We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful - in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #92 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful - in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We checked in to this hotel on 23rd December for four nights. I had opted for one of the deluxe rooms with view, facing the Thames. When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted and shown to our room by the guest relations manager - she was charming, and explained the workings of the room to us.

We had never been away from home at Christmas, so I had asked the hotel if they could do something to the room to give it a Christmas'sy feel - well, on arrival I was delighted to see a real Christmas tree, fully decorated and lit up as we entered the room. In addition they had placed some nice Christmas touches around the room. This instantly made the room more homely - not like a typical hotel bedroom at all.

The room was spacious, well fitted, with a huge comfortable bed. The bathroom, had a nice bath, separate shower enclosure, heated floor and a television set into the wall at the end of the bath! - all together a very nice room indeed.

My only niggle was with the wardrobe - not a great deal of hanging space, mainly due to the ironing board and iron contained within, and the design of the drawers, with the safe on top taking up almost half the hanging rail. It was impossible to hang even shirts above this drawer/safe area without creasing them - but we coped, as it was only four days.

Two large double doored windows fronted the room with wonderful views across the Thames to the London Eye. We also had views of St Pauls and various other landmarks from the windows. In the evening, between the London Eye all lit up, and the various buildings lit in fancy colours the view was quite magical.

In addition to our room being decorated, the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The public spaces are varied and spotlessly clean. We took drinks in the quaint bar area and also had a late supper just outside this area by the piano one evening

On Christmas day we had booked to have lunch - well, I was not disappointed. The room was very nice and the food, all 5 courses, was super. Service was slick, without being obtrusive, and the time allowed between the courses was just right.

I have to say the staff are also what make this hotel. All the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and helpful. In particular, the restaurant staff, both at breakfast and on Christmas day. The wine sommelier was also very helpful when it came to chosing the wine for Christmas lunch - knowledgable, but not condescending, as many can be.

The hotel is very centrally located in Whitehall. Horseguards is less then 5 minutes walk, Downing Street about 5, and Trafalgar Square about 10. We could not have been better placed.

Taxis, should you require one are usually outside the door, or sitting at the Corinthia Hotel opposite, but the ever so friendly Doorman will soo arrange one if none are obvious.

All together a super stay at this lovely hotel. Dont take my word for it, give it a try when you are next in London - you wont be sorry.

Thanks again to all the staff for making our Christmas so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSSCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,982
    939
    302
    126
    50
See reviews for
663
2,201
129
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

What a gem of a hotel in central London, set on the bank of the Thames, with both Parliament Square and Trafalgar Square only minutes a way. A haven of good manners, understated elegance and comfort. Loved it!

The room was great as well - containing all that you would expect from a 5* establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jd2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great location and well worth five stars. Great service with every extra you could want or need, even some you don't. Enjoyed the harp playing in reception and the gingerbread houses of parliment! I don't watch the TV in the bath but I guess some might? Food was good and a very central hotel. It's not the cheapest in the area, although you do feel looked after for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed there in December and they couldn't find our booking as their computer system had collapsed. Thankfully I had all the print outs needed. As a way around it, they put us into one of their junior suites for the same price - fabulous! We had a ginormous bed, a living room and of course a luxury bathroom with every toiletry you could imagine.

Can't wait to go back there again.

Room Tip: I always ask for a higher floor so that I can get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWWBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Happy New Year to You!

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read that you had a fabulous stay with us, despite the slight initial check in confusion. It’s great to hear that you found the apology in the form of the room upgrade to your satisfaction.

We of course look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future, for what should be an extremely exciting year here in London!

Kind regards

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here in October for 3 nights. We were in two standard rooms, but there was nothing standard about them. There was every amenity imaginable, including a TV in the bath! The furnishings were luxury, the beds comfortable. It was spotlessly clean. I particularly appreciated the excellent ground coffee and cafetiere in the room, which was spacious with lots of storage space and free wifi.

Our package did not include breakfast and we thought the £22 for breakfast pp. was excessive, especially for children who would only eat a couple of croissants. No matter, after the first morning we went out for breakfast to a little cafe in the embankment gardens which did a full English, including toast and coffee for £6. The weather was unusually good for October and we ate outside in the gardens and read the papers.

Embankment tube is 2 minutes walk. Westminster and Charring Cross only 5 minutes.

The only slight downside was that the rooms we had, had internal views, which made them quite dark, even in daylight. It would have been nice to look out over the river but as we had got a good deal with Agoda, we got exactly what we paid for. And we didn't go to London to sit in our room!

Overall, a first class hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Not sure it is worth the hefty premium for a river view, unless you intend to sit and look at it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylBrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. We are very lucky indeed to have such an enviable location – one of the best in London – with excellent transport links and attractions right on our doorstep.

I am pleased that you found your room luxurious and full of useful amenities, even if you were a little disappointed by the lack of view. Some of our guests prefer our court views rooms as they can often be quieter than our external rooms.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us and of course can highly recommend our stunning River View Rooms for special occasions or just ‘because’. If the hotel is not full we sometimes have some river view rooms available to upgrade to ‘on the day’ at preferential rates so perhaps this could be something to bear in mind for the future.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed one night between Christmas and New Year and was impressed.

A smart, clean hotel, in a good location. One or two minor negative points were the tv in the bath was damaged (big black spots on the screen) and no tea or coffee making facilities!!

Other than that, not criticisms - the locaton is very good, and concierge are very helpful.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sft14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
It was a pleasure for you as our guest in the period between Christmas and New Year. I cannot thank you enough for the invaluable feedback with regards to the bathroom TV, which has now been fixed. Please be assured that all rooms do have full tea and coffee making facilities, and I apologise that you were unable to locate these. The next time you stay just let us know and we will be happy to show you where they are.

We forward to welcoming you back to us in future.

Kind Regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I had booked for me and my boyfriend to stay at The Royal Horseguards on the 1st December 2011. As it was for his 30th birthday I wanted to make it special and it really was! From the moment we stepped out of the taxi there was someone there to greet us into this fabulous hotel. We were shown to our room and had very kindly been upgraded to a room with a view. There was everything we could have wished for and more... We had booked for an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious and service was perfect.
I would just like to say a huge thank you to all the staff for making us feel very welcome and looked after. This really is the best place to stay in London!
Thank you all very much again and look forward to our next trip to London.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#21 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#11 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#84 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing