We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #112 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enchanting experience”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night at the weekend in late November. The location is great and the staff were very friendly and courteous. I had initially booked a standard double room and to our delight we were kindly upgraded to much better accommodation for a truly five star experience. We look forward to staying here again in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mosiqiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased that you found the staff friendly and courteous as customer service is our business.

It is great to hear you will be back, and we hope you make it soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,098
    993
    327
    138
    54
See reviews for
699
2,314
137
671
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Horseguards in London for the first time recently and was pleasantly surprised.

I don't normally have high expectations with hotels in London as the only really decent ones are at the top end of the price scale. The Royal Horseguards was a comfortable hotel and what's more, had free WiFi which is pretty rare!

The rooms are not huge but they are a comfortable size. The bathrooms were well equipped and even had a heated floor which is a nice comfort in winter! What was strange though is that the shower is over the bath (which in itself is okay... not great as a separate shower is so much nicer but okay), but the shower curtain doesn't stretch across the whole length of the bath tub so the water from the shower goes all over the bathroom floor. It seems strange that you wouldn't have a shower curtain that stretches the whole way across.

The location of the hotel is great and is close to Embankment Tube station which is a huge plus but it is also easy walk to the West End.

I would definitely consider staying here again the next time I am in London.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Thames are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I was delighted to hear that we had surprised you, and that your visit with us was an enjoyable one. I am pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you made use of our complimentary Wi-Fi, which is throughout the hotel.

I have passed on your comments regarding the shower curtain to our Housekeeping Manager who is going to investigate further into why you one had one shower curtain, when our rooms normally have two. I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused.

We are very lucky to have such a good location in London with such good travel links close by.
.
Thank you for saying that you would consider staying with us again. We hope it will be soon!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent location - literally 2 minutes walk to Embankment Tube Station.
Great interiors, very warm and welcoming.
Super friendly and helpful staff.
Free Wifi (very unusual in 5 Star hotels)
Tastiest room service food I've had in a while.
Overall a really nice hotel -- book a room with a view!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonoAvnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for the perfect review!!!

We are delighted with your glowing report, especially about the warm welcome, friendly staff and tasty room service food.

Come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was a great experience, I can not emphasize how nice this hotel is, clean, spacious rooms, pleasant staff and everything. I stayed at The Royal Horseguards several times before and I was always satisfied. This time I was there on New Year's Eve celebration and when asked if it possible to have a room with some kind of view, we immediately got a bit smaller room but looking right at the London's Eye. Simply great. Next time, again The Royal Horseguards.

The only negative - they tend not to respond to emails, what is kind of weird.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the inside walls, there is no sunlight. If you ask for different room, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clovek55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay for last New Years Eve celebrations. it is a magical night and an experience that is never forgotten. Even is you are unable to reserve a River View room, the atmosphere from the event is electric, and what better way than to enjoy it than in 5 star luxury. As you can imagine we are in full preparation for this years event already.

I was sorry to read that we have not responded to your emails. Please feel free to contact me direct in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not so distant future, my self and the staff at The Royal Horseguards Hotel would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We've stayed at the Royal Horseguards four times now. It's location is nice (very near to the Embankment underground) and they actually have wonderful spacious rooms, viewing the eye at the other side of the Thames. The staff is always very friendly and helpful as well!

Room Tip: the rooms on the higher floors offer a great view over London!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaSchaffrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and I am delighted that you find our River View rooms spacious. As you say, the view of the Thames is very special.

As a regular guest, you are fully aware of our capabilities and to hear the staff described as friendly and helpful is just great. We look froward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

4 of us went there on a voucher for a tasting menu.
We had a really good night with fantastic food and excellent attentive staff.
The location in Whitehall near the old Scotland Yard was amazing, tucked in a courtyard/square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of our restaurant, One Twenty One Two. I am pleased that you found the tasting menu enjoyable and the service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

firstly want to thank reception desk for upgrading our party of six , we had to wait a wee while for the rooms to be ready but that was a small price to pay to get a room with a view of the london eye etc , my children were impressed and thats what matters to us as parents, ages are from 11 19 and 21. we all enjoyed are short stay in this hotel and would not hesitate to book again , we have stayed in the softitel hotel which is another 5 star hotel and has been awarded with a higher rating with trip advisor guests but we feel we were accommodated more by this hotel chain , so that is a big plus . we will be looking to book another trip in the new year and will be returning . we had breakfast and that was very nice , the christmas tree and log fire in reception were lovely .well done to the staff and hope on return we get the same experience again ...

Room Tip: ask for river view floor six
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beau11111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
I am pleased that we were able to upgrade your party to river view rooms and impressed your children in the process. It is impressive at any time, but I feel especially at night when it is all lit up. Thank you for the compliment about the staff.

It is fantastic to hear that you will return to us, and hopefully as soon as in the New Year!

Have a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,720 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,069 in London
2,498 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,069 in London
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,069 in London
3,966 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing