We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel in top location with top rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #111 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel in top location with top rooms”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Did not book this hotel by myself, but 'had' to stay there due to a business meeting. Was telling myself that this is going to be one of those London hotel experiences where they tell you what a great traditional hotel you are going to stay, just to find out that the room is not larger then an elevator and the last renovation was from 1919.
What a pleasant surprise when I checked in at this hotel. Very, very friendly staff, superb interior full of tradition and fantastic rooms that were totally new! With all what you need as a business traveler, lot of power sockets, international power sockets, WiFi, 24h room services, iPod Radio, modern phone, great minibar...! And the location is just fantastic, just by Trafalgar Square and Whitehall. Will go back there. My new place to stay when I am in London.

Room Tip: if you book a room, try to find a rate that includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandokan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Wow what a turnaround!!! From being told that you 'had' to stay with us, to now The Horseguards being you preferred place to stay when in London!!! What a fantastic review.
But on a serious note, it is wonderful that we were able to change your opinion in all areas, but specially on the service and friendliness of the team. So we are looking forward to the next time work has to bring you to London, so you can stay with us again.



Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,070
    986
    323
    136
    52
See reviews for
690
2,297
134
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was a really great hotel, excellent service and very good food. The location was ideal as it was right on embankment and as I walked around I found myself in New Scotland Yard. There is a great hairdressers opposite in the Corinthian which was handy for my social event and all service was quick and efficient. I had room service which was excellent and hot - which is not always the case. The food was really good. All the perks of a good hotel like the turn down service and they had replenished the tea etc. Facilities - bathroom, shower etc. all good. Room was a little noisy because it was over looking the street but that is London. I got this hotel through last minute secret hotels and it was a very good deal! Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketravelling37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for the great review. It's great to hear that you thought the service and food were excellent during your stay. The little touches of a turndown service during your stay certainly helps to make you feel pampered, and helps to ease away the tiredness of a long day. It sound like you took full of our location and choose to walk to your places of interest.

Thank you for recommending us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.



Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed early march 12 for three nights. Location, accommodation and rooms are excellent. Good size rooms for the money. The wifi is not reliable sand massive problems ordering food from the 24 hour room service menu. Menu stated it had mango and passion fruit, I ordered it and three times it came back as fruit salad, not one piece of Mage nor passion fruit. If you don't have it, say so, but three goes, discussions with the night duty manger who said he would elevate it, to which it went into the abyss of red tape and the management forgot.
Pity because the doormen, the concierge is second to none.
Overall stillnpstive experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor recently. I am very happy to read that you thought the rooms are excellent, you are right the location is brilliant as we truly are in the heart of London.

Please accept my personal apologies for the problems you experienced with ordering food from Room Service. You should not have to order any item 3 times in a hope of getting what was listed on the menu. I can imagine how frustrating and annoying this was for you. I have discussed this situation further with the Room Service and Night Manager and ensured some corrective training has taken place to ensure future guests do not experience the same problem.

On a happier note, I was pleased that you found the Doorman and Concierge helpful, and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

Overall I am pleased your stay was a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My heart sinks when I check in to a so called 5* hotel and the receptionist asks me if I want to upgrade my room for another thirty quid. He's basically saying "You've been conned". The five star room you thought you'd booked is in fact a refurbished, windowless broom cupboard and if you want any sight of daylight, you gotta pay more. It stinks.

Being an older building, The Royal Horseguards has many internal rooms which at best, (room *04) face onto narrow vertical passages which deny you any view of the sky, and at worst (room *21) which appear to have an artificial window with a light behind it. To add insult to injury, the beds "double" beds in these rooms are 4' 6" wide. In my opinion that's a single bed in a five star hotel. Apparently, only 20 rooms have king size beds.

My advice is to print the photograph of the example of the room you have booked from the hotel's website, and point out to the receptionist that it indicates that dayight is included. My advice to the management is to take as example the The Strand Palace Hotel, where rooms 'without a view' are clearly stated and discounted accordingly. And stop pretending to be a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street, or better still, the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrestaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards, Please accept my apologies for the obvious disappointment you experienced with the lack of light in your room and the size of the bed.

As you have stated we are located in an old building, dating back to 1885 and unfortunately a proportion of our rooms are located on the inner court wells which do have limited natural day light. We do sell these rooms as our base product in acknowledgement of this factor. Some of our guests do prefer our court view rooms as they considered quieter and therefore easier to sleep in if you are not used to the noise of a busy city.

As all our rooms are different in shape and size, the designer allocated the largest bed possible to fit the space in the room when the refurbishment took place. As you quite rightly say, we do only have 20 Executive King rooms with river view available to book, however over 45% of our Executive double rooms do have king beds in them but we not sell them as a separate room category as we believe having too many rooms options can become confusing when trying to reserve a room.

I do hope you would reconsider about returning to us, so that we could be given the opportunity to prove to you that we are a 5 star property.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was reading a lot good reviews before making the booking, every little details is well take case and on top of it got a free upgrade without even asking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggelsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Reply.
It's wonderful to hear we exceeded your expectations and took care of all the little details for you. Come back and see us again soon!



Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel last summer for three nights for our 19th Wedding Anniversary. We weren't disappointed. Reception staff very friendly and helpful with the doorman making us laugh. There were complimentary chocolates in our bedroom which was a very nice touch. The bedroom was a good size and contained all we needed. Kettle didn't work but one call to reception and it was immediately changed. We had a street view which was fine. We had hoped for a view of the Thames and the London Eye but this didn't distract in anyway. The bar staff were absolutely fantastic as were the cocktails and as to the price, lets face it you pay for what you get in life and these were sooo good. The breakfast was a good selection albeit the cooked food was a little cold at times or maybe we just like our food piping hot. We liked it so much we have booked to return in April to celebrate again. Can't wait.
The Harveys

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011theharveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us. We obviously made a good impression as you have chosen to come back to us again this year! We are delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were so memorable that you can remember such detail near a year later. As you say our cocktails are soooo good and an ideal way to celebrate any special occasion.

I was disappointed to read that you found the temperate of the cooked items at breakfast a little cold. We will make sure everything is super-hot for next time you return to us.

We are looking forward to seeing you in April.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and chose the hotel purely for the location as it was very close to where I was visiting that day. We stayed in an "Executive King" so that we were guaranteed a king sized bed, but we work in London so we didn't bother to pay more for a room with a view. The cost of our room was £195 including VAT room only, which for what we got was great value compared to other 5 star hotels in London. The room was very large and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen. The flat screen TV seemed very muffled at first - until we discovered the "surround sound" controls which brought the external speakers to life and improved things no end! Bathroom was huge with nice, large towels, under floor heating and a separate walk in shower (which had good water pressure). The TV at the end of the bath was a good idea, but the bath was rather too small for very decadent lounging, which was a shame! We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food, but the bar prices are extremely high - so be warned. The service at the hotel was as it should be - a little cool and formal perhaps, but certainly efficient. I would definitely recommend the hotel as long as you can get a good deal on the room rate. The advance purchase rates represent good value in my opinion, but they do require full payment in advance and are not refundable. But if you are certain that you will need the room then book in advance and enjoy a very nice, spacious and luxurious hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. It’s great to hear that we exceeded your expectations during this visit and you felt your stay was value for money. We do run various room and food and beverage promotions throughout the year, so please keep an eye for them. However if you know your plans are definite, our advance purchase rates are competitive as you discovered.
I was disappointed to read that you found our bar prices high. When we regularly review our menus, we do carry out a price comparison with other 5 star hotels in the local area to ensure we are in line with our competition. However, overall I was delighted to read that you would recommend us and choose to return to us again. We hope that is very soon!

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,667 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,067 in London
2,464 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,067 in London
3,927 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing