We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude bellhop, rude concierge, worst manager I have ever met”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #114 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude bellhop, rude concierge, worst manager I have ever met”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was really excited about this hotel until I got there. Bellhop did not thank us for tip, no smile, not pleasant at all. Concierge tried to direct us to a pastry shop that did not exist and then treated like we were stupid when we return to get additional directions. We asked locals on this 2 block street and they had no idea what we were talking about. The hotel lost power on the third floor and blew out our noise machine. The next morning the night
manager said that the power never went out on the third floor after a member of the staff said that he had talk to him the night it happened. He said we lied and gave us $18 for a $125 broken noise machine. We had a train to catch and were unable to continue with this conversation. Also we booked a room that had a river view. Our room had no view of the river nor could it ever have. There were trees, a garden, then a street before u reached the river. Please do not book this hotel. I don't want any one else to spend this kind of money and get such poor service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler31480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to write your review with regards to your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel.I do apologise for the inconvenience you had . We shall investigate as to what happened. We look forwards to welcoming you back at THe Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future
kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,123
    1,001
    330
    137
    55
See reviews for
709
2,328
140
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Whitehall Court is a very quiet street (for London) and our room that overlooked this street had no perceptible street noise.
The staff were generally very professional and pleasant to deal with.
The room overall was very comfortable.
The location is just a few yards from the Embankment tube station and only a couple of hundred yards from Trafalgar Square and another couple of hundred yards from the Covent Garden area with all its restaurants and other amenities.
The only niggle was from noise transmitted down from the gym on the 8th floor. Maybe better anti-vibration padding under the equipment would quickly solve the problem.

Room Tip: Avoid room 702 under the gym. The executive rooms are spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thankyou for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please accept my apologies my apologies for the issues you experinced with the gym above 702 . We shall investigate . in the meantime we look forwards to welcoming you back at THe Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future
kind regards
Michael Masaba
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a huge splurge for us-2 girlfriends traveling abroad. It was worth every penny! Stayed 2 nights first week of September. In short, we booked a room 1 year out-asked for the 8th floor, and got a nice executive King room. The room is pretty small by American standards, but it had everything. Docking station, heated floors, all the bathroom amenties (still small), a bed (plenty big king) that was beyond comfortable! It was quiet, and of course the creme dela creme is, was, and will always be that view... We returned to our room both nights staying up toasting this premium London skyline view. The Embankment tube is very close, there is market availability within a very short stroll, the park below the hotel has a fun ping pong table, and benches all about. We walked across the well lit Hungerford Bridge at night and felt quite safe. These rooms afford 2 glass front doors that regrettably only open about 4 inches!
Breakfast very pricey-but classy. Do it once, then opt for another option. Maybe roomservice? The staff most accommodating.

Room Tip: Get above those trees and get your moneys worth. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thankyou very much for such a great feedback regarding your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We look forwards to seeing you again at THe Royal Horseguards
kind regards
Michael Masaba
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at The Royal Horseguards on my birthday on October 1, and all I can say it was very good, from the complimentary bottle of wine and cakes in our room on arrival to the the excellent breakfast in the morning. The staff were also excellent!!! Our room over looked the Thames on the seventh floor again perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djc011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to give us such a good feedback regarding your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Its our priority to ensure that all our guests have a good time whilst staying with us. We look forwards to welcoming you to THe Royal Horseguards in thenear future
ikind regards
MIchael Masaba
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location for London stay and great facilities to make our stay very pleasant. TV in the bath was very relaxing! Breakfast was well cooked which set us up nicely for our shopping. Would definitely love to go back to this well presented hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob43210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us! Like you said our location is just incredible and we are extremely fortunate to be based so centrally.
I was delighted to read your comments about your room. It's a priority of ours to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay at all times and I am pleased we were able to achieve this on this occasion
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next time in London

Kind regards,
Dena Parker
Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

There were lots of Aussies staying at this hotel - felt like old home week! The staff are lovely - the amenities in the reception, lounge and casual dining (including afternoon tea) are very nicely and plushly done. Breakfast was the usual buffet but just fine. Rooms were nice, we were in a deluxe room, one up from standard - so would probably say book a deluxe, as you would not want anything lesser than we had, might be very small. Great bathrooms. Perfectly positioned, we walked very easily to No 10 Downing St, Westminster Abbey and surrounds, including Houses if Parliament which are magnificent, Trafalgar square was just a few minutes away, not much further the London Eye, Portrait Gallery - lots of restaurants and coffee spots right near you if you want casual dining - and lots of restaurants just a 10 minute walk away if you want to go into an upmarket theatre area - we also took a bus to Harrods, just one bus from the Charing Cross station area, so everything was very close and very accessible. A really good location - St James park was just a few minutes away too - squirrels, lovely ducks and birds and of course it leads to Buckingham Palace - it was perfect really as a location, easy to get a taxi and remember to stick your head around the corner from reception and check out the stair case for the Liberal Club next door, very special.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room, it was just lovely, but we stayed in two rooms coming into London, then we tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WizardCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am delighted to read this fantastic review regarding your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel I know that the entire team will be so proud to hear that the service they provided was most appreciated.
We are indeed located in a fabulous location and are lucky enough to have most of London on our doorstep! I am pleased that you liked your room and that you made use of the little extra touches, which we provide as a minimum standard in all our rooms.
Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope I will we will be able to welcome you back to The Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dena Parker
Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Horseguards for one night for a birthday trip to London for a show. The hotel is a beautiful building right on the Thames, location-wise perfect. In walking distance to all the tourist-sights and literally seconds from a tube station. The hotel inside is fantastic. Lobby is clean, and beautifully kept. The staff that we came across we all polite and friendly and always spoke to say good morning/afternoon. Our room, on the 8th floor, was lovely. Very spacious, lovely comfy bed, and all very modern, though still tasteful. Complimentary robes and slippers were a hit, and I have never stayed anywhere with such big towels! Bathroom was clean and tidy, with a choice of shower or bath. TV above the bath as well, with controls in the main room for the speakers (proved a hit with the hubby!). Turn-down service was a welcome surprise. No view, but we weren't there to look out the window. Breakfast was lovely, again great service and lovely food. I would recommend the hotel In a heartbeat if it fits your budget, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayless1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review with regards to your recent stay with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel, and once again congratulations for your birthday.
We are indeed located in a fabulous location and are lucky enough to have most of London on our doorstep! I am pleased that you liked your room and that you made use of the little extra touches, which we provide as a minimum standard in all our rooms.
We hope that we will be able to welcome both you and your husband back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Dena Parker
Night manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,802 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,069 in London
2,525 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,069 in London
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,069 in London
4,022 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing