We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #119 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is really at the heart of London and you can reach a lot of places by walk!
Hotel room is nice and tidy. Especially I loved the heated bathroom floor.

It's pricey but I was told it's not too much considering the general price level of hotels in London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaesooKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you particularly enjoyed our fantastic location and used it as an opportunity to explore London on foot.

Please do check our website for some fantastic offers for the next time you come to stay with us, we do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,094 - 3,100 of 4,824 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. The setting is fantastic in this historic building by the river Thames and the location is perfect for theatres and the sights of central London.
The staff were all extremely helpful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was spacious and had all the extras one would expect of a hotel of this calibre.
We had a wonderful nights sleep in very comfortable beds and it was a nice touch to have them turned down with slippers by the side when we returned from the theatre. The shower was really powerful and the toiletries provided smelt lovely!
It certainly isn't a cheap price, but if you are celebrating an occasion or just want to spoil yourselves, The Royal Horseguards is the place to go. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memberiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I know that the staff take great pleasure in reading comments such as your own and I will ensure that it is shared with the entire team.

I was very pleased to hear that you found all of the staff to be extremely helpful, welcoming and that nothing was too much trouble for them. It is small touches like the slippers being placed next to the bed during the evening turndown service that we know our guests particularly appreciate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your new place to go when visiting London!

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed at the royal horseguards for 3 nights in may and we love it. It was a good location, the staff was very helpful and the hotel facilities are very good.. the only issue we had was the shower its very bad.

Room Tip: ask about the shower....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

I was very pleased to read that you loved your stay with us in May. As you said our location is fantastic and means that you can enjoy the hustle and bustle of London whilst still having somewhere quiet and relaxing to return to in the evening. I was concerned to read your comments in regards to the shower and can only hope that you mentioned this during your stay in order to give us the opportunity to rectify this.

I know our team will really appreciate your comments regarding the excellent service and the fact you found the facilities very good.

We really hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

London was a first stop on a two week European trip with my daughters. Great way to start at the Royal Horseguards. Located right on the Thames in the Parliament District, it was easy walking to multiple sites like Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Trafalgar Square and a quick walk over the bridge to the Waterloo Station for the train to Windsor Castle. Also, quick access to the Underground.

The hotel staff is wonderful, the concierges were very helpful, and we had breakfast included which was superb, and the way to go. And, the rooms were very nice.

I would not hesitate in returning, and hope to one day.

Room Tip: We were in room #114 which was incredible. It overlooked the park and the Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

I was so pleased to hear that you chose us as your first stop on your European adventure; I know the whole team will be extremely proud to read your kind comments in particular the Concierge and Restaurant teams.

As you said our location is fantastic and makes it so easy to be able to explore London on foot, and it sounds like you really did make the most of it.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.
Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We previously stayed here in 2011, and loved it. This time was just as good, in fact we had a view from the bathroom. The staff were so helpful, the hotel lounge was very welcoming, and the room was the same high standard we remembered. This time our package included the evening meals, and it was superb! The stylish presentation and unique and wonderful flavours just amazed us. We were not disappointed by anything, except having to leave. Congratulations to management for maintaining an oasis of calm and luxury in the midst of the hustle and bustle of london.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pondy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review, I was so pleased to hear that your stay this time was even better than that of your last stay in 2011!

It is an absolute pleasure for me to be able to share your kind comments with the entire team and they take great pleasure in knowing that they have helped to create such a memorable experience for our guests. I know that our Kitchen team will be extremely pleased to hear that you found the dinner to be superb and the presentation stylish as they work extremely hard in order to create a seasonal menu to suit all tastes.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the Horseguards in April this year. Apart from it's excellent location only a couple of minutes walk from Whitehall with good links to transport too (Charing Cross station and Embankment are close by) we found it to be a warm, friendly and welcoming place with attentive and courteous staff. Our standard room was perfectly acceptable for a 2 night stay with tasteful and stylish decor and first class amenities. You could even watch TV as you reclined in the bath if you so wished. The breakfast was outstanding and made a good start to each day. There was a large selection to choose from at the buffet and the chefs would cook up dishes to order as well.The smallest issue was no trouble for the Concierge such as getting my iPad to access the WiFi (free WiFi is available throughout the hotel for guests). The staff also assisted us on the day of our departure which coincided with the running of the London Marathon. All the roads surrounding the hotel were closed off to traffic in the morning and we needed to get to Heathrow with heavy luggage so we greatly appreciated the staff's efforts in locating a taxi for us using their local contacts. Would definitely stay here again and am happy to recommend the hotel to others too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review from your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you found your couple of nights staying with us to be warm, welcoming and full of welcoming staff to help you make the most of your stay. I was glad to hear that you felt the room was tastefully decorated and the amenities were first class, I do hope that you made the most of the TV in the bath as unfortunately most of us do not have these in our homes!

I will ensure that your kind comments are shared with all the departments and in particular with the Concierge and Restaurant teams who you highlighted in your comments for the exceptional service they offered.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had a great experience by choosing this hotel.Quite pricey but well worth everything. Services were great,intimacy and view extraordinary...As well very good location...& when you are in London ,you need this.If I had to book a Hotel in London,without any kind of hesitation I will chose this one.Had a fabulous dinner too & Champagne in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exedra_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for posting such a great review following your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is reviews such as your own that is testament to the hard work of all the staff.

I was very pleased to read that you found the service to be great and the view extraordinary. Sometimes you do take for granted the incredible views that can be experienced from the centre of the city!

We are extremely honoured to be your first choice of hotel when you are staying in London and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards

Victoria Tidboald
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,063 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,296 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,077 in London
4,337 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $216 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing