We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for price we paid through Hotels.com”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Mornington Hotel
Ranked #417 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great deal for price we paid through Hotels.com”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here during August. We were pleased with this hotel based on the price we paid. Staff were very helpful and accommodating with our ongoing requests for ice, restaurant recommendations and directions to places. Hotel is close to Lancaster and Paddington stations. A great cafe right behind the hotel that we went to in the morning for a full English breakfast. Rooms are not big but if you have been to London or other European cities this is common unless you wish to pay a lot more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beadle_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Beadle_07,
Thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor. All the feedback we get through tripadvisor helps us to improve the service and experience that we give to future guests.
I am delighted that you found our hotel to be great value. We constantly review our prices to ensure that our prices are lower than similar standard hotels in the area.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    346
    147
    42
    21
See reviews for
143
279
92
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here in July during London heatwave. The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished. Our double room on second floor was clean front facing with quiet cool air-conditioning - a must for London in Summer. Breakfast buffet was good and the service very helpful. Complimentary wi-fi worked well. Tea/coffee equipment available but no mini-bar fridge.

Hotel is in a quiet central location one street back from busy Bayswater Road with Lancaster Gate Tube station 3 min walk away and 10 min walk to Paddington Station (Heathrow Express) 10 min walk or Queensway restaurant strip. Very pleased with our three night stay and would recommend the hotel to any one looking for 4 quality at 3 star prices.

Room Tip: Room 202 is front facing with cool quiet air-cond. Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Christopher S
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I appreciate all the feedback that I receive from our guests as it helps me in improving the service that we can give our future guests.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel was clean and is conveniently located just 2 blocks from Hyde Park and if you enjoy walking, which we do, you can walk to all of the main landmarks including Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, 10 Downing Street, etc. The rooms were extremely tiny. My husband and I stayed in a room with a double bed and there was about 2 feet on either side of the bed and only about 4 feet at the foot of the bed. A small desk was tucked into a little cubby hole and there was a small bathroom as well.

There was a raised threshold into the threshold and my husband and I both almost tripped over it multiple times. I was surprised zoning allowed it, definitely seemed like a safety hazard. Shower head came lose and flew off while I was showering. Had to call to get room service clean our room.

Not the place to go if you are looking for any amenities or creature comforts and I wouldn’t wanted to have stayed there for more than a night or two, simply because of the very tight quarters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadvicefromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear tripadvicefromme
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience with us on tripadvisor. We take all the feedback we get very seriously as we use this as our key tool to improve experience that we can give to our future guests. We go through all the reviews posted on tripadvisor and on other booking websites daily with the leadership team with in the hotel.
I am very sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We have updated all the websites that we are listed on to include the room sizes as we have had comments about this before. This is a common complaint from people new to London as Like New York and Paris, the Rooms are generally smaller here than you would expect in a more modern city. Our Double rooms are on average 13.5 square metres and our twin rooms are on average 16.6 square meters. For savvy bookers I would recommend booking a twin room as all these rooms can have the beds linked thus you get a slightly larger room with a super king sized bed rather than the queen bed that we have in our doubles.
I understand your comments about the threshold. This was something we looked at when we refurbished the hotel. On the balance we decided to keep these as it would prevent floods from spreading into the bedroom.
In regards to your comments about the Amenities and Creature Comforts, we upgraded all the amenities and towelling last year to give our guests a better experience. If you have the time to drop me a line I would be interested to know what else you would expect at a four star hotel,.
Once again please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion and thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Kind regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location near the Paddington Station and Lancaster Gate underground station to travel to/from Heathrow and around London. Next to Hyde Park, but the street is not the busy one. Friendly and professional personnel. Good breakfast although if you prefer just a small breakfast there are sandwich bars nearby with smaller price. Bed was excellent. I was glad there was no carpet in my room. Iron and ironing board, water kettle in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osopequena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear osopequena
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am very grateful for all the feedback that I receive from our guests as it helps me in improving the service that we can give our future guests.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is situated in a very good location. It is a walking distance from Hyde Park, bus stops, Paddington train station and away from crowds. The front desk and also the breakfast staff were genuine and friendly. The hotel itself is quaint, comfortable and nice. Our kids liked it but would also be perfect for couples. I give it a thumbs-up and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WILL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear WILL L
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We take all the feedback we get very seriously as we use this as our key tool to improve experience that we can give to our future guests. We go through all the reviews posted on tripadvisor and on other booking websites daily with the leadership team with in the hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Staff here is very friendly. Breakfast is great! A lot to choose from. Room I had was lovely. Yes, small, but I've seen smaller :) Seriously!
BUT - my God, my room was close to the elevator and this is the loudest elevator ever! Whenever it stopped on my floor there was around 5 (or more) second long ring which in the middle of the night sounds like it will never end. It's simply horrible. And when someone is entering room next door it sounds like someone is trying to open your own door. Not pleasant at all.

But bottom line; I'd stay here again but I'd make sure to get a room as far away from the elevator as possible. OR - I'd bring my own ear-plugs!

Room Tip: Ask for room as far away from the elevator as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Katarina D
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I appreciate all the feed that that we get as it helps me improve the experience that we can give to our future guests.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about the elevator and we have silenced the floor announcements and the beeps so that it will not disturb anyone else.
I look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in London.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here last week. The hotel has a great location near many tube stations and the Paddington trains. And I felt safe returning to the hotel at night alone.
Mr Wilson, the general manager, was extremely prompt and helpful in sorting out my enquiry about available rooms, even offering me an upgrade when rooms became available. Would definitely stay here again.

Tjoa Shze Hui, Singapore

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shzehui t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear shzehui t
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. I appreciate all the feedback that I receive from our guests as it helps me in improving the service that we can give our future guests.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful for your recommendation of our Hotel and location.
Kind Regards
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#391 of 1,068 in London
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,068 in London
332 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,068 in London
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mornington Hotel

Property: Best Western Mornington Hotel
Address: 12 Lancaster Gate | Westminster, London W2 3LG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#287 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Family Hotel in London
#326 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Mornington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Hyde Park and moments away from Paddington, The Best Western Mornington Hotel is an oasis of peace yet only minutes from London’s West End and Oxford Street.Completely refurbished to combine its Victorian Splendour with a modern contemporary finish, the BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel the perfect hotel for your visit to London. With 70 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, Complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout the Hotel, a professional meeting room, and stylish bar our London Hotel is perfect for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Mornington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing