We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
Ranked #449 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“less than average hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

room very small dirty paintwork. Tap in bathroom ran all night despite constantly attempting to switch off. Shower cabinet disgraceful with mould on tiles also shower tray blocked and took up to half an hour to drain. Reported all of this to reception staff and were assured it would be fixed, needless to say this did not happen. Breakfast utensils were dirty and chairs in lounge area were torn in some instances. Overall very disappointing. Would not use Days Inn again (in London or else where). We have visited hotels of a similar description/rating in London previously but found this to be very poor in comparison. I would like to add that this is the first time in thirty years of travelling that I have ever felt the need to place a negative review on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Try else where in London because we were not offered a different room when we complained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issam I, General Manager at Days Hotel London- Waterloo, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Denise,
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at Days Hotel Waterloo.
It’s important for us to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We appreciate your effort and time to highlight the issues you experienced whilst staying with us. Corrective steps will be taken.
Best Regards
Issam Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    1,297
    591
    126
    68
See reviews for
428
1,198
135
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

You know what yours going to get with Days Inn and this delivers a typical Days Inn experience. Cheap but practical and walking distance of Waterloo station. Clean, comfortable room with small ensuite. Not much else to add.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Miguelito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issam I, Manager at Days Hotel London- Waterloo, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Miguelito1,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Best Regards Issam Ismail General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel about 6:30am so were expecting to store our luggage until later but when the staff member at reception checked the computer a room was ready for us so we were able to take our bags up straight away at no extra cost. The room itself was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The location was great, 2 min walk to Lambeth North underground and an easy walk to the London Eye and Westminster Bridge. Now for the negitave: The shower was tiny and awkard and it took me a few minutes to work out the knobs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Irland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is clean and okay. A bit poor service, boring breakfastm small and sad rooms, however okay value for the money.

However, the internet connection is very slow and signal is low is many rooms, which makes it almost impossible to work from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasperHove1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issam I, General Manager at Days Hotel London- Waterloo, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Mr Hove

Thank you for your reply. We are sorry to hear that you experienced poor service at our hotel. We are working on the issues you have addressed. And we hope next time you stay with us, you would have a complete different experience.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I prepaid for my hotel room prior to my arrival. I was there on a one day business trip. After a day of meetings I came to the hotel at around 11pm only to find out that they had double booked my prepaid room. The staff were nice to me and genuinely felt sorry but that's not my problem. They had already accepted payment and not delivered goods. I then had to spend around 1.5 hr waiting until past midnight for them to find me another hotel. Rather than provide me with a decent hotel to make up for things, I got put in some dungeon dwelling. Only positive was that the room I was in was stuck between the kitchen and the breakfast dining hall just to make sure I wouldn't get any unnecessary sleep and could brush up on my Polish culinary vocabulary as I literally could hear every single word uttered in the kitchen. Which reminds me, Pavel, ease up on the salt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

For a London hotel the prices seem reasonable enough, although I do know of hotels of similar quality that charge a lot less. Certainly this is cheaper than some other "budget" hotels but still not that cheap in absolute terms. The room I had had a very nice bathroom with a walk in shower although, in common with other budget hotels, the soap is dispensed from bottles attached to the wall - presumably so that guests don't take it with them when they leave. So far, so very average. Two factors really disappointed me though.

1. I am unaccustomed to being asked to pay in full on checking in and unsure why this is necessary. I'd rather have a bill at the end including, for example, bar and restaurant spend.

2. The room rate is actually c. £10 higher than the rate quoted, if you want breakfast that is. There's no B&B tariff - prices are room only - and breakfasts are charged separately (remember, you've already settled your bill so will need to pay separately too) at between £10-12, though I was offered a voucher for £2 off the cooked breakfast.

On the up side, there is a rather good Indian restaurant right next door though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights easy walk from Lambeth North tube and great location for seeing the sights. Staff were friendly and very helpful. I had a problem not associated with the hotel and they resolved the issue in a efficient manner. Whilst I was staying they had a lot of Malaysian guests staying for a Malaysian festival at the South Bank and although it was busy it was a nice friendly enviroment and a nice experience. The room I stayed in was Ok as I was out most of the time. Room was clean and well maintaned. I ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. Breakfast was adequate but food could have been of better quality. For the price it is very good value considering it is in London. I will return to this hotel when I am in London next.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayalottoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issam I, General Manager at Days Hotel London- Waterloo, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Jedrzej K,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
Best Regards Issam Ismail General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#398 of 1,069 in London
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#458 of 1,069 in London
4,415 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,069 in London
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel London- Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel London- Waterloo

Property: Days Hotel London- Waterloo
Address: 54 Kennington Road, London SE1 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Best Value Hotel in London
#313 Family Hotel in London
#369 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel London- Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
162 room hotel ideally situated for London's West End Theatres, cinemas, art galleries, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Hotel London- Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London Waterloo Hotel London
Days Inn Waterloo
London Days Inn
Days Waterloo
Days Hotel London- Waterloo England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing