We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #112 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed on the 19th of Nov for one night whilst attending a wedding at One Whitehall Place.
We stayed in room 202 plus another for our Daughter.This is a very well run hotel indeed with trained happy staff that are there to help, which made our stay wonderful. The wedding venue was perfect, atmospheric and was a well run tastful affair expertly done. Decent breakfast. Huge room and bathroom with TV. Very clean. Good nights sleep in a massive bed. Hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsurgeon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Many thanks you your review regarding your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards . I am pleased to hear that your stay was so memorable gives me great pleasure to read that the team made your stay and the Wedding at One Whitehall Place so prefect. Our Conference & Banqueting team do a phenomenal job at transforming our space for any event .We are also looking forward to the commence a refurbishment of all our meeting rooms in One Whitehall Place which is scheduled be carried out in the spring of next year. I will most definitely forward your wonderful comments to the entire team.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in London.


Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,098
    993
    327
    138
    54
See reviews for
699
2,314
137
671
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I just got back from a short stay at the Royal Horseguards - it was a wonderful stay. Location was ideal... within walking to most of the may locations, close the the Covent Garden Shops (but not too close for all that noise)
The hotel itself is beautiful - rooms are clean and spacious, staff is lovely.
Best breakfast ever!

Room Tip: I had a room on the 1st floor with a view over the back street - nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamnGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel beautiful, and we couldn’t agree more! Such positive comments about the room, breakfast and service are always a joy to read. Being right in the center of London and yet tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of the city is definitely a bonus. I am certain the rest of the team will be proud to read your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back in not to distant future.

Please contact us directly in order to plan your next trip to London.


Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Everything you need, this hotel can provide, from Fine dining to TV's in the tub !!
It was a pleasure to stay and play here and enjoy the real 5* experience the staff bring to this establishment. Thoroughlly recommend to all for a quality hotel close to Theatreland and easy access to the Tube.

Room Tip: When booking, try and reserve a room on a higher floor for better views, rather than having to pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
It gives me so much pleasure to read that the team here has delivered outstanding and five star service. They always love to hear that all their hard work and effort helps create such memorable experiences for our guests. I do agree with your tip of reserving a river view room on a higher floor before arrival, as this eliminates any disappointments when we are busy as these are our most popular rooms.

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here as a base for seeing a show in the West End. We chose the location as being close enough to the West End, but reasonably quiet.

Looks like we won on both counts! It's only a short walk across the Hungerford Bridge to Waterloo and Embankment Tube is a stone's throw away. The sights of London are pretty much on the doorstep, but being Whitehall, it's no too busy come the weekend.

The room we had was a river view upgrade and worth the effort - if you're going to stay in the middle of town on the river, then may as well make the most of it with a great view.

The staff were most welcoming and the hotel & room spotless. The style is very modern; the only part of the hotel that alluded to the building's history was the lifts. Nothing wrong with them at all - it was just the only place I saw older interior panelling.

In summary, top location, good staff, interesting building, comfortable and well appointed clean room. If I was looking for a fault, then I would have to say that it lacked a tiny bit of character; it could have been any recently refitted hotel anywhere. Brown furniture, beige bathroom fit etc. the bed was huge and very comfortable though.

Having said that... The faults (such as they are) really go no further than that minor observation and I would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BsidetheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was a combination of a business and shopping trip. The staff is extremely pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The room was very cozy with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The only negative aspect of the room was that it appeared a bit dark. But, on the positive side, the bathroom has great lighting for applying makeup. Breakfast was also outstanding, including the service. I'll definitely stay at the Royal Horseguards next time I'm in London!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheckinOut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Love the location all you can think of "Royal" feeling is the right place to be! The accomodation and the staff are excellent!, The place is so close to all places like the Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square and of course the "PUBS" ! I can't wait to go back again and hopefully during the Olympics!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows and looking at the Thames..excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ego1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed in the Royal Horseguards on my first visit to London, so there was a sentimental nature to this visit. In the many years since my first visit, I hadn't been back, so I was quite curious as to what I would experience.

The hotel has been completely renovated. Our spacious room provided a tremendous view of the Thames and London Eye. The location between Trafalgar Square & Parliament and Westminster Abbey is absolutely perfect for exploring central London on foot.

Everything is completely up to what one would expect from a luxury hotel. Although I hate to tip others to a good thing, the room rates are a bit cheaper than other hotels with similar locations and accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a Thames view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbsinfll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,715 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,069 in London
2,498 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,069 in London
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,069 in London
3,966 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing