We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay, good base in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
Ranked #444 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just today come back from a two night stay at the days inn. We went for a cheap short break for a few days for my birthday to see a show and do abit of sightseeing. Which may I add if you're looking to see a show while you're in London "Bodyguard" is absolutely amazing and well worth a watch!!!

We only wanted somewhere cheap, clean & in a good location to use as a base and that's exactly what we got.

The hotel is ideally located two minutes walk away from Lambeth North tube station based on the (brown) bakerloo line which interconnects with all other tube lines.

The London eye & embankment attractions are only a short ten minutes walk away from the hotel too.

The rooms are quite small and very basic I'd say the standard is somewhere inbetween a premiere inn and travel lodge. Very basic facilities. Very good powerful shower but disappointingly no bath, & after walking the streets of London a nice hot long soak in the bath would have been awesome. But never the less. Not a great deal of hanging space in the wardrobes and if there's two of you I'd definately advise taking a few of your own hangers.

We found the staff to be very friendly & helpful. Especially in a morning at breakfast. Which might I add if you're staying here I'd definately opt for the breakfast as it's lovely.
We had full English and there were also croissants, toast, bread rolls, fruit, cereals, cheese, cheese spread even chocolate spread.

Our train got us into London slightly earlier than we expected so we arrived at the hotel a good hour before check in which wasn't a problem at all our room was ready for us immediately. :-)

I'd say if you want the ritz don't stay here, but if like us you're not going to be spending much time there and you just want somewhere to use as a base this place is ideal!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkieLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,418 - 1,424 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is at a walking distance from the tube Lambeth North station of the Bakerloo line (brown) and also the Waterloo Station. From these you can virtually go anywhere. The area is very respectable and tranquil.
This is a basic style hotel belonging to the same name chain. They could definitely do better. Most of the staff was sort of disinterested in me and seemed to be bothered by the fact that I needed their service (except for the guys at the breakfast buffet). The room service was late and not uite as it should, breakfast really basic. The wi-fi was working well, and you didn't have to get a separate pwd.
I bought a package for participating at the London Marathon, so I don't know the room price separately. This one worked well for the purpose, but I wouldn't pay much for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights on marathon weekend, was good vale for money compared to others. Room was small but ok facilities and clean. Didn't take breakfast but there are plenty of places within 2 minutes. The war museum is across the rd, Lambeth north is 3 mins walk and the Thames a 10-15 min walk away so well situated

Room Tip: Stay away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibroadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed recently for four nights. The rooms are small - more like student accommodation than a hotel - but clean, and the towels were fresh every day. As we spent so little time in the hotel - leaving at about 9am and returning about 11pm - it was fine. Why spend a fortune on a hotel if you're hardly going to be there?
It's within walking distance of London Eye, Houses of Parliament, etc. A couple of bus routes run right past the hotel (just hop on the 59 or 159 to take you into central London). In fact, anyone arriving from Oop North at Kings Cross, just go over the road to catch the 59 which brings you right to the hotel.
Following another tip on TripAdvisor, we didn't have breakfast in the hotel but walked along Lambeth Road to the Corner Cafe. Excellent breakfasts, very filling (we never needed any lunch after eating here!) and at less than a fiver apiece including tea or (proper) coffee.
Hotel staff were very friendly though we didn't have much contact with them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillieEckerslike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Friday 19th april with my 15 year old daughter and my 80 year old mum, we was staying here as part of a superbreak theatre deal with a night at the mama mia show.

I phoned the hotel a few days before we checked in to see If we had been given a ground floor room, so that my mum did not have to use stairs or lifts we had been booked into a first floor room but it was changed for us on the phone.

when we checked in to the hotel the staff were polite.

the room we had was very clean and tidy, we had full English breakfast included there was a good choice of food to eat and it was all very hot and well presented, we would recommend this hotel to other people to stay at

Room Tip: even though our room was right next to a busy road, there was no noise from the road because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nichola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for one night only, not sure I would want to stay for longer as so small.
The wardrobe was just a partition with 4 hangers so very little hanging space. The shower was so small that it was really claustrophobic !! Bed was very soft. Lots of traffic noise.

However for the price it was clean (other than the shower head) and in a convenient location. I

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J3jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location quite good near Lambeth North tube and walking distance from Waterloo. Bit dated from the outside, but ok on the inside. Staff friendly. Rooms a bit small, but clean and updated. Quiet location. Downsides are the wifi is not free and the shower was not that hot. As budget hotels in central London go it is a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,077 in London
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bridge Hotel
#640 of 1,077 in London
607 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#98 of 1,077 in London
1,506 reviews
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#388 of 1,077 in London
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel London- Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel London- Waterloo

Address: 54 Kennington Road, London SE1 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Family Hotel in London
#367 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel London- Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
162 room hotel ideally situated for London's West End Theatres, cinemas, art galleries, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Days Hotel London- Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London Waterloo Hotel London
Days Inn Waterloo
London Days Inn
Days Waterloo
Days Hotel London- Waterloo England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing