We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Henley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Henley House Hotel
Ranked #285 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
mysore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location is superb with plenty of dining options and extreme proximity to Earls Court tube station. Rooms are clean, fresh and very well maintained. The housekeeping is very effective as I came back to a brilliantly clean room each day. Breakfast is the regular fare and it would be great to have seen a smiling face at breakfast service. But the staff at the front desk more than make up for that by being polite and courteous. I will certainly go back here and will recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Central London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinitarashinkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    267
    67
    26
    10
See reviews for
72
200
85
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel is apparently undergoing a refurbishment which would probably explain why there was building material left in the hallway and on the stairs, if we had known this we would have gone elsewhere. Room was small and ensuite was fine as long as you didn't want to turn around. Poor value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjcejsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were pleased to find a great deal (including a modest continental breakfast) in such a great location. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Rooms are tiny, even by London standards. The shower door was difficult to get open after showering, which would be problematic for solo travelers but my husband and I were able to rescue each other whenever we got stuck.

Fabulous large flat screen TV with lots of channels

Housekeeping was irregular

The biggest problem was that the hotel is undergoing renovation and it is noisy. We were on the same floor and right next door to two rooms that were being renovated. While work was restricted to 8am to 5pm on weekdays and 10am to 1pm on Saturday, that made it difficult to nap or relax during the day. Plus the workers often seemed to hang around after 5pm making noise. We suspect some of them may have been camping out and partying in the rooms that were being renovated because the noise often went on late into the night

Another frustration was that our room's renovations were not quite complete, meaning that while there was a space for a minifrig, it was missing. We were able to get ice upon request from the front desk staff, but cultural differences with respect to what constitutes a glass of ice were clearly in evidence

Once the renovations are complete, this will be a great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffenzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Henley House Hotel was a great find at Earl"s Court London. Two min. walk from Earl's Court tube station it's an excellent location.
I had a single room, although small it was newly renovated, ultra modern and clean. The console has every outlet you, iphone, ipod...
I loved the cool bathroom and shower stall. The staff were helpful and the breakfast room was bright and adequate continental breakfast.
The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that the console dimmer button would not go off completely when I went to bed. Other than that it's good value for money. I'll be back

Room Tip: When you check in just make sure the dimmer button on the bed console works completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked for two nights but checked out after one. The stair carpets were badly worn on the edges which gave a bad impression. The room was tiny, bathroom so small I had to dry myself outside in the bedroom. There are venetian blinds on a glass screen separating the Loo from the bed. The curtains are a poor fit letting in too much light. The wardrobe did not exist, just a shallow cupboard near the door which was useless. The bed and room were very clean with good lighting. The breakfast tables were a joke, hardly room for one and the full breakfast was beans two eggs and bacon for which we paid extra. The coffee was good. The staff very friendly. Value for a single person for one night stopover in my opinion would be about £45.00 per night. A similar hotel in Antwerp, Belgium with extensive buffet breakfast costs 65 Euro for the room with airconditioning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have been here half a dozen times - usually with a friend, this time with my granddaughter - and every time I feel right at home! It is centrally located so the price is a bargain! The staff is always friendly! Rooms are being renovated so the décor will be amazing, though I miss some of the charm. We always stay in Room 12 at the front - a view of the park across the street, French doors that open and a small balcony - yes, all that in London for an affordable price. And breakfast in the conservatory is great!

Room Tip: This is the only place in London (after more than half a dozen trips) where they serve good coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Rooms very small, and bathroom so small that access to shower was very limited by wash basin. Elevator did not go past 3rd fl. I was given a room on 4th fl. Stairs very narrow and steep, and no one available to help with luggage. No air conditioning.
Room very clean and modern, and location good - 2 blocks to Earl's Court Tube.
Hotel was undergoing remodeling. This should have been noted during booking.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 3rd fl or below. Travel very light!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#399 of 1,069 in London
164 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#170 of 1,069 in London
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,698 reviews
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#276 of 1,069 in London
624 reviews
South Kensington
The Rembrandt
The Rembrandt
#221 of 1,069 in London
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henley House Hotel

Property: Henley House Hotel
Address: 30 Barkston Gardens | Earl's Court, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
#274 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Business Hotel in London
#325 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Henley House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a picturesque residential garden square, Henley House is a unique boutique hotel located in the vibrant Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea in the heart of London. This beautiful traditional townhouse has been given a fresh new look and concept, offering a rich blend of modern decor and classical features. Our contemporary styled air conditioned rooms have been designed with the utmost care and attention to detail. High quality fixtures and fittings ensure comfort and elegance, whilst LED and fibre optic lighting create a romantic and calming ambiance. Our vision of interior design is modern minimalist.We stand for luxurious accommodation at exceptional value and offer a level of personal comfort, friendly service and charm that only a small hotel can. All of our rates include a continental breakfast buffet, high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our specially designed workstation, which includes a custom made desk with a built in audio and video connectivity panel, enables you to access the Internet and synchronise any portable device with the in-room Smart TV. The Samsung Smart High Definition TV comes with free facilities including a full web browsing option, perfect for if you are travelling without your personal laptop. And of course, all of our rooms are air conditioned/climate controlled and can be adjusted to your personal comfort level through the in-room control panel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Henley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Hotel London
Henley London
Henley House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing