We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #99 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Splendid Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Royal Horseguards hotel. The reception staff were very supportive and friendly when we encountered a problem with the lighting in the bathroom of our room. They tried to fix the light at first, whilst we waited with complimentary drinks in the bar. When this was unsuccessful we were taken on a tour of the hotel and current available rooms. We were then able to choose a room we liked at no extra cost, which we thought was wonderful.

The hotel itself is grand with modern contempoary decor and immaculate cleanliness. It has a pleasant modern bar with reasonably priced soft drinks, however alchohol was pretty expensive. The room had a whole host of facilities, including ironing boards, a safe and even a TV in the shower! The views from the room of the London eye were the best I've ever seen in a hotel room. The beds were very comfortable and I had a great night sleep because the hotel was so quiet. Room service was also very prompt.

The hotel is 2 mins walk from Embankment station so provides the perfect spot to explore all the main sites of London. Big sites like Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament and London Eye all within walking distance. Overall, I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff really made the experience, they couldn't do enough to solve our problems and it was lovely to be treated so well.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the Thames have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,021
    954
    308
    127
    50
See reviews for
672
2,242
131
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We based ourselves here for four nights whilst in London. We had a large room overlooking the Thames. We received everything we would expect from a five star hotel.

- location: close walk to Trafalgar Square, restaurants, Thames & subway,
- comfortable bed
- quiet rooms
- large luxurious bathroom & amenities
- service. They bought us an ice bucket in record time :)
- large room with ample chairs to have a chat with friends
- the restaurant was brilliant - couldn't fault the service or wine list

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for such great comments. The location is fantastic, as you say we are close to all that London has to offer. Its such a joy to read that you loved your room, the hotel itself and all we have to offer our guests. The Restaurant and Room Service teams will enjoyed reading this review, as did all the staff at the hotel, myself included.

We can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked through a secret deal and stayed for four nights. Had a lovely room with separate bath and shower cubicle but with no view, which we knew about as we hadn't paid for an upgraded view. However, the room was large and very well appointed so we we were very happy with it. We had an issue with noise from the bathroom fan but this was sorted.
My husband and I love history and found it a real treat to stay in such an historic building, it had housed the secret service on one floor during the first world war! Although it obviously has all the modern conveniences you'd expect from a hotel of this standard it didn't take too much imagination to picture the likes of Winston Churchill wandering around!
The position was perfect to explore this part of London and if you arrive by train you are very close to take advantage of the 2 for 1 offers on the London Eye and Churchills war rooms, which were much larger and more interesting than I supposed they might be.
The meals we had there were excellent but obviously five star prices. The Strand, with lots of various priced eateries, is just around the corner if you were happy with somewhere less salubrious to eat, which we took advantage of on several occasions!
All in all this was a delightful hotel and I'd jump at the chance to return.

Room Tip: If your breakfast is not included check in offers cards to have discounted breakfast which offered a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al1Stockton_on_Tees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Well we can not fault a thing with your review!!! Thank you for giving us such a glowing report on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that based on this experience, you can understand why people choose to return to us. I think the charm of the hotel, is not only the beautiful building itself but the relaxed, welcoming and friendly atmosphere within. All the staff truly care about that they do and I think our guests can feel this.

It’s great to hear that you will jump at the chance to stay with us again – we can not wait!

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallbrook ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

well...what a disappointment and total waste of time and money! My husband and I had stayed in London on our way to Italy and were returning to London to fly home. We had stayed at another hotel which was a wonderfull experieince but wanted to try a different location...We had booked our room on line which included breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist said that yes breakfast was included. We were then shown to our room. The room was small which was fine but the windows were drafty and the bathroom smelled like a stagnet pond! We were runnning late for the theater and did not ask to change rooms. We went out that evening and went o see "warhorse" ( the best play ever!!!). The next morning we went to the dining room where we were met by the hostess...she asked for our room number to bill the breakfast..my husband said that we had been told it was included. her surley respose was..." no it certainly is not and I am going to charge you for it." My husband went to the front desk where the same resptionist from the night before was again on duty....the same one who said yes breakfast was included....who now said that she had never stated that!
Yikes...it is not that we couldn't afford to pay for breakfast but the rudeness of the dining receptionist and the bate and switch at the front desk was very annoying to say the least...needless to say we went elsewhere for breakfast.
We had been in London almost three weeks earlier for four days ...the whole time that we were there we had the most wonderfull time....filled with great meals, shopping, plays and most importantly..the people that we met and asked for directions or chatted with were so friendly and wonderfull.....I do not like to write such a scathing review but considering our experience there it is well deserved!!!

Room Tip: forgot to add that the room was so noisey that I had trouble sleeping due to the traffic on the majo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
219 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Quite centrally located, just 5 minutes from the Southbank (NT/BFI) or Trafalgar square and even nearer to the tube station. The room was fresh, modern and very quiet and I had the best nights sleep in a hotel for a long time. The bed was very comfortable. There was nothing to complain about whatsoever. Staff friendly and they did my online check-in for me. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CecilGgibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It is great to hear you had a great nights sleep while staying with us, and thank you for the all the other positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a Secret hotel deal. We chose to upgrade from a standard double to an executive double with kingsize bed for £40 per night. We'll worth it. We got vouchers for half price breakfast (still £15 per person) and when we checked out they told us to email if we visited again to arrange upgrades or special offers they offer return visitors.
The room was lovely and big, heated bathroom floor and there was a separate bath and shower unit. TV in the bathroom if you fancied a soak whilst watching the box.
There was a choice of pillows (feather or synthetic) and we had
6 pillows between us! The room had its own thermostat and I was perfectly toasty every night. The location is great too. It's just two minutes from Embankment underground station and about 6 minutes from Westminster. Simple to get to Convent Garden and Oxford Street and pretty much everywhere in London.
There are no bad points to the stay so if you get the chance it's worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room so you get a view of the London Eye...stunning at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent one night here, arranged around a trip to the theatre to see War Horse. The hotel has a great, central location overlooking the Thames, within walking distance of Trafalgar square. The staff were very welcoming on our arrival and we were able to check in early to a small but, beautifully appointed room (we were offered an upgrade for an extra cost of £120!). Our room was on the 7th floor, which was peaceful and quiet at all times. During our stay we had a light bite in the afternoon in the lounge area and breakfast the next morning, we found all the food to be of a high standard, and the staff very attentive. There was only one disaster during this stay, I left my jewellery in the room after we checked out, and only discovered this a few days later. I contacted the hotel who were immensely helpful (particularly Mohammed and Victoria) arranging to return the items to me via special delivery. Thank you for the exceptional service, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I was delighted to read this lovely review regarding your stay with us and that you will return again. As you say our location is just great as we are so central; it is convenient for business or leisure.

The entire team is so proud to hear that the service provided was most helpful, and especially Mohammed and Victoria. We are all delight that you have been re-united with your jewelry.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your dining experience in the lounge and breakfast in our Restaurant. I will ensure your compliments are passed on to the Chef and Restaurant Team.

Thank you very much for recommending us and come back and see us soon.

Kind regards.

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing