We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on the Thames”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #114 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for a theartre trip for my wife's birthday less than a mile from the west end. Located right on the Thames 3 minute walk from the Embankment tube station. We booked in advance and got a great price for this park of London and had a double room overlooking the Thames with a super view of the London Eye. Room had a entrance lobby to bathroom and bedroom. Loved the TV in the bathroom. Everything was super and well looked after but so it should be for a 5 star hotel. We experience the afternoon tea which was a special experience but great for a pre-theartre meal. Staff were very friendly and polite plus they listened to my special request on the booking form. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Thames great view especially as night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,699)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,264 - 3,270 of 4,699 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

There is no doubt that this is my favourite hotel in London and I have been staying here on and off for over twenty years - through a number of phases of the hotel's development. Its most recent incarnation as a Guoman Hotel is by far the best and classiest in look. I find the staff universally courteous and keen to help, the rooms well appointed and comfortable and breakfast of very high quality. There is a particular satisfaction if you can manage to gain an upgrade to one of the rooms which enjoys the stunning view of the Thames and the London Eye, but I am quite happy to stay in one of the inward facing rooms when I am staying on business.

Many of the smaller rooms are actually in the upper floors of the next door building which is the National Liberal Club, designed by Waterhouse (who also designed the Natural History Museum) and is one of the gems of Victorian architecture in London. The hotel uses some of the grand club rooms for conferences and has restored them superbly. See if you can sneak a clandestine peek at the downstairs banqueting room (formerly the billiard room where TV's Pot Black was first staged) or the extraordinary Gladstone Library on the top floor.

You can't beat it for comfort, service, style or history - but you really don't want to have to pay full price to enjoy it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mewero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What can I say that hasn't been said already about this upper crust gem, except for the deal we had booking on a special time-limited offer. The price is so good that it allows us to splurge on the full English breakfast with freshly squeezed OJ at 21 GBP! Was it worth it? Yes.

Would I stay at the Horseguards again? if the truth be told, we found it a bit stuffy in that catered
old-world entitlement, and it certainly is not the Cool Britiania we seek. But to be fair, tramps like us don't really belong there anyways. It's a lark and a laugh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrokenArrow02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed here many times now and always look forward to returning. It is perfectly placed for Whitehall and Parliament and if you can get a room overlooking the river the views are unrivalled. This time the room had views out to the West over St James's Park. Great people, from the doorman through to reception, to the concierge and beyond - they make a great team. Location, hospitality, great rooms - all you can ask really.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for being a regular guest at our hotel, we really appreciate it. Do we have a wonderful team here, which is why this hotel is so special. Your last sentence says it all!!

We look forward to you returning.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Royal Horseguards Hotel for the second time in two years. It is still a wonderful hotel. I enjoyed my stay there and would go back for a third visit. It is conveniently located near the River Thames, the Parliament Buildings, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace. All are very short walking distances away. And for places you cannot walk to, the Embankment Tube station is just around the corner with 4 lines that can take you anywhere in London. Don't forget to purchase an Oyster Card to ride the tube. The Oyster card is pay as you go and very convenient for travellers. If you run out of funds you simply go to a machine and top up your funds with cash or credit card. Unused funds can be refunded back to you when you finish your stay. Simply go to one of the tube stations and speak with an employee to get your unused funds back from your Oyster Card. Now back to the hotel, The hotel itself is clean, large, and staff friendly and helpful. The bed is very comfortable. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at the Royal Horseguards. It is a bit pricey, but if you want a good hotel in a great location, it is worth the price. Look for deals online for best prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ContessaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for coming back to us for the second year in the row. It is great to hear that we did not disappoint on this visit and you will be coming back for a third visit soon.

Keep recommending us!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Horseguards Hotel for our 30th Wedding anniversary trip. 4 nights in London; 4 nights in Paris. I was perfectly happy with the Horseguards Hotel...(and I am one picky hotel guest). The service was top notch and the rooms were very well appointed with great amenities. I think my favorite thing about the hotel was its location. Big cities can be very wearing after a day or two...and you seem to need a little relief from it all. This hotel's location on the Thames River was just the ticket. We were just across the river from the London Eye...and the view of the river (we requested and paid for the river view) truly soothed our over-stimulated spirits at the end of a day of sight-seeing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, and thank you for choosing to celebrate some of it with us.

I am pleased we met your high standards and offered some light relief after a heavy day's sightseeing. It is great that you enjoyed your room, from the amenities to the view. But to have the service described as top notch is fantastic. The team will be so proud.

We hope to be able to welcome you back, perhaps for your 31st wedding anniversary.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my favourite hotel in London. All the comforts you could wish for. Plenty of space, excellent bathrooms, very clean and well decorated. Pure luxury. As others have said it comes at a price but book with one of the offers and it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Make the most of their offers and upgrades
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castaway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for making us your favourite hotel in London, an award we are very proud to claim. Keep an eye out for those offers, there is bound to be one along soon!!

Can't wait to have you back.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,073 in London
3,875 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#17 of 1,073 in London
2,550 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,073 in London
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,073 in London
4,079 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $270 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing