We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & bad”
Review of Henley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Henley House Hotel
Ranked #320 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good & bad”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group. First, the positive. The location was perfect.....extremely close to Earls Court tube station which is a major tube line & close to many restaurants & stores. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Free wi-if is a huge plus to me. The breakfast was more substantial than the hotel our group used last year which was nice. As several reviewers have mentioned the hotel is undergoing a renovation. I happened to stay in an unrenivated room for most of my week stay and a renovated room for one night (explanation coming). Yes, the unrenovated rooms are old and, well, a little shabby. But they had charm! I wish the renovations had upgraded the mattresses, bedding, carpets, etc. but maintained the charm! Instead the renovated room are extremely modern, almost futuristic. I prefer the old style, just upgraded.
My review would be completely positive except for one incident. I returned to my room one day to find an inch deep level of feces in my bathroom. That had ran down from the ceiling. Feces. Very gross. This explains my one night stay in a renovated room for repairs to be made & cleaning. First I had to replace all my bathroom items (toothbrush, hair brush, etc.) at my own expense as feces had ran down the wall. Second the hotel would not allow me to stay in the renovated room for the remaining 2 nights of my stay requiring two moves. I understand things can happen during a renovation but I feel the hotel could have handled this better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    266
    67
    26
    10
See reviews for
72
200
84
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night recently because some friends I was meeting in London had already booked it and so I thought I'd join them there.The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation work and I saw 2 rooms. My room was on the first floor giving onto the back garden. Everything in the room was tired around the edges, worn covers on the chair, worn woodwork on the furniture etc etc. You get the idea. Both the room and the bathroom were clean. Minimal noise from the outside, generally a quiet room. My friends room was on the ground floor, spacious and I think the bathroom had recently been renovated. They told me it was a noisy room. Breakfast was nice - continental style with a good choice of cereal, fruit etc etc. Good location as just round the corner from Earl's court tube station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanskybaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A very convenient location with the Earl's Court Station just a short 5 minute walk away. The hotel is located on a quiet street with a park area across the road and has all the facilities and services of Earl's Court Road a 100m or so down the road. The room we were in was located on the basement level (accessible by a very small lift or stairs) at the rear of the hotel which avoided any road noise but the corridor was cluttered with excess hotel items. A french door in the room gave access to a very small outdoor area which appears to be for hotel outdoor storage spaces. No hotel car park is available.

The room is small as is the bathroom but both were clean and reasonably well maintained. There was no tea/coffee making facility in the room or fridge to keep drinks cold. The bed is only of double-bed size and was a little uncomfortable. The continental style breakfast was very good with the ability to self cook boiled eggs, have fresh made toast or even ask for a cooked breakfast.

The staff are very courteous and helpful and were willing to make taxi bookings for us when we needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff is as kind and helpful as can be.
The location is simply PERFECT: 200 meters from Earls Court, in a quiet and beautiful street of Kensington. In front of the hotel there is one of those famous private gardens...
The breakfast room (conservatory) is full of light and cozy.
We happened to stay in two different rooms. This is what I can say:

Room #1: for two people is huge & very quiet. BUT the rugs are ancient. That would be acceptable if they were clean... And they are not. Fragments of someoneelse's nails were on the floor... Imagine the dust etc. There are no security gratings at the windows, and the room is on the -1 level, I.E. everyone could get inside it from the street. The air circulation system in the bathroom doesn't work.

Room #24: the room is tiny for a double room. The paving is really noisy. The rugs are ok, but stll not very clean. Tapestry is ancient, and "white" curtains do not block the light at all. The air circulation system in the (tiny) bathroom doesn't work, and the whole room is mouldy.

Even though the prices are "low" comparing to other neighbour hotels that are FAR worse than this, they are still quite high. I am still uncertain on if I would stay there again...

Room Tip: I would prefer rooms in -1 level. They are quieter after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olgulishius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel is clean and room ok.
However I've been unfortunate to get room 10 which is located right in middle of the staircase, leading to 1st floor rooms + lift for upper floors.

This location is way too noisy and having read good critics on this site, I'm now disappointed with my choice. I tried to change room without any luck :(

Room Tip: Avoid the first floors if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdvisedG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for my time in london! Mainly stayed here because it is close to Chelsea football club stadium! But it is very good location for everything! Located in Earls Court! You are very close to the underground to get around! The staff is very friendly and very helpful! They helped me out every time! Was very comforable and clean! Can't beat it for the price and location! Would stay again here for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princecharming37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is located on a quiet side street in Earl's Court a short walk from the tube station on the Piccadilly Line, the tourists' lifeline in London. There are plenty of ameninties nearby ranging from restaurants, takeaways, grocery stores, ATM,s and pharmacies. The area is very safe and setup to cater to the largely Australian toursit trade.

The hotel itself gets a A for effort and a C for execution. The friendly, helpful staff tries incredibly hard but they only have so much to work with. In fact, it feels more like you're staying with relatives rather than at a hotel which contributes to the rather homey feeling. The rooms are clean but a little dated and do feature an in-room safe, always a nice touch when travelling. The breakfast buffet is basic but filling and features the coolest egg poacher I've ever seen. Just be sure not to make the same mistake I did and assume the eggs in the bowl are already cooked - made a bit of a mess.

All in all my son and I enjoyed our five night stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnumPEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#399 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#167 of 1,068 in London
950 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,695 reviews
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#290 of 1,068 in London
623 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henley House Hotel

Property: Henley House Hotel
Address: 30 Barkston Gardens | Earl's Court, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#274 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Business Hotel in London
#325 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Henley House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a picturesque residential garden square, Henley House is a unique boutique hotel located in the vibrant Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea in the heart of London. This beautiful traditional townhouse has been given a fresh new look and concept, offering a rich blend of modern decor and classical features. Our contemporary styled air conditioned rooms have been designed with the utmost care and attention to detail. High quality fixtures and fittings ensure comfort and elegance, whilst LED and fibre optic lighting create a romantic and calming ambiance. Our vision of interior design is modern minimalist.We stand for luxurious accommodation at exceptional value and offer a level of personal comfort, friendly service and charm that only a small hotel can. All of our rates include a continental breakfast buffet, high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our specially designed workstation, which includes a custom made desk with a built in audio and video connectivity panel, enables you to access the Internet and synchronise any portable device with the in-room Smart TV. The Samsung Smart High Definition TV comes with free facilities including a full web browsing option, perfect for if you are travelling without your personal laptop. And of course, all of our rooms are air conditioned/climate controlled and can be adjusted to your personal comfort level through the in-room control panel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Henley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Hotel London
Henley London
Henley House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing