We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rating valid only if you get special price”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #723 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked this hotel at special Gala Hotels rate of under 50 pounds/nite. Great value for that rate. Friendly 24-hour reception' free wi-fi at lounge; good spread of breakfast. Queen bed room I got was cramped (not sure of configuration of others) with only enough space to walk around the bed. Bathroom and toilets were also minimal size but they were clean so can't complain for that price. Stay was during 2nd week of January 2013.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janzzzlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 420 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights .It was very nice they have a beautiful breakfast .Which is very impotant for us .Sleeping at your hotel is wonderful and the entire staff are very nice and good kindly Bus station for your return is 2min walking down the street Glochester place. 3 min walk to Baker street metro station and Main bus stop of Hop-on Hop-off tours. Close to many pubs. Hotel is not 3 star - rooms are extremely small with old furniture. Good cleanliness. Nice breakfast. There are free coffee and tea at any time whish is really good. My global opinion

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. First of all hotel has perfect location. Only 3-4 min walk from Baker street station - perfect if you arrive from luton with bus tansfer. Bus station for your return is 2min walking down the street Glochester place. 3 min walk to Baker street metro station and Main bus stop of Hop-on Hop-off tours. Close to many pubs. Hotel is not 3 star - rooms are extremely small with old furniture. Good cleanliness. Nice breakfast. There are free coffee and tea at any time whish is really good. My global opinion: Not 3-star, but this hotel is very good value for money - we paid 90eur per night for dbl room with breakfast and we get very special offer - free 3th night, so we paid 180eur for total 3nights - you can't find similar price for central located hotel. Good for short stay and once again rooms are really extremely small!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Kostov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I felt something was wrong when the taxi driver had never heard of this hotel before. I chose this hotel for my recent stay in London as it seemed a decent place...what a mistake! The hotel is shabby and dirty, the carpeting has stains everywhere, and the room I had was so small I could hardly get dressed, although I was told it was one ofe the larger rooms! The only bright spot is breakfast, which is included with the room, and has a choice of cereals, soft boiled eggs, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. I will definitely avoid this hotel in my next stay in the City.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezechiele70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our room was big enough for our needs. Don't advise if large build, though, as doorways adjoin each other. Our room had a shower.
The bed was however large and very comfortable!
24 hour free tea/coffee is available downstairs. Baker Street is a 5 minute walk, but taxis can be hailed from outside. Buses also travel into the city from nearby bus stops.
Overall the carpeting and general decor needs updating, but I would recommend this hotel as the staff are very friendly and try hard to please.
Good value if you can pay under £90 for bed and (excellent) continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights/excellent location/baker street tube is 5 min away/ok breakfast/free wifi/small but clean rooms/cheap/friendly staff/quiet side street/under 150 pounds/a night/recommend for a short time stay

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabuleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Advantages of the hotel: great location nearby the Baker street, about one minute from the stop of EasyBus to Stansted, acceptable price for this area. It is small hotel but with friendly atmosphere, staff is very helpful. Breakfast was surprisingly fine. Disadvantages: the rooms are small - for one person OK, two people may have problem; bathroon is very small, rooms and corridors would appreciate painting. However, considering how expensive are hotels in this area, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marketa_from_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#434 of 1,077 in London
688 reviews
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#570 of 1,077 in London
247 reviews
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#796 of 1,077 in London
76 reviews
Marylebone
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#790 of 1,077 in London
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 172 Gloucester Place | Regents Park, London NW1 6DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #723 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $91 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and thanks to our close proximity to Baker Street Underground Station guests staying at the Americana have easy access to London's business district as well as its many tourist attractions, shops and theatres. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing