normal luxuries you associate with this level for the given room - nice bathrobes - good quality soaps and bathroom toiletries - slippers - good flatscreen TV - and EXPENSIVE mini bar (£4 for small bottle of water!!!). - hence the 4 not five 5

All in all - good for the money - but avoid the breakfast unless somebody else is paying!!!!! :-) too expensive even for London if it's your own money - unless of course you own one of the Porsche cars parked outside!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherofthechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are pleased to read you had a pleasant stay, found the hotel warm and friendly and enjoyed the amenities in the room. We feel we are in a lovely location for sightseers as we are near some of the huge tourist attractions in London, we do hope you got to visit all the things you desired to see! I have passed on your comments regarding the price of the breakfast and mini bar to our Executive Head Chef; we take all comments into consideration as our guest’s comments are very important to us. We very much hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We arrived 5 hours early and were a bit hesitant about checking in, but as we pulled up outside of the Horseguards the doorman who opened our door and took our bags insisted it would not be a problem, setting the tone for a great experience throughout. We didn't think service could get any better than the Savoy but were knocked out by the staff here.

We got to reception to be told that our room was ready and that we had actually been upgraded from the executive river view room to the Waterloo Suite overlooking the river. The suite was incredible as big as an apartment with living room, separate dressing room, bedroom and a bathroom as big as most hotel rooms in London featuring double shower and roll top bath. One thing to remember when booking here is to get a river view it is definitely worth the little bit extra that you pay, the view we had overlooked the London eye and The Shard, Southbank etc and was spectacular. We had a quick bite to eat in the bar and a cocktail again service was great and food although tiny in quantity was fantastic taste wise.

A special mention to the doorman i did not catch his name but he was incredibly generous with his time and knowledge of the area (parking in particular) and nothing was ever too much trouble he even bought our bags about 5 minutes walk away from the hotel to our car, he is the first person that you will see and sets the tone for the whole place.

We had a great time here with the only downside being that we had to leave so soon. Definitely a five star hotel with five star service.

Room Tip: Waterloo Suite (room 914) cannot be beaten but any river view room I would imagine is worth booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is great to hear you had such a fantastic time from start to finish, we are very proud of our staff and our high level of service. It is our main priority as a team to ensure our guests have a wonderful visit and to make you as comfortable as we possibly can. The knowledge the staff have regarding the surrounding areas is phenomenal and they work very hard to keep up to date on what is happening around them. Please be assured I have passed on your comments to the team in which they are very thankful for your kind words. We would be extremely honoured to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Visited this hotel a couple of times for corporate events, one of which was an overnight stay. We had a reception in the Cellar which was an unusual venue for that sort of thing and one of the staff gave us a talk about how it was used during the wars - fascinating. Also had some food and drink in the outside Terrace bar - very tasty and a lovely setting!
The room I stayed in was on one of the high floors overlooking the Thames, with a great view of the London Eye. One of the most comfy beds I've ever slept in - shame I had to get up early and go back to work!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rubia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted to read such kind words about our establishment. The Cellar is one of my favourite places in the hotel and the history to go with it, I agree, is just fascinating. Our Terrace bar is a great setting for enjoying our food and drink, we are extremely happy you enjoyed yourself. The view of the Thames and the London eye is hard to beat, especially at night! We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards

Riddian Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,788 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,069 in London
2,522 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,069 in London
4,016 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing