We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“royal horseguards hotel excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #114 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“royal horseguards hotel excellent location”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. The location is excellent, short walk to Trafalgar Square and River Thames where the London Eye is. The Hotel Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are standard size for Europe like a studio unit less the cooking facilities. The furnishing is excellent with coffee and tea making facilities. For good deals book online for specials and prepayments. Make sure you bring along the reservation confirmation as well as evidence that you have made payment, just incase. We did not dine at the Hotel as it was quite pricy and around the Trafalgar area there are many diners that serve good and cheap breakfast.eg 10 pounds for 2 incl coffee. Transfers to and from this hotel can be easily booked online before you arrive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyhigh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you have experienced a friendly and helpful service from the hotel staff. We do indeed have some fantastic offers on our website and it is always worth checking what our latest offers are. I do hope that there was no further complication on check in despite the misunderstanding of the prepayment. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at The Royal Horseguards the next time you have reason to stay in London.

Kind regards,
Anna Marie Dowling
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,123
    1,001
    330
    137
    55
See reviews for
709
2,328
140
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I spent eight nights at the Royal Horseguards from 9/2 through 9/9/2011. Everything about this property is outstanding. The staff is plentiful and attentive. The rooms are gorgeous and the bathroom floor is heated! There is a TV over the tub in the bathroom. The location is outstanding - walking distance to Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament, London Eye, National Theatre, many other theatres, and the Embankment Underground stop. We will definitely choose this hotel on our next visit to London.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet street, with a park in front of the hotel and then the River Thames in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal14497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
It is fantastic to see that you had a fabulous week at The Royal Horseguards. Our guests who have the opportunity to enjoy a longer stay at the hotel can really enjoy all the aspects of the hotel and the five star service levels that we aspire to make as consistent as possible.

I was delighted to read your review and I have shared it with our team – I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Anna Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The best thing we did was upgrade to a view of the river. Eventhough this is your hotel and yes you are only there to sleep, still it is a great view at any time of the day and wonderful to wake up too.

This hotel is also close to many popular sightes in the city and you are close to the metro station as well as drop-off and pick-up places for the double decker tour bus. I would suggest taking the double decker tour bus the first day so that you can figure out where everything is and get your bareings.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkbirdwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your views about The Royal Horseguards Hotel. You are absolutely right when you are saying how wonderful it is to wake up with the fantastic view we can offer from our river facing rooms.

I do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again, so you can once more enjoy the breathtaking views.

Kind regards,
Anna Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Royal Horseguards is definitely 5 star in location (1/2 block from Embankment stop in Underground and walking distance to major London attractions), amenities, service, and cost. Guest manager Mattheus was excellent!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words and indeed your praise for The Royal Horseguards Hotel. You managed to say with a very few words so many positive things about the hotel and its advantages. I already have forwarded your comments to Matthias, who was absolutely delighted to receive your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you wish to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Anna Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

5 STAR quality all the way although, i would venture to say 7 stars in my experience!! awesome establishment in a prominent position facing the Thames. The service was attentive, professional and faultless. We had a Luxury River View Room - with dual balconies overlooking the Thames, Parliment House and the Eye. Spotlessly clean, contempory in style, full bathroom with a tv mounted on the wall. From the grand reception room fully furnished in quality luxurious fittings with open fire places, fine art works, candle and floral arrangements to the restuarants and outdoor terraces, you felt very privilaged to enjoy such a hotel, where the overall feeling was of something very special you felt "cosy" at the same time because of the very intimate arrangements of sitting areas. Full silver service buffett breakfast, with a large selection of quality food. The concierge and the doorman catered to your every need in a friendly and efficient manner. This hotel is at the higher end of the budget, but worth every cent.
We would love to return in the future and can highly recommend anyone looking for something truely special staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingfor7stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for your fantastic feedback here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I think you described everything in your review as perfectly as the team here are always striving to deliver to all of our guests. We are very proud to be a five star hotel - and also at time of responding to this review we are in the top 50 hotels in London on Trip Advisor. I believe it is also our duty to demonstrate to our guests from all over the world what our great British hospitality is all about, especially when they have such a long journey to the UK like yourselves (from Australia). After all it is you and all our other guests who are returning to their hometowns & countries who we rely on to be ambassadors of our lovely hotel by being able to talk so positively of the experience you had whilst staying with us.

It would be a great pleasure for us to be your host once again if you plan to visit London in the future.

Kind regards,
Anna Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed @ The Royal Horseguards for three nights.It is the very best in service & comfort. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was huge by London standards. The hotel is located across the street from Embankment station & an easy walk to Trafalgar Sq. & Covent Garden. If you are going to London this is the place to stay. Don't let the price give you pause, it is worth it.We will be staying here again. For a great english breakfast, walk 200 meters east on Victoria Embankment from the Embankment station to The Embankment Cafe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotnow78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for you lovely feedback following to your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel . It is our team who actually make the place “5star” and I am very pleased to hear that you felt that all the staff you encountered at hotel were very ready to go the so called “extra mile” to leave a 5 star impression on you. I will personally be sharing your review with our team here and thank them for putting in so much effort to ensure your expectations were exceeded. I am really delighted to hear that you would like to stay with us again on future visits to London. We all certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anna Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

From the moment we arrived until the morning of our depature we experienced real 5 star treatment. The hotel is situated near to the Embankment underground station and right by the Thames, but the surrounding streets were very quiet and peaceful. Our room was well furnished, with everything and more than you could have asked for. The restaurant (although we did not have dinner there) was light and airy and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were plentiful in numbers but not obtrusive. I would highly recommend the comfortable and well stocked bar, with its very more-ish cocktails. What a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapdancer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
With delight I have read your kind words about your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am very pleased that to see that you have experienced exceptional service levels throughout your stay. In order for our guests depart with that kind of impression of the hotel, we know every department and every member of staff needs to deliver a constant and impeccable service and clearly on this occasion they did!! I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future, so that we once again can ensure that you are have a relaxing time and another 5star experience in the British capital.

Kind regards,
Anna Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,802 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,069 in London
2,525 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,069 in London
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,069 in London
4,022 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
The Royal Horseguards London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing