We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, worth the money”
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassadors Hotel
Ranked #934 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, worth the money”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a Deluxe twin room. It was down in the basement, it was small, and it had no windows.

However, it was very clean, modern décor, had air conditioning and all other facilities you would need, eg. tea/coffee facilities/hair dryer/tv. The bathroom was a good size with a double cubicle with powerful, warm shower and was modern and clean.

The location was ideal, just off Cromwell Road which gives easy access to pubic transport but also within walking distance of the main attractions.

We didn't eat there so can't comment on that but the bar and eating area was also exceptionally clean and the menu looked good and reasonably priced.

The staff were courteous and our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels provided.

This is on the lower budget as far as hotel prices go compared to many in London and I believe you get what you pay for.

If you are looking for better then pay more.

We paid £192 for a deluxe twin room for 2 nights through a booking agent. I thought this was excellent value for money and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the basement which was newly decorated with a new modern bathroom. It was very warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liviboysfc_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    242
    395
    246
    345
See reviews for
260
402
90
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Although booked a deluxe double room the room was the size of the bed no closet window looking at the rear of building the bathroom was renovated but already had signs of wear and tear. The towels were clean but with chlorine fragrance !! The common areas were badly maintained lots of wear and tear . There was no fridge in the room and the wifi was probably the worst I ever encounter with a cost of one pound per hour . The staff was ok . The only positive was the location close to underground and the natural history museum but there are plenty of hotels around .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Irelan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel varies significantly depending on which floor you stay. Basement and 1st Floor appears to have been refurbished, they are clean and adequate, however they are possibly the smallest hotel rooms in the world. The basement is like a maze, feels like you are in tunnels in WW2 bunkers and definitely not for the claustrophobic.
The upper floors go from bad to worse, in need of major refurbishment, holes in the walls from old art etc, parts of wall repainted, almost the same colour as the original. Biggest down side was you will be sleeping on fold out camp beds, just not good enough.
Breakfast was fine, check in and out was smooth but very clinical, not many pleasantries around here. When checking in at 2,40 was asked could we not have waited till 3.
On the up side the location is great, close to the museums and 5 walk to the Underground.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymc9633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

With hotel prices so high in London these days, I was surprised to find a twin room here for under £100 including a continental breakfast. The bed and bedding was very good. Room was well appointed but very small, and the bathroom (shower only) even smaller. No air con. Kettle etc but was impossible to get it under the tap as the sink was so small. Hair dryer.

The bar closed by midnight even though there were plenty of people in it at the time. Breakfast room has limited space. *** If you come down the stairs, watch out for the step when you open the door to reception... it is a black floor and not well lit, and you don't expect a step down through the door! ***

Only about a 5 minute walk from Gloucester Rd tube.

First room in basement wasn't good, offered alternative on first floor without any hassle.

Breakfast (had continental included in room rate) was a selection of cereals, croissants, toast (very limp), danish (very tough!), and jams etc. Tea or coffee (from flasks) and fruit juices. Normal value on menu £10, and definitely not worth it at that price. Croissants were nice, didn't care for anything else.

A continental with meat was on the menu at £15, and a cooked breakfast also £15.

As a place to sleep it's good value for money and good quality sleep, but I'd go out for breakfast unless you are a light eater and like croissants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Booked in by work as I had a meeting nearby. The staff were helpful and friendly, check-in and check-out were quick. I had a double room which was quite small but l was on my own so it was ok. The kettle was too big to easily fill from the bathroom tap - there was no bath, just a shower which lacked water-pressure. The sink leaked from its waste pipe the first time I used it; but this was quickly fixed by the staff. Breakfast was ok, but not included in the room price and I didn't realise I could have had an English rather than continental breakfast. There wasn't a great choice and the toast was cold as it was left on the table - I much prefer when it arrives still warm. Overall I thought it was ok, nothing special but if I was booked there again I wouldn't mind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment; the rooms are extremely small, very shabby and in desperate need of redecoration; the staff were helpful but following company policy and with little initiative; in the middle of the night one could hear noise from the next door room which was extremely disruptive and required a change in rooms; the marketing offer stated that the first night was at an attractive price but the second night was very pricey and in line with corporate rates of 5 star hotels; all in all a very disappointing experience; a hotel to avoid

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thearthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Small room about 8 foot square. I didn't know rooms could be that small. One side of bed against wall. No proper shower just hand held over bath. Was clean. Good location, comfy bed, nice and quite, shame they have made rooms so small I think because of the location if they renovated the rooms and made them much larger it could be a very good hotel. Staff polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Room was about 8 foot square, no proper shower only hand held over bath, was clean, could only get i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#710 of 1,068 in London
1,044 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#788 of 1,068 in London
645 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#690 of 1,068 in London
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Park Hotel
#861 of 1,068 in London
2,638 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#470 of 1,068 in London
2,054 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Property: Ambassadors Hotel
Address: 16 Collingham Road | Earls Court, London SW5 0LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #934 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with multilingual staff, comfortable rooms; situated close to Gloucester Road. Ambassadors Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from Earl’s Court Underground Station, and Harrods is a 20-minute walk. Hyde Park and the Royal Albert Hall are just a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing