We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diabolical!!”
Review of So Paddington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
So Paddington
Ranked #975 of 1,069 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diabolical!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked a visiting business colleague into this so-called hotel. Upon checking in & then being shown his room, he was so appalled at the standard that he refused to stay there and complained at Reception, where he was advised that he had been allocated the best room in the property! He promptly left & the hotel has refuted his complaints.
The carpets were stained, the furniture was dilapidated, the walls were scratched & marked, the net curtains were filthy and the tiny bathroom was filthy.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    49
    88
    46
    153
See reviews for
33
144
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramallah
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What you experience in this terrible hotel has nothing to do with the promotion of their website through booking.com. Rooms are very small, bath is so dirty, no internet services as they claim is free, no changing of sheets, no sweaping the floors. When we complained they offer us 10% off which we did not agree. The bottom line is a very terrible place to stay. We would sue them for the cheating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HK287701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Corsham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked a 1-night stay for 15 June 2013 and were about an hour away when we received an e-mail to say that there was a problem with the hotel and they were re-locating us to the So West Luxury Apartments in Shepherds Bush, 6 stops away on the Underground. They alleged that they had tried to call us but there were no records of missed calls on any of our phones.We went straight to the apartments to find that it was a multi-storey block of flats on Shepherds Bush Road with no reception area. We rang the hotel to be told that they would send someone along 'within 10 minutes'. About 5minutes (and a soaking) later someone appeared from inside the building and let us in. Having confirmed our names he let us in to what must be admitted was a very pleasant and fairly new apartment, although to describe it as 'luxury' could be stretching the truth a little. We had booked for bed and breakfast and asked if there were any arrangements for breakfast, but of course there weren't any. By this time we were late for our appointment near to Paddington Station and had to take a taxi, costing £16. We went back to the apartment but found it difficult to get to sleep due to the continuous traffic noise outside, which went on until the early hours. We were woken early by the sound of the morning traffic, including the sirens of emergency vehicles well before 7a.m.
Obviously we had to find somewhere to buy breakfast, which cost us a further £26.
We contacted the So Paddington Hotel on our return home and after some discussions they have given us a refund of £10 to cover the cost of breakfast. Basically they couldn't care less about the additional costs and inconvenience that we incurred and so far as customer care is concerned they get a minus score.
Incidentally if you decide to stay at the 'Luxury Apartments' we suggest you take your own cooking utensils, as they were limited to 2 saucepans and nothing else!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CrustyTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Thanks for the email dated 02.06.2013. We couldn't reply to earlier since after London we went to Zurich and Switzerland and we just came back on 09.06.2013. Our stay at Padington Hotel,was truly memorable and we thoroughly enjoyed the same. The location was superb and hospitality of all the staff, at reception in the breakfast room etc. was very good. We will definitely visit and stay at the hotel during our next visit PL do give us priority.I have already recommended the hotel to a friend of mine who is likely to visit London in September.

R.G.Sheth

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank shethrajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed in this house of horror in march 2013 for 4 days , and it was the worst days of my life.
The room was tiny with a very cheap bed mattress , the windows do not close properly and the central heating not working and it was freezing in london in the end of march . The room had a tv with wrong remote , I asked the reception and every day I get the wrong remote so I spend 4 days without a tv. The breakfast room's door is under the stairs so it is a real challenge to find it . The reception manager was the most polite and inefficient man in the world all he knows is (I am terribly sorry sir) and then he does nothing to fix the probleme. Stay clear of this hotel , u will regret it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lysemadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Bathroom was TINY but apart from that very comfortable and friendly. Was expecting the worst after reading the reviews but it was completely adequate. Close to Paddington tube, restaurants everywhere, and a simple but nice breakfast :) I don't know what people expect for £80 p/n in central London!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alivaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A low class hotel with some failures, yes, but considering the location and the price I do not think you should expect more in London.
I have been to London about 10 times, and it is hard to find a cheep, central hotel without sharing toilet/bathroom, and also breakfast is not always included.
Falures was things as: Tiny space, old furniture, old bed, not so thorough cleaning, bad coffee, cold eggs for breakfast, and not always happy staff. So if you think you can live with those minor failures, I definitely will recommend this hotel.
Wifi was easily accesible everywhere at the hotel.
So, all together very high value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#615 of 1,069 in London
587 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#666 of 1,069 in London
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashley London
#887 of 1,069 in London
479 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#659 of 1,069 in London
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to So Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about So Paddington

Property: So Paddington
Address: 6-8 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England (Formerly Warwick Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #975 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — So Paddington 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel housed in a listed building dating from the 1920s; situated in a tree lined square; 200 mts from Paddington station; walking distance to Hyde Park and Edware Road; Newly refurbished and reopened in Oct 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your So Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
So Paddington Hotel London
Warwick Hotel London
London Warwick Hotel
Warwick London
So Paddington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing