We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #103 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great location!”
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed at this lovely historical hotel April 26th - 29th as our post cruise venture in London. Although, Royal Horseguards is completely refurbishing the hotels first 4 floors, it did NOT have an impact on our stay.

The hotel does look like the pictures described on the website, however, the room we were in #645 was showing need of repair in places, but, overall it was an excellent room and very clean. Our room looked just like the Deluxe room shown on the website (decor in red) with the exception we had two twin beds instead of 1 dbl bed. Including a huge bathroom that would make 2 of what we had home in the states. Also, we had an entry room where the dbl. closets were located, then a door into the actual bedroom. The room includes 2 free bottles of water (daily), coffee (instant little tube sticks), cookies, hot chocolate, tea, and a tea pot and a very fast pot that heats water so fast you don't have time to open your coffee packet..hehe. Also there is a mini-bar, but no alcohol just cokes, water, juice and nuts.

Our maid did tell us that if we come back next year we will see totally all new decor and all the updates will be completed. I guess old things do wear out, so we had no problem except for one. That was a very warm room when we checked in and it seemed the a/c wasn't working. It's very antiquated. Since the french doors do not open, we demanded they unlock them so we could get air from outside in to the room. They obliged us in doing so and it was fabulous cool air and we loved it. No need for a/c after that. As a matter of fact the reason they keep the french doors locked is, as they say, because they don't want anyone to jump off the balconies. Hummmm~

The view from our room was overlooking the Thames and it was awesome. Now don't think all the Deluxe twin rooms are as large as ours, Our friends were six doors down from us and theirs had the same view, but, a much smaller room with no sofa and no french doors, just windows and a small bathroom.

Would we stay here again? You betcha, in a heartbeat !! We were just a round the corner (5 min. walk) from Embankment tube station, ½ mile from the Parliament, Big Ben and Westminister Abbey. Trafalgar Sq. was an 8 minute walk depending on how fast you walked. Leichester Sq. was 2 mins. beyond Trafalgar and Buckingham Palace was about a mile from our hotel and a pleasant walk through St. James Park made it even more delightful.

Breakfast wasn't included in our stay this trip. However, at £17.50 GBP pp we didn't think it was worth that price. We could walk up toward Trafalgar and get a full breakfast for as little as 4.99GBPpp.

We found a great little restaurant just before you cross the street to Trafalgar called "Frankies". Its an Italian pizza place and the prices were really cheap....for GBP, that is. No it was NOT fine dining, but very cute and well worth the nostalgia of pictures all over the walls with Italian entertainers and very good menu to boot. Cute clean place. Another very nice pub is "Clarance". It's also on that same street to Trafalgar. You'll like this one.

One last thing! You must do the London Eye. Now for those that are afraid of heights, believe me my husband is one of those, he went up and said, I can't believe this did not bother me one bit. Some one asked me if each one of the cubicles swung like a ferris wheel. NO they are stationary and you can freely walk around or sit down on a bench in the middle of the cube.

Hope you take the opportunity in staying at the Royal Horseguards....next year it will be even grandeur than now. That will be hard to beat.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — noisey street below with sounds of police and ambulances constantly...not bad a night.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hipgrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,050
    972
    316
    130
    52
See reviews for
682
2,276
133
651
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sollihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We have recently stayed at The Royal Horseguards Hotel, London and just had to share our wonderful experience of this fantastic hotel! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! The Concierge were absolutely 1st class and although our room wasn't quite ready we were invited to have complimentary refreshments in the exquisite lounge bar. And it was well worth the wait as we were delighted with our room. The furnishings were very nice and the room was spotlessly clean. The bed linen, which my wife is very particular about, was of a very high standard and the bed was covered with sumptuous cushions (which were most welcoming after a tiring day of sightseeing!!).
The location of the hotel is excellent. It is a 5-10 minute walk to The Strand which was ideal as we had tickets for The Adelphi Theatre. Straight opposite just over the Thames stands The London Eye and literally just down the road stands Westminster and Big Ben (friends of ours staying in another room could even hear the chimes!!).
The only very small disappointment was that the hotel did not have a swimming pool as I had packed my speedos and my only option was to have taken a dip in the Thames!!!.
We had a fantastic weekend at The Royal Horseguards and are already planning our return trip.

  • Liked — high standard and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimlesswonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We checked into the Royal Horseguards on 9 April and out on 15 April 2008. Fast check in and they have upgraded us to a Jr suite. And it is so cool! It is in the mansard portion of the roof and the ceiling slants in places. I can look out the three rather small windows and see 1) the Thames, 2) London Eye, 3) The roof, 4) the ‘egg’ and scores of other bldgs which are all lit up at night 5) the river traffic 6) the train approach to Charing Cross with all the trains crossing it and most important, when I want to check what time it is: BIG BEN> Yes, I can see him from our window. How cool is that?

We are on the 8th floor. The room has a small alcove w/ seating area and the bathroom is all marble. The tub is skinny, not more than 3 widths of my feet, approx. 9” wide. Certainly not made for today’s girth to have a good soak in. But it is over 6 feet in length. The bed is comfy with a nice duvet. Just my kind of room. And I can get online by purchasing 5 days/2000 min from BTopenzone. The loo is right smack behind the BR door so watch your knees and hope no one opens it onto you. It has brass plates with all the buttons for lights, heat, volume ?, a PLEASE DO NOT DISTURB light that lights up in red and a PLEASE SERVICE ROOM in green, outside the door. Some of the buttons were for things from past days as there is no radio system. Also the heat wand doesn’t do anything. There is a radiator above the loo which heats the bathroom.

It has just been purchased by the Guoman chain-an upscale one- and they have begun remodeling. The room is quite large by UK standards. And it is so quiet too. It’s a bit shabby, but it will be remodeled soon. But the room is so great you don’t notice this after a few minutes.

The front desk staff is exceptional. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in London and we rate this one as the very best. Certainly will stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The awesome room and the hotel location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset england
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2008

No matter how good the rest of the services, if the bed is uncomfy and this one was very uncomfortable, then you don't go away with a very good impression.
There were other niggling issues too. No valence on the bed just a rather stained divan base, no middle to the toilet roll holder so it was kept on the floor, you could either have the mini bar or the kettle plugged in not both at the same time. In addition we booked 2 rooms and requested they be together as we were travelling with 2 children and we were given ones on different floors. The telephone was so old the buttons kept sticking making it difficult to use (although there was a second phone as an alternative) None of these latter problems were enough to make a fuss about but together with the bed issue means that we wouldn't use the hotel again.

The plus points were the great breakfasts ,helpful restaurant staff and the central location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verydry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Stayed in London for 4 nights and this hotel was very nice; big room, big bathroom, friendly front desk and amazing breakfast. Hallways were dated and smelled of smoke but our stay was pleasant and the location was amazing. It was a little pricey but relative to the season it wasn't too bad. I was having trouble dialing the US (first time trying) and the front desk was extremely helpful and ended up letting me use their phone for free. The hotel is 1 block from the Thames and 2 blocks from Trafalgar square and 1/2 block from the Tube. The breakfast was amazing! Room service was exceptional and the overall stay was very nice and would do it again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bbono001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We stayed at the Royal Horse Guards Hotel for 2 nights - Booked via Superbreaks - had special offer including theatre ticket for the Mouse trap at St. Martins Theatre. Very well located hotel- next to the Embankment Underground station. Lovely view over the Thames - although we had a room to the side street on 5th floor. But we did have a good offer which did not include special double room with river view. Neverthe less it was a pleasant stay. No complaints about cleanliness. The mattress good have been better, old and lumpy and we could have done with larger and fuller pillows! Breakfast super; buffet with everything from full english to healthy fruitsalads and different youhurts and lovely bread rolls. Some Ameicans very funny; filled their plates with enlish breakfast AND fruit salad AND cinnamon swirls -all on the same plate!!
The play "The Mouse trap" was superb , the theatre is lovely, built in 1907. Beautiful decor, all in wood. Very small and cosy - you got the feeling of being sat in your own livingroom having your own private performance. Good story and good actors.
All in all a very pleasant stay 3 days stay.
By the way, had lovely food at Bertorelli's Restaurant in St Martins Lane after the theatre. Also visited Gordon Ramsey's Boxwood Cafe -beautiful food, so well cooked and the taste was out of this world. Had to book the table 3 weeks in advance though. Restaurant bill for 2 persons £120.00, but worth every penny! Anna in Wales

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing really to dislike
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hallonlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

A birthday surprise from our daughter led to an experience not to be forgotten. On arrival at this elegant hotel the most courteous welcome. Our room, overlooking the river on the 7th floor, simply took our breath away - the room was spacious and elegant and although the decor was just a little tired we have to admit we didn't really notice once we'd walked through to the window and caught sight of the amazing view. Wow - the river, the London Eye, bridges, barges, the buzz of the embankment and finally the city and St Pauls Cathedral in the distance - awesome! And at night when it's all lit up ..... well wow again. The hotel is being refurbished this year floor by floor and when it's all completed it 'll be gorgeous. We dined in the hotel - breakfast was great. Dinner was unhurried and the food was sensational and once again, service to die for - over us like a rash but discreet when necessary! Professionals - what joy! We were made to feel very special. Been to many hotels in London but this one's the creme de la creme. Top of our list for sure. Go - you won't be disappointed, oh, and pay the extra for a river view - draggng yourself away from the window every morning and evening will be tough but guess what? the room service is pretty good too! Enjoy! We certainly did! :- )

Helpful?
Thank Wardie356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,882 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing