We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Horseguards
Nearby Hotels
$377
$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$292
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$224
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$309
$239
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$159
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,996)
Filter reviews
4,996 results
Traveler rating
3,343
1,088
353
148
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,343
1,088
353
148
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslondon eyeembankment tube stationtrafalgar squareriver viewroyal horse guardsequus barheated floorsdowning streetbig benafternoon teaheated towel rackunderfloor heatingbeautiful hotelcharing crossstar hotelcovent gardenturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
3,198 - 3,203 of 4,996 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is a rare gem in London. The location is great; only one block from the Embankment tube station, 3 blocks from Trafalgar Square, 3 blocks to the houses of parliament, Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey. Southbank is right across the bridge with the Eye and other great attractions. The rooms are big enough with very nice bathrooms, linens and comfortable beds. The tea downstairs is quite nice as are the concierge staff who know everything...

The final benefit is the cost - this place is quite reasonably priced and may be the best buy this close in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Thames.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatordant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

I was so pleased to hear that you chose us as your first stop on your European adventure; I know the whole team will be extremely proud to read your kind comments in particular the Concierge and Restaurant teams.

As you said our location is fantastic and makes it so easy to be able to explore London on foot, and as you mentioned our prices are quite reasonable and you should keep an eye on our web site with regards to your next stay

We look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here 3 times before when it was 4 star.
Now 5 star the hotel of course couldn't be better placed , we were upgraded to a Thames view executive room because of a special birthday and the room was splendid with everything you could wish there.
A family trip so we had three rooms.
A few quibbles though.
On one day our room wasn't serviced , a paper wasn't delivered on two mornings out of three and the breakfast service was at best poor .
Understaffed , unsmiling , tables not cleared , orders forgotten and mixed up on the two mornings we had breakfast.
Food was fine but where was the restaurant manager ?
A 4 Star Menorca Hotel last month could offer some helpful advice on customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: In summer if you go for a more expensive Thames side room , you need at least a 6th floor room to see over the trees outside.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPalmer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a great 2 night stay at the beautiful Royal Horseguards Hotel. I chose this hotel for a short stay to celebrate my Mum's birthday as it was within walking distance of the Queens Theatre (where we enjoyed a fabulous production of Les Miserables), shops and has a lovely position right on the embankment. We asked for a twin room with a view and that's exactly what we got. Room 120 was at the end of the corridor on the 1st floor and had a lovely outlook to the gardens and river beyond. The room was beautifully furnished, with very comfortable beds and also had TV in the bathroom. The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower and lots of lovely toiletries. Breakfast was help yourself and plentiful but it did take a little time to get a table in the morning but I suppose this is to be expected in a large hotel when everyone appears for breakfast at the same time! We visited during the hottest weekend of the year with outside temperatures if 30ºC+ but thankfully the room had wonderful climate control, ensuring that it was always lovely and cool! Would highly recommend and we will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet twin room with a view and room 120 on the first floor was exactly that, with views to the gardens and river beyond. It also looked to be more spacious than some of the other rooms and was very comfortable. Climate control in the bedroom kept us really cool during the hottest weekend of the year and it was also very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I am delighted to read this fantastic review regarding your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I know our location is just great if you are here to visit the sights of London town and I know that the entire team will be so proud to hear that the service they provided was most helpful. We do try to match the needs of our guests with our rooms and I am glad that the team was able to accommodate your request.

We have worked hard to make sure that we have thought of all the little details that a guest may need while staying with us, and it is great when they are appreciated.

The river view rooms are highly recommended and offer some of the best views across the river. So the next time you are planning to come back, why not treat yourselves to one of the most iconic views of London again!

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location is superb -- within a short walk to major tourist sites and the Embankment tube station. We splurged for king suite with river view. The view of the Thames River and London Eye were spectacular as expected. What we didn't expect was the sewage-like odor emanating from the air conditioning unit. We were dead tied from an overnight flight and managed to sleep through it the first night. We pointed out the odor in the morning to the front desk staff who said they would look into it. The odor was greatly reduced the second night, but still lingered in the room. Further we were offered no apology or compensation (eg, a drink at the bar) for our inconvenience -- not what you would expect from a property that bills itself as a 5 star luxury hotel and charges 500 GBP per night. The breakfast was adequate, but lacked the range of menu options typically found in an international 5 star hotel. The doormen and porters were very helpful and courteous. Overall, we enjoyed our stay -- primarily due to the location and view, which can also be found at the Corinthian hotel next door.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank C_Hedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, it is comments such as this that enables us to continuously improve the level of service that we offer our guests.

I was concerned to read about the issues you experienced during your stay, as we try our best to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible. Whilst as you said our location is right in the centre of London,

Please be informed that I have communicated your comments to my Hotel Manager whom joins me in apologising for the bad odour where you had experience in your room and also for the lapse in service for not making it right at the time.

I have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef who is in charge of the food and beverage areas in the hotel. We appreciate constructive criticism as it provides us with the opportunity to review and improve these areas.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again, so we can prove that we are capable of delivering the 5 star service you quiet rightly expected.

Kind regards,

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Impeccable service, convenient location, superb furnishings - an overall excellent experience.
Guoman have achieved a standard of excellent not easily matched worldwide. Thistle included also. An executive room adds to the pleasure - an upgrade can cost £60 to £120 - probably worthwhile.

Room Tip: Go high overlooking river - 7th floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

It was great to read that we helped to make your time in London an enjoyable one and that you especially enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky with our fantastic location and our staff work hard in every department to make sure you get the 5* treatment you deserve.

Our executive rooms are very spacious and as you say worth the little extra. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon for another visit.

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews