We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent One Night Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #99 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent One Night Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were really impressed with our stay at the Horseguards from the moment we checked in (early) we found the reception and concierge team to be most helpful. We left our bags and headed on out armed with an umbrella courtesy of the hotel which definitely came in handy. We returned to find out we had been upgraded due to availability which was nice and we were very impressed with our room - better than the other 5 star hotel we had recently stayed in.
We had been told about the hotels' wonderful bar and enjoyed the cocktails we chose although the barman could have been a little more proactive in terms of service/chatter as we were left with menus for quite some time, apart from this we enjoyed the ambiance and comfort.
We had a very comfortable stay, excellent sized room and bathroom with great facilities, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBTLbisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I am delighted to read that you were impressed with your stay with us. It is great to hear that you find our rooms better than other 5 star properties you have stayed in recently - we will be sure to spread the word!!!

We are always happy to store luggage for guests if their room is not ready on check in, and I am pleased that you found the reception and concierge staff helpful and friendly. I was disappointed to read your comments about the bar staff and I will be sure to share your feedback with them.

It's excellent to hear that you will return to us, we just hope it is soon!!

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,021
    954
    308
    127
    50
See reviews for
672
2,242
131
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed in five or six different hotels in London, some better than others, but after my experience there this August, the Royal Horseguards will always be my choice in the future. The location is fantastic (two blocks from Embankment underground station, but also within easy walking distance of most everywhere I wanted to go!), the view from my window was like something in a Hollywood movie, the room was wonderfully comfortable with every possible amenity, the full English breakfast included variety to suit every taste, and the desk and concierge were extremely helpful with my every question and request.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Thames! (Would have to be on the south side of the hotel and prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is fantastic to read such a glowing account of your time with us and even more so to hear we will be your new choice of hotel in London!

The location really is very special, and many Hollywood films have filmed in this area. As you mentioned we are within easy walking distance of many of the popular sights that London has to offer.

I am delighted to hear that the room met your every need and that the breakfast was to your liking. I have passed on your comments to the Reception and Concierge Desks who always take pleasure in receiving comments such as your own.

We look forward to welcoming your return in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Elegant and refined big hotel well placed in London. From the Doorman to the Reception staff everything went smoothly and efficiently. The room was large and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was the bright light from the two telephones and the fridge. Telephones these days seem to always have an LCD strip which gives off too much light in the dark. I appreciate the Hotel is not able to control these things but I do find that light wakes me up in the middle of the night. I found it helpful to use a guide book draped over the top of the phone to kill the light! After that, I slept well! The breakfast was a help-yourself buffet, as you would expect, and it was perfectly adequate. The staff were attentive and very efficient, bustling around at top speed! We were tired when we checked in so I was unable to take in all the instructions given at Reception and found that I couldn't work the light switches on getting into the room! Eventually we worked it out but does it have to be so complicated? Four buttons gave different "lighting effects" and I didn't find out until I discovered the Room Guide card the next morning! Doh! In fact, having a shower was a bit stressful too as the taps had strange symbols on them I couldn't work it out. Like I said I was tired! Unfortunately the shower door had not been hung properly so the bathroom was very wet after a shower as the water came through the bottom of the door. I was also a bit surprised that when we got into the room there was only one bathrobe. They knew there were two of us so as I didn't want to be charged for a missing bathrobe I did inform Housekeeping and they quickly brought us an extra one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenityofgaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you found your room large and the bed and pillows comfortable, but I was disappointed to read that you were disturbed by the light coming from the phones and mini bar in the room. However I am pleased that you found a simple solution to the problem, and you were then able to get a good night's sleep. Please do not apologies for being tired and struggling with the lights and the shower controls, long distant flights have a tendency to make all of us confused and groggy. Please accept my apology for the shower leaking over the bathroom floor, this certainly should not have happened and I have asked out Maintenance Manager to get the issue addressed.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, as that with a good night's sleep will set you for the day ahead. But I am particularly pleased that you found the staff attentive and efficient in all areas of the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

2nd stay here this year whilst in London & it was excellent again.. Great overall experience ,from door staff welcome to room , quality all the way through.. The building has great government history , right at the heart of Whitehall , a superb location and particularly on a weekend it is so quiet and homely. A true 5 star hotel & a fantastic tourist experience .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The history with the building dates back to the 1800's with it being taking over during both world wars by MI5 & MI6.

Reviews such as your own are a testimant to all the hard work that the departments in the hotel put in to provide a great 5 star experience and are a real pleasure to receive.

We hope to welcome you back for your 3rd stay this year in the not so distant future, so we can continue to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night for business. Paid extortionate rate (even for London). Given a large, but internal room.

Room facilities were good (not great - cracked basin in the bathroom), and one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in for a long time!

But to have a hotel of this rating and standard to have rooms without external windows is very poor. I don't need a view, but access to fresh air is a must!! If I had been staying more than one night I would have had to change rooms - it would have been far too claustrophobic.

Breakfast was not included - and was very expensive. Had I realised breakfast was not included at the time of booking, I would have grabbed something to eat outside the hotel!

The public areas, including the bar are really well decorated, to a high standard and the bar is comfortable and cosy, whilst being stylish and sumptuous! Great selection of gins too!

Room Tip: Get a room with opening, external windows!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jingbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am sorry that you were checked in to a internal room for your stay with us. If the hotel is busy and we need to allocate these rooms, we do try to ensure they are given to guests who are only with us for one night, however there are some guests who prefer them as they are generally the larger rooms in that category and they find them quieter and therefore more restful. Great to hear that you found the bed so comfortable. I was disappointed to hear that you could not mark the room facilities as great due to a cracked sink in you room. This will be replaced, so hope you will be able to mark us higher next time!

Thank you for saying that you found the public areas, in particular the bar to be stylish and sumptuous. I share you delight in settling down to a gin or two in a comfy and cosy chair!!!

We hope you will choose to return to us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location is perfect 3 minutes from charing cross, beautiful architecture. Room was spacious but no view at all. Tv in shower, furnishing fit for 5*. Cleanliness and finishing exquisite. Room service and service needs little finesse and etiquette. But would go again.

Room Tip: Executive, try to find one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nouslefamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wow. What a great hotel. The location is close to the underground and Big Ben/Parliment and the London eye. The hotel was modern and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and warm. I love the TV in the bathroom, a very nice touch.

I would stay here again and in fact am going again in October!

Room Tip: Higher up rooms provide a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffkat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
It is always wonderful to receive such glowing reviews, and was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the TV in the bathroom. Our location is so close to many of the top sights that it makes it so easy to walk around and explore the attractions of London. I am delighted that you found the room comfortable to return to at the end of a long day sightseeing.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon for another amazing stay.

Kind regards,

Bechir Messaoud
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing