We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #119 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beauitful hotel, most staff professional and friendly. I choose his hotel for location and the reviews it had received. Only 2 minute walk Trafalgar square and 5 minute walk to big Ben. Service from doormen were second to none, however check-in staff could brush up on how to smile. Breakfast was great, don't forget to order from menu if you don't like buffet. Our room was large and the bed so comfortable, the bathroom spacious. This hotel ticks all the boxes and we shall return next time we visit London.

Room Tip: Choose an executive king with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wedphotographers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,420 - 3,426 of 4,876 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at this fantastic hotel over Remembrance Sunday. Ideally located in Whitehall, very quiet, yet minutes from Big Ben, Parliament,Trafalgar Square,Covent Garden. Couldn't have chosen better location. We were fortunate to be upgraded to Executive room. Beautiful. Immaculately clean, In house services were excellent yet unobtrusive. Great breakfast. Harpist plays in Foyer during afternoon tea! Staff were welcoming and helpful. Wouldn't look to stay anwhere else while in London.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for posting such a glowing review, I know it makes the entire team so proud to read such lovely comments. Everyone here works so hard to provide exceptional service and it is always a joy to hear that our efforts are appreciated.

The location is ideal being quiet however just a few minutes walk and you find yourself in the heart of the West End. I know our housekeeping team always love to receive fantastic reviews about the immaculate cleanliness of the property.

Thank you for making us your first choice when staying in London and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having been in the fortunate position to stay in some of the nicest hotels around the world, I can rate this one up their with the best of them.

From arrival at the hotel and the friendly door staff bring in the luggage to the delivery to the room of the luggage, The lobby has a very warm welcoming feeling just like you have arrived home, The Room was of a high standard, which was well appointed, with every thing that one would need.

The breakfast was of a high standard with nothing to much trouble for the waiting staff.

A very enjoyable hotel but I think that the best recommendation that I could give to this hotel is that the next time I stay in London it will be at The Royal Horseguards.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citysparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review, it is reviews such as these that make our staff extremely proud to work at The Royal Horseguards Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the Hotel lobby made you feel as if you had just arrived at home. It is fantastic to read that you felt all staff were exceedingly welcoming and attentive. I am very pleased that you were impressed with the room and that every need was catered for.

I have passed on your comments regarding the high quality of breakfast to the Food & Beverage team and know that they are extremely pleased to receive such a great review.

Myself and the all team at The Royal Horseguards Hotel are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday 11th November as we were going to Remembrance Parade at Whitehall. This location is perfect for Whitehall and also about 2 minutes away from the Embankment where there are plenty of Bars. Covent Garden is also within walking distance. This is a lovely hotel. Very professional and friendly staff. Nice rooms and very good bathroom with underfloor heating and a TV. Never seen a TV in a bathroom before.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClactonEssexCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

It is always wonderful to receive such great reviews, and I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the TV in the bathroom!!

Our location is so close to many of the top sights that it makes it so easy to walk around and explore the attractions of London.

I am delighted that you found the room comfortable to return to at the end of a long day sightseeing.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon for another amazing stay.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this through a lastminute.com top secret deal & what a steal at £165 I stayed with a friend in a twin room & found this hotel to be absolutely faultless & beautifully decadent, definately a perfect hotel for a special evening.

Room Tip: Email ahead & cheekily ask for a room with a view of the thames!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whazit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have mixed feelings writing about this hotel. There are positive points about it: it's doormen service that would welcome you and take care of you luggage straight from your taxi. Then, the general ambiance, lobby and bars that give you a warm feeling. The breakfast room spacious and nice, there is a quick service there and a good choice of cold and hot dishes.

But then other elements come to the picture: the check-in and check-out was lengthy and painful. My first night was prepaid at a special rate on the hotel's website while the 2 following nights were booked directly with the hotel at the conference rates. When after 10 min of waiting I got to the check-in desk, I was told that my 2 conference night were cancelled by conference organizer. It took 50 mouse clicks and my black on white reservation confirmation by the hotel to get room key. I was told I can stay in the same room 3 nights without changing, which usually means I was put directly to my Double Delux Room (£ 270 per night incl breakfast). My room (906) was ok till I noticed that the windows were blind, when trying to understand the reason I saw that I had a view on the wall and turbo ventilators fixed on this wall. I immediately asked reception for a change and received opposite room (905) with the view on the roofs ( £ 270 per night does not seem to be enough to see the river) and extremely noisy airconditioning/heating. As a result, tired with previous changes, I slept all the nights with ear plugs. Other than this, the room was correct as you would expect of a standard room (not of a deluxe room) with a comfortable bed and a bathroom with heated floor / towel racks. There was also a free Wifi that worked well.

My check out took again 15 min as my bill was showing extra positions to the prepaid night and discussion with 2 receptionists that seem to ignore what these positions were, was lengthy. The arguments of group booking came back like boomerang making me at 6.30 am angry to start the day. Pity.

Should I have again a conference at this hotel, I would stay elsewhere and commute!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Travellersfromswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here as a weekend treat having got a good deal with a prior booking.The moment we approached the main entrance we were met with courteousness in abundence ,all staff have very polished standards as to how to provide excellent customer service without being patronising.The downstairs lobby and generally provides for an oppulent and luxuriant experience ,some hotels rest on their laurels when it comes to their 5 star status ,not this ,it pushes the boundaries. So impressed we upgraded to deluxe double ,worth it for the comfort all detailed in other reviews,With cocktails in the equus bar and dinner later in the one twenty one two restaurant both of which were absolute treats we certainly felt pampered.
The location of he hotel is also a big plus .walking distance from leceicester square ,covent garden ,trafalgar square ,over looking the embankment and much much more..
The only regret =we didnt stay longer

Room Tip: try and book a room overlooking the thames ,possibly at a premium but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,076 in London
4,143 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,076 in London
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,395 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,076 in London
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $204 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing