We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“overnight stay in real luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Horseguards to your Saves list
The Royal Horseguards
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #83 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
michael
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“overnight stay in real luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed just for one night as a solo traveller and immediately felt welcome, safe and surrounded by extremely high quality decor and furnishings. my room was excellent, beautiful bathroom and luxurious comfortable bed. fabulous location. overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
What an amazing review - thank you!!! We really appreciate all the positive comments.

Our aim is to offer professional, friendly service in an atmosphere that is both elegant and refined, while being relaxed while making our guests feel comfortable.

Please do stay with us when ever you return to London, looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,692
    851
    275
    114
    43
See reviews for
574
1,988
109
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Horseguards hotel was recently included in the Tea Guild's top places for afternoon tea in London. We visited today and enjoyed the beautiful building and position. Unfortunately the service was disappointing from the outset. Having ordered a champagne afternoon tea, our champagne was forgotten so we didnt receive it until after we'd reminded our waitress. By this point we'd had our sandwiches and tea. Although there was plenty of staff it was hard to get their attention. This was a shame and we don't feel that the afternoon tea was comparable to that of The Goring, Claridges etc. we'd probably come back for a drink but not for tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjb119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent afternoon tea reservation with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience due to the shortfalls in service in the Lounge. Your comments have been relayed back to the Food and Beverage Manager, who is ensuring the necessary corrective training is taking place.

Once again thank you for your comments; I truly appreciate the time and effort you have taken into providing this honest feedback to us.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel regularly for about 5 years now.
The hotel is very well located for central London and on the whole is pretty good.
Do note that the size and quality of the rooms vary a lot, some have great views of the river and the city with good sized bathrooms and bed rooms, others are very small and dark, especially the ones that face the internal courtyard which you should avoid a they are very dark. You should ask when you check in to avoid disappointment.
The Hotel was extensively refurbished about 5 years ago, it is still smart but has started to drop a bit in the last year or so. The restaurant is OK but you are better off heading in to the city as there are plenty of options in walking distance.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard rooms as they are very dark. Room sizes vary a lot even in the same class, so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The hotel is located in a Grade II listed building, which means that we are unable to alter the layout of our rooms. To make it easier for our guest we have created three categories of rooms, ranging from standard to executive. The significant differences between the categories are the size and view from the rooms.

I was disappointed to read that you felt our service standards have dropped a little bit from recent years. Obviously our mission is to try to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay, however your comments have been noted and I have asked all the relevant managers to oversee corrective training, to ensure that we do maintain our five star standards at all times.

Thank you one again and looking forward to you returning to us.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having served with the Regiment of the same name had always meant to stay here. Was not disappointed. Standards extremely high and everything one could expect from a top hotel. From check in to check out the operation was faultless. Staff, food and rooms excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for you kind comments on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to read that you felt the service was first class and that you enjoyed your stay. Myself and the entire team hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Everything you would expect from a hotel of this standard with little touches and service that made our stay very enjoyable and relaxed. Fantasic location very near to Covent Garden, Houses of Parliament and Embankment which has stunning views of key landmarks in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. It sounds like you had a really fabulous time with us! We pride ourselves on our efficient but very warm and friendly service throughout the hotel and I shall pass your excellent comments on to the entire team.

We all look forward to seeing you again here soon.

Many thanks again,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were attending a concert at St Johns - Smith Square. The Royal Horseguards was perfectly located & great value (booked as a Top Secret Hotel via Lastminute.com). We ate at the restaurant before going out & grabbed a nightcap in the bar later. All were great including the staff, service & food / wine quality. We looking to book again....!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
It is always wonderful for us to hear our guests are looking forward in coming back to us!!

This is exactly the type of experience we want all our guest’s who stay with us to remember. Thank you for posting your comments.

We can not wait for you to come back!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Gorgeous hotel , courteous staff , fabulous room with a view over the Thames to the London eye

Travelled with a 5 year old the hotel was accessible to all areas of London so was able to walk and take in the sites

Evening are magical as you can see all the lights on the southbank and its is very like the London you imagine in films

Would definitely recommend the hotel as it was stunning and the staff were lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for the perfect review!!

It is great to hear that you thought you found the service and rooms excellent during your stay. It sound like you took full of our location and chose to walk to many of the places of interest which are within easy access.

Thank you for recommending us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,099 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#7 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#31 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,422 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,181 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#17 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing