We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Horseguards
Nearby Hotels
$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$283
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$262
$239
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$159
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,996)
Filter reviews
4,996 results
Traveler rating
3,343
1,088
353
148
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,343
1,088
353
148
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslondon eyeembankment tube stationtrafalgar squareriver viewroyal horse guardsequus barheated floorsdowning streetbig benafternoon teaheated towel rackunderfloor heatingbeautiful hotelcharing crossstar hotelcovent gardenturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
4,059 - 4,064 of 4,996 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This hotel is so nice. The hallways are narrow, long and quite. The rooms are quite spacious for England. The bathroom had a towel warming rack, vanity mirror and a tv in the bathtub/shower. The safe was large enough for a laptop. The breakfast was nice as was the room. The hotel itself was always quite. The only noise we heard were the garbage trucks in the morning. The hotel's Afternoon Tea, was lovely. Being that we were there during the Royal Wedding they offered a special Royal William and Kate Afternoon Tea. The hotel is directly across the river from the London Eye. Close to Westminister Abbey, Trafagar Square, Buckingham Palace and The Royal Horseguards. All within an easy walk. The Embankment tube station is literally around the corner from the hotel. It was a very pricey 2 nights there, however it was worth it, if you can afford it. We would definately return to this hotel. My husband and I were able to move about the room without stepping over luggage, or rolling to get off the bed, as we have seen some London rooms that 2 out of 4 sides of the bed are against the wall, with very little space at the foot of the bed either. Lovely lovely place would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gone_again18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for your fabulous review of The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are delighted to know that you were happy with the size of your room and the in-room amenities. Did you know that you even can charge your laptop whilst it is locked away in the safe? All our in-room safes are fitted with a socket, so our guests are able to charge their electronic device whilst it is stored in the safe. Have a look the next time you have the chance to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the nuisance of the early morning bin collection, we will address these comments with the contractor. Our pastry team will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed their special creation of the “Catherine & William Afternoon Tea” for the Royal Wedding. We hope that this enhanced your experience of this wonderful and extraordinary wedding while you were in London. Once again thank you for your delightful review and we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We recently stayed at the Royal Horseguards and had the most wonderful time. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the room was nice as well. The location is really convenient. It is located across the street from Embankment and within walking distance to many attractions. Philip, the concierge, was extremely helpful. We asked him for dinner recommendations every night and each restaurant recommendation he made was perfect. The rest of the staff was equally helpful too. We had a wonderful stay and can not wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dallasliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Thank you very much for your great feedback following your stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is always a delight for us to read when our guests have truly enjoyed their time at our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have experienced a committed service by our staff and that Philip in particular was very helpful. He will be proud to read that he was always spot on with your “appetite”. We certainly do not hope that our Concierge team will run out of recommendations, but next time you have reason to stay with us, you should also try our Two Rosette awarded “1212” restaurant, where we serve fantastic British and European cuisine. We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

by far, the royal horseguards is my favorite hotel after spending 15days in 4european cities. before arriving, i emailed the hotel to request an early check-in which was promptly taken care of.
check-in was a breeze and internet complimentary. their breakfast was good and very needed after a jetlagged sleepless night. the room is cute and the location is wonderful - we walked everywhere except the tower of london. everyone at the hotel was very courteous and helpful w/ taxi/room service/whatnot.
recommend this hotel to anyone going to london!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarplumshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback after your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We always try our best to accommodate our guests as early as possible even if their arrival is before our advertised check in time. We are also delighted to hear that you were able to relax and enjoyed the breakfast after your overnight flight. Most importantly for us is, that you felt very well looked after by all the staff at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. It goes without saying that we would be delighted to be your host again on your next trip to Europe.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Booked for one night because we were seeing a gig at the O2. Really great location, about 20 minutes on TUBE from Euston. Couldn't be easier to find. Fantastic, impressive reception hall, and harpist playing! A real one!! Bar was expensive but you expect that in such a place. Really close to key tourist sights. Room was gorgeous and the biggest bed I have ever seen and I have stayed at hotels in the USA. TV in the bathroom, lots of gadgets in the room, so much so it needs a room guide!! Quiet location for such a central location. Didn't have the chance to experience the food but if the accommodation was anything to go by it would be fab. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer. Next time I think I won't bother going out, I'll just lounge about in the hotel - it was that nice!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Thames.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLondon, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will most definitely forward your wonderful feedback to the rest of our team. I hope you enjoyed the show at the O2 arena. I do hope you have the opportunity to return to the Royal Horseguards so that you can experience our newly refurbished Lounge and Restaurant. Thank you again for your kind comments and we do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future!


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was the third time I have stayed at this hotel over the course of eight years. Each time I have been delighted with the experience and felt that staying there greatly enhanced my vacation. The service is always outstanding, the atmosphere is one of elegance and old world charm and the location cannot be beat. Located just a block or so from Trafalgar Square you can walk to many of the main attractions, yet it is quiet and relaxing around and within the hotel itself. There are many extras provided as part of your stay ranging from tea and cookies in the room, to newspapers to read in the beautiful lounge, to heated floors and towel racks to ensure your comfort in the room. The Royal Horseguards is classified as a five star hotel and has earned it! I would recommend staying at this hotel to everyone visiting London as a gift to themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews