We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Luxury in the Perfect Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #113 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Five Star Luxury in the Perfect Location.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am lucky enough to be able to travel with my husband when he has business trips. We booked two extra days prior to his five day meeting so he could adjust to the time and see some of the city sights before meetings kept him occupied. The lobby is comfortable and large enough to hold many people without being crowded. It is also has huge welcoming sofas where one can wait with their eyes closed undisturbed waiting for the room to be ready. The hotel has many advantages in addition to it's five star rating. It overlooks the Thames, is close to Trafalgar Square and the Charring Cross tube stop. We forgot the Para Olympics followed the Olympics and arrived while they were being held. Other than having streets blocked off for traffic control and not always able to take a cab, it was an additionally exciting time to be in the city. We saw many great athletes, gatherings in Trafalgar Square and many parades in addition to the many museums, castles and restaurants we were there to experience. Our room overlooked the river if you were in the corner and on tip toes. It was smaller than that of others attending the conference, but suited us well since we were out and about most of the day and evening. After a week, we finally felt we scratched the surface of the city and had an oasis waiting for us at the end of the day.

Room Tip: When making the reservation ask for a room overlooking the river, and yes, the higher floor rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am pleased you were able to enjoy the excitement and atmosphere of the Para Olympics while you were here. It has been an amazing year for our country and in particular London.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and found it luxurious but comfortable. Being such an old building our rooms do vary in size, but I am please that you found yours perfect for your requirements.

It sounds like you made good use of our location, and got to see a lot of London while you were with us. I'm sure you must have been exhausted by the end of your trip!!

We hope your husband has another meeting in London soon, so you can come back and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,097
    992
    327
    137
    54
See reviews for
699
2,312
137
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Horseguards for our last two nights in London and were so happy we switched hotels to experience the five-star lifestyle for a bit. This is the type of hotel that you think of when you think of classic London luxury. This hotel is beautiful and in a great location - walking distance to Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens, Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Churchill War Rooms, etc.

When we arrived I asked if there were any room upgrades available and there were! We had booked a deluxe double but got an executive king (I think that was the name). Wow. The room was HUGE and the bathroom was amazing. Separate shower and bathtub, heated floors and towel racks, tv and speakers in the bathroom so you can watch tv or listen to music while in the bath or getting ready - amazing. A tip - it seemed like all of the bathrooms are a bit different, so be sure to request your specific bath/shower preferences at booking or when you arrive. The bed was very big (it actually felt larger than a king), full of comfy pillows and we slept so well on it. It was a harder mattress than we are used to, but it turned out to be extremely comfortable and great for a good night's sleep. We were on the side of the hotel with the "main" road and it was not noisy at all. Another neat feature is that you could turn all of the room lights on or off from controls next to the bed.

One thing that would have been a hiccup was that we had to change rooms due to a AC unit malfunction. But, the staff could not have been more helpful and they let us look at 3 other rooms available and pick the one we liked best (this is how we know different rooms have different bathrooms). We do feel that overall the staff could have improved a little bit to get up to what we think are 5-star standards (always opening doors, asking if we need cabs, etc. - this did not happen on a consistent basis), but these were VERY minor issues and overall we found the staff to be friendly, helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast was excellent - we only ate there one morning. It's very expensive but know that you are getting a lot of good food for the price, including hot food. We had vouchers for 15 pounds a person. We would not have eaten there if we had to pay full price. If you don't want a big breakfast or to pay that much, there are plenty of shops within walking distance, including a McDonalds and Pret a Manger.

Thanks for a great stay, Royal Horseguards!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you arrive and be specific about the type of bathroom you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
WOW …. Thanks for your lovely comments about our hotel. We feel so proud to be labelled “A five-star gem in London!“

We are very lucky that the hotel is well situated for many of London’s top tourist attractions. However if you want to venture further afield, the Embankment tube and Charring Cross Train stations are close to hand.

I was delighted to read that you found the room very comfortable. The feedback we received about them is very positive, and we have worked hard at maintaining them since our refurbishment. I am pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities in the room and a good night’s sleep on our wonderful beds.

I am sorry that you felt the breakfast was a lot of money, but it is good to hear that you felt the choice and variety on offer did reflect the price.

I was particularly disappointed to hear that you felt some of the staff was not delivering 5 star service standards. This is obviously key to our business, and something we pride ourselves on. We do carry out daily training sessions with the team on the many different aspects of customer service, to continually develop their skills to ensure service levels are being delivered at all times.

I do look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel again, so that we can continue to prove to you what a ‘gem’ we are!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Royal horseguards has a great location, right on the river and very close to the underground. The building is impressive, and the interior beautiful and luxurious. A big thumbs up to the barstaff in the lounge for their friendly and very attentive service. As for the room, it was surprisingly quiet for the center of London. The bed was a bit hard, but not uncomfortable. The bathroom was great; large, clean, There was no bathtub, but it had a full rainshower. The dim bathroom lighting was comfortable, but not great for putting on make-up. Then againthere's a full length mirror in the room that does the trick..

On the service side - the reception staff seemed a little arrogant and disinterested in helping out. We were told the luggage would be carried to our room. However, it didnt appear untill we'd waited an hour - despite having told them we were in a rush to make a concert. Had to make 2 phonecalls and finally ask if we should pick it up ourselves before someone finally showed up. I would expect more of hotel with this standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy that you found the building itself impressive and that you enjoyed every aspect of your room. You're right, we are located in a wonderful part of London and the views are breath taking, especially at night. I will be sure to pass on your great comments to the bar and lounge staff.

Thank you for your feed back concerning the concierge and reception teams. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the poor service you received. Please be assured I have spoken to our Front Office Manager and Head Concierge regarding your experience and your comments have been fed back to the teams and the necessary corrective training is being carried out.

I hope this has not put you off coming back to us. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and show you our normal high level of service to restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the first time I've visited this establishment and went for drinks with a friend. If you want to see and "be seen" in a flamboyant "in" place then don't come here. If, on the other hand, you prefer understated elegance and great service, then this is most definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMayKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for understanding our ethos. We are all about great service, which is delivered in a professional, warm and understated manner in beautiful surroundings. We look forward to serving you and your friends many more drinks in the future!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport |Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and was given a room on the 8th floor lovely view of the Thames and London Eye we could also faintly hear the sound of Big Ben from our room.The staff was very professional.The location was excellent for the tube and walking distance of some attractions.We would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladylynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the great review. Our location and view over The Thames is exceptional, and it is all topped off by our fantastic team here, so great stay is always available. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the 20th and I simply cannot fault a thing.

We had room 814 which has an amazing view of the thames and London eye.

Everything is spotless and it has thought of everything you need.
Heated tiles in the bathroom, tv in the bathroom.

Breakfast is pricey but yummy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffc_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Well we can not fault a thing with your review!!! Thank you for giving us such a glowing report on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here Friday night. Incredibly close to Embankment tube, easy check in, fireplace was on in reception, doormen opening doors before you get to door, decent room (shame didnt get a view of Thames, but it was so dark and rainy anyhow!), nice touches such as ipod docking station, tv over bath, Elemis toiletries, rain shower, robes, electronic do not disturb sign .. and bed was huge and comfy.
Didnt eat here as had things to do in town, but there were plenty of people in the restaurant, not like some hotels.
I can't put my finger on it exactly, but you just got the feeling that this place really runs smoothly and efficiently - maybe thats the difficult thing. Can imagine that people always come back. Very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
It is wonderful to read that based on this experience, you can understand why people choose to return to us. I think the charm of the hotel, is not only the beautiful building itself but the relaxed, welcoming and friendly atmosphere within. All the staff truly care about that they do and I think our guests can feel this. As you had such a great stay with us, we hope you will be one of those guests that choose to return!

Thank you for taking the time to write this frank review about your experience, we really do appreciate it.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,711 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,068 in London
2,494 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,963 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing