We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #99 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing upgrade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had the fortune to come stay at this hotel, after a mix up by the original hotel we booked with led them to relocate us to this hotel. As the original hotel had been booked on a deal and was 4*, to then be moved here was an incredible upgrade. We had been in London on a conference since early in the morning and I was tired and concerned that this new hotel would treat us as a minor inconvenience given that we had no direct obligation to them. However, I could not have been more wrong. From the moment I was helped out of the taxi by the attentive door staff, to the courteous manner in which we were checked in, to the insistence of the concierge to carry our suitcases I was completely awed by the impeccable service offered by this hotel.

Arriving at our room was another awe inspiring experience. Although not a large room, it was beautifully decorated with many modern facilities – most notably the television in the bathroom! A little disappointing I could never get the sound to work on this, although I assume this is a fault on my own tech understanding. There were lots of luxury items available in the room as standard which contributed to the feeling of extravagance and indulgence. Not having ever stayed in a 5* hotel before I felt like I was in Pretty Woman.

Breakfast was another triumph. I am quite set in my ways when I stay at hotels and always have the continental breakfast, which can generally be limited. Not so here! The breakfast selection was so big that the continental section had a different room to the cooked. And there were some unusual combinations I would not have thought would be offered at breakfast, such as gherkins and olives. Over the two days I sampled smoked salmon, mackerel, croissant, gherkins, cheddar, feta and brie cheeses, bread roll, toast (served to the table by the waiting staff), bagel, fruit, two different kinds of yoghurt, cereal and pastries.

I felt that the downside to the amazing service was the general harassed demeanour of the staff, as they seemed so eager to please us all the time but at times were a little over attentive, and from the conversations we saw took place between the staff it seemed like there was a general tension between staff. Overall though, this was an amazing place to stay and one I feel very lucky to have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik-n-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
I was delighted to read your kind words about your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am very pleased to see that you have experienced exceptional service levels throughout your stay. I do apologise that you felt our team were a little over attentive at times – it is always a delicate balance to give the right levels of service without being over the top or not attentive enough and we will review your feedback with the team so that it can be used as constructive feedback to demonstrate how it is perceived when we occasionally do not get it right. In order for our guests to depart with that kind of an impression of the hotel, we know every department and every member of staff needs to deliver constant and impeccable service and clearly on this occasion on the whole they did!!

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future, so that we once again can ensure that you have a relaxing time and another 5 star experience to make you feel at home away from home.

Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,019
    953
    308
    127
    50
See reviews for
672
2,239
131
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I visited the nights of October 7 through the 10th. This hotel is truly first class without being ostentatious. It is ideally located on the Thames River where you can take a day or evening cruise to see many historical sites, incuding during the day, to the Tower of London continuing on to St. Paul's and Piccadilly Square, etc. by taxi.
Within 15 minutes, you will be able to walk to Embankment Place (underground/pier), over the foot bridge to the Eye, along the river to Westminister Bridge all the time seeing Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. Another 15 minutes will take you over the Westminster foot bridge and on past Big Ben, Parliament and Westminster Abbey. From here you are about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Location, lcoation, location!
The staff at this hotel is outstanding in every way. Notable mentions are for Silva and Lianne, Reception, "Nash" and Phillip as Doorman and Concierge, respectively, and Huseyin in the breakfast room. Breakfast was outstanding if somewhat on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Request a king bed and a room on the river side, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed a first class stay with us and even more so that you received outstanding service from the entire team. The hotel truly is in an amazing location, very close to all the popular attractions and yet nicely tucked away from all the hustle bustle of the city. I will proudly forward your kind comments to the entire team, especially the team members that you have mentioned by name.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Can't beat the location. Great view of the Thames and the London eye from our room. Ask for a room with a view! Nicely appointed spacious rooms, and friendly staff.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Thames and London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jld94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. It is always recommended to book river view rooms at the time of making the reservation as they are very popular and are sometimes not available at the last moment.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you require any assistance in planning your nest visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed last night and used the meeting facilities throughout the day. What an absolutely beautiful hotel...both inside and out.
My room was very comfortable and included a small but well designed bathroom, great lighting, lovely toiletries by Elemis and iPod connection for music.
The staff in The Equus Bar were excellent and made a great G & T, reception staff helpful and available, and the breakfast, although busy, was delicious, quick and came with the best pot of Assam tea I've ever had.
Definitely give it a try if you want somewhere with style and grandeur without too much pomp and ceremony.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korinsan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
I sincerely appreciate that you used the words style and grandeur to portray The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We have recently refurbished all the Food & Beverage areas and upgraded the breakfast offering therefore it is delightful to see that you enjoyed your experience so much. I will be certain to pass on your feedback to the entire team who will most definitely be proud to read your remarks.

I hope you think of us the next time you return to stay in London.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I booked three nights for a holiday trip to London. We have stayed at the hotel on prior occasions while on business. In my opinion, this is the best hotel in the Westminster area and one of the best in London for the room rate level. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms and bathrooms exceptional and the location ideal. The main dining room is easily a five star restaurant. We had a fabulous meal with first class service during our recent visit. The hotel sits on the Thames, across from the London Eye, and is within walking distance of most major London sites. The Embankment tube station is nearby for all other needs. Extraordinary value and a real gem in the heart of London.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviator311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
I am very pleased to read your recent review with regards to your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel, especially that you have referred to us as one of the best in London and a gem. I was delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and found the service and facilities in the hotel to the highest standard. I have passed on your feedback to the whole team here at the hotel and I am very proud that they are consistently providing the best service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Horseguards Hotel the next time you have a reason to stay overnight in London.

Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for a special occasion over two nights. We were allocated a beautiful room with fantastic views of London, from our small balcony we could see the eye, big ben and a lovely view right across the Thames to St.Pauls.
Our room wasn't ready at check in, though we were early so our bags were taken to our room while we explored. A shame a promised phone call never happened to say our room was ready though...
Staff in all areas of the hotel were pleasant and attentive and given our room was so great - huge bed, lovely bathroom, toiletries etc and of course the view and room size - we would certainly not hesitate stay here again when we visit London.
The only down side for us was breakfast. It was included in our room rate, however, I be hard pushed to say I'd be happy to pay for it otherwise (£22.50pp) disappointing to say the least... Buffet style in a 5* hotel, limp bacon, underdone sausages, luke warm beans, soggy hash browns, stale coffee. Come on Royal Horseguards... You can do better.
Overall then... Stay here, it's beautiful and has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and tip-top decor throughout. Just don't look forward to your breakfast....

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayWogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you thought us to celebrate your special occasion and hope that it was a memorable one. I will definitely pass on your kind comments to the entire team at the Hotel for the fantastic service you were provided with. I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your breakfast experience – it is not our usual standard as you can see from some of the previous reviews. I have reviewed your comments with Ben Purton our Executive Head Chef and he is going to discuss it with all the chefs that work on breakfast to ensure that our standards do not slip in this area again.

I do hope the breakfast experience will not deter you from using the Royal Horseguards again in the future and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again on your next stay in London.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
232 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We got a good deal trough our travel agent and tought : why not try a bit of luxery for our next visit to London ? And we were very pleased: large room, large bathroom, very clean, very good service. Everybody friendly and excellent breakfast. So very pleased. Only downside : bed was a bith small and we had no view at all. But i guess when you have a discount deal you can't ask for it all ! We try it again next time and see if they can keep up the standard profived.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed a luxurious stay with us and that the service provided was excellent. We take pride in the standard of hospitality we provide and strive to improve on it with every passing day, therefore we aim to WOW you on your next visit to London. Due to the age of our building the rooms do vary in size - some of our rooms are inner facing (some clients like this as they are much quieter). There are also some very large rooms with beautiful views - but if a view is important to your stay it is always advisable to book this room type as they are in high demand and get booked up quite well in advance.

I sincerely hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing