We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassadors Hotel
Ranked #939 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've stayed in the Ambassadors Hotel a few times. It's a short walk to Gloucester Road tube station (on the Picadilly line) and close to Earl's Court and some good pubs. Okay, it's not five-star but cheap and secure. You're in London folks, you don't want to be hanging around in your hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was originally booked in at the Jury's on Great Russell Street but they were over booked so they sent us here. When we went up to our original room, it was so tiny and dreary my husband said "absolutely not". I returned to the front desk and asked for their largest room. They upgraded me at a small cost to a triple which just meant there were three single beds shoved in this way and that. At least you could turn around in this bathroom. Lighting poor throughout and no amenities other than a nice bar off the lobby. Good location,(walking distance from Russel street tube station) nice staff but rooms were worn and not clean. There are far better choices, espeically for a 3 star hotel. I would never stay here again under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy. If you stay try the back. There was a pool and fitne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I booked a single room in this hotel while looking for an apartment here in London. The room was very small with poor illumination and the view outside the window was not nice. Internet was not free but quite expensive, and in my room the signal was low. It was hard to stay for more than one week.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giulia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I should have known much better than to have booked this hotel with the reviews that it had but I was struggling to find something in the Kensington area at a reasonable price for a one-night boys outing to a football game so I went for it.
I booked a triple room, it was in the basement, with no windows...The temperature when we opened the door was a very hot and stuffy 29°C ! So we switched on the aircon and wound it down to 19° but soon after we got to bed we realised that with the noise it was making and the cold air wafting over the three side-by-side beds we wouldn't sleep. Add to that the green light on some kind of ceiling detector and it was like sleeping in a WW2 bunker !
Needless to say, we didn't sleep much, constantly getting up to switch on or off the aircon. This is a very poor tourist hotel, looks fine from outside but woah, keep looking !

Room Tip: If you must stay here, not the basement !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bussetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Arriving late - after midnight - we just went straight to bed, but when we woke in the morning we noticed the room weren't properly cleaned.
Breakfast was not included in our package, and really wasn't worth the 10£ extra.
We had ordered a 3-bed room, and thus ended up in the basement, without window. The room was terrible small and there wasn't space for suitcases anywhere in the room.
The electric system was failing, lights coming and going at its own will. Trying the hair-dryer in the bath resultet in sparks flying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerIvar-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very close to the Earls Court exhibition hall this hotels offers the basic service of sleeping and getting a shower. You can order junk food but I wouldn't recommend judging from the horrible breakfast you get: cold toasts and butter with coffee or tea. Nothing else.
as far as the rooms are concerned, I got one in the basement with no windows and a pilar in the middle of a very small room crammed with 3 beds!
Toilet was small but adequate.
Unless there´s nothing else around please try to find something nicer to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

As previous reviews have said , you get what you pay for , although location needs to be taken into account in the price . Room was in the basement and tiny , However was clean , which is the most important factor .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_T_Chorlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#736 of 1,076 in London
675 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#942 of 1,076 in London
296 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#764 of 1,076 in London
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#922 of 1,076 in London
110 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#709 of 1,076 in London
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Address: 16 Collingham Road, London SW5 0LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #939 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $53 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with multilingual staff, comfortable rooms situated close to Gloucester Road. Ambassadors Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from Earl’s Court Underground Station, and Harrods is a 20-minute walk. Hyde Park and the Royal Albert Hall are just a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing