We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event Enhancement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #118 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Chose this hotel as near to a charity event we were attending in London. Very pleasantly surprised and quality service provided throughout, from checking in to the impressive concierge who was a pleasure to deal with as we left. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thankyou very much for such a great feedback regarding your recent stayat The Royal HorseguardsHotel. Like you said our location is just incredible and we are extremely fortunate to be based so centrally.
kind regards
Michael Masaba
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,805 - 2,811 of 4,782 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent hotel that is old, but well maintained and the service is impeccable. A bit pricey and but you expect that for the level of service. It is close to many attractions like the Parliament House, Trafalgar Square, Picadilly. Also handy to the Embankment station. Went for runs by the Thames too in the morning which was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thankyou for taking time to write a wonderful review following your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards. Like you said our location is just incredible and we are extremely fortunate to be based so centrally.i hope we shall the pleasure of welcoming you back at THe Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future
kind regards
MIchael Masaba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb to a lot of main attractions in London, all of which is in walking distance from the hotel. The hotel itself is very comfortable with spacious rooms which cater for every need, our room's view however was not the best looking onto the courtyard and back of other rooms. The breakfast at the hotel is lovely with friendly and helpful staff ensuring you are always comfortable. I will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms with a view of the 'court yard' which looks onto drain pipes and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armand d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Great reviews like these make us so proud and happy to be part of The Royal Horseguards team.

It is wonderful to read that based on this experience, you can understand why people choose to return to us. I think the charm of the hotel, is not only the beautiful building itself but the relaxed, welcoming and friendly atmosphere within. All the staff truly care about that they do and I think our guests can feel this.

Our breakfast as you mentioned, has a multitude of different choices and is the perfect way to start a day. As many of our guests mention, our location means that you can just step outside the door right into the heart of the city.

We will look forward to your next visit with us and hope it will not be to long before you are back.

Kind regards,

Shane Van Sanden
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently stayed at Royal Horseguards for pleasure trip with my wife. We had a very nice room with view of the Thames. Concierge was helpful with dinner reservations and information. Room was very spacious - also had one american plug "pre-wired" so did not need a converter.
Did not realize breakfast was included, so we did not eat in the restaurant. Bar/Lounge area was very comfortable for a late afternoon or late evening snack/drink. Thought the location was ideal. Out of the "fray" of busy streets, but walking distance to everything we needed - restaurants, sites, Tube, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MstrBankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you will stay with us when you next visit London. I will ensure that your kind comments regarding the staff are passed on to each department.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Dena Parker
Night Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here with my sister on a deal. We asked for delux room with river view. The hotel was very nice but not 5 star to my thinking. The hotel was very grand. The architecture was great. Our room was a disappointment. We was given a double bed room which has been fine in other hotels we have stayed because the bed has always been very large. This bed however was very small, only just about a double bed. The room was small too. We did get a view though. We asked if we could be moved because the room and bed was small and was told this is what the hotel calls a double bed. Not overly helpful. We did however move the following day to a larger room with a bigger bed. Both rooms were sparse.The breakfast was good. Everything you could want from a breakfast. I had always wanted to stay
in this hotel but unfortunatly was bit disappointed. It's in a very central area for visiting all over London, so that's a big plus.

Room Tip: Don't ask for river view. Make sure you ask for larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolann236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry for that you did find our bed size was small in a deluxe double room, however how ever was happy that the reception managed to give you a River facing room, since all our river facing rooms has a very big demand. But you are quiet right about how little things make all the difference. Please be assured that we are on the case with addressing these issues.

On a positive note, I was pleased to read that you did find our breakfast was good. It was good to hear that you did find our hotel beautiful both inside and out and also you are right we are just a few meters to most of London’s attractions.

Please contact the hotel directly for your next visit to London so that we could try our very best to have your request accommodated.

Kind Regards,

Shane Van Sanden
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Royal Horseguards is a great place to stay. The location was excellent - within walking distance of everything, including parks, Thames Embankment, train stations, yet quiet at night. The rooms were beautiful and the beds wonderfully comfortable. Most of the staff we came across were great, but there were a couple who were a bit condescending in their manner (maybe that was just their European aloofness), but nothing that bothered us. The breakfast was an enjoyable buffet, and their lounge space was nice enough to while away the afternoon with a proper afternoon tea. It appears to get pretty busy with business people due to it's location so we had to wait a few minutes for a table for breakfast, but again that was nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJCJTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and found the team friendly and helpful during your time with us.
We are indeed located in a fabulous location and are lucky enough to have most of London on our doorstep! and I am pleased that you liked your room and the breakfast and lounge service. I will pass your comments on to the department managers who will relay them to there staff.
Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope I will we will be able to welcome you back to The Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dena Parker
Night Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. First of all, the location cannot be beat! It is within walking distance to all the usual tourist sites you will want to visit. Secondly, the hotel is lovely, with an impressive lobby and comfortable, well-appointed rooms. We had a large room with king-bed and plenty of room for our luggage and purchases. There are electronic buttons in each room for do-not-disturb notice and to summon maid-service (the maid responded almost immediately!). Third, the service was exceptionally helpful - from reception to concierge to maid. Lastly, breakfast selections were varied and abundant. We even had a pre-theater dinner which we enjoyed though the menu was limited. It was a great choice and one we will repeat in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you will stay with us when you next visit London. I will ensure that your kind comments regarding the staff are passed on to each department.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Dena Parker
Night Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,003 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,259 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#77 of 1,077 in London
4,299 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,000 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $245 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing